We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,016)
Filter reviews
2,016 results
Traveller rating
1,062
645
180
70
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,062
645
180
70
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmango reef restaurantswim up barblue havenocean frontfull kitchencaicos dream tourssister propertiestime sharebeautiful beachfree shuttlewasher dryerrum punchgrocery storedinner on the beachhalf bathpartial ocean viewcoral gardens
Filter
Updating list...
1,535 - 1,540 of 2,016 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We were married on the beach at the Alexandra Resort and stayed for 10 days. We had an oceanfront luxury suite on the first level. There was a hedge for a divider from the landscaping for the deck/balcony area which we loved and gave it an open feel instead of a wall which is found at most hotels. The room was a nice size with a full kitchen, laundry room, and pull out sofa. This worked well as there were 10 people in our group (different rooms) so we entertained every day throughout our stay and had plenty of room indoors and outdoors.
The restaurant had great food and was reasonably priced. We went to a few local spots off property and paid more money with not as good quality food as the hotel offered. Mango Reef catered our beach reception and everyone raved how good the food was. Thank you Mango Reef!
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Welcome drink upon arrival, easy to get beach chairs and umbrellas, Al the concierge was cheerful and arranged the best snorkeling tour we have ever been on. We have traveled extensively through Mexico, Central America, and Hawaii however this was the best snorkel trip and best beach so far.
Trevor the bartender was great, Ramon the waiter at our wedding was the best we could have asked for, and Alexis was great too!
Excellent beach location, great staff, nice rooms if your in the oceanfront luxury suite, fun to eat dinner on the beach every night at the dinner tables they set up nightly. Nice live music at the mango reef restaurant for dinner.
Drawback-they said they were taking a deposit and charged the entire amount (10 day stay), no beach waiters to take drink orders, no music at the pool or beach during the day (not even an iPod). Our friends stayed in a smaller room with a garden view and the housekeepers would make towel designs and leave on their bed, also put fresh flowers in their room. We were in a more expensive room and were the only couple there getting married however no 'special touches' were given to us. Individually owned units so even if your party requests to stay in rooms next to each other which are vacant, the hotel will not move rooms for the fairness of the owners rotation. Not a big deal if your not a big party, which we were.

We would definitely return to the Alexandra and loved having our wedding there. DestinationTCI arranged the wedding and reception which was perfect!

Great food, great beach location, great staff, excellent choice for couples.

Room Tip: Ocean Front is the only way to go!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Congratulations on your recent nuptials and thank you for choosing the Alexandra Resort for your wedding. We have spoken with our front office and apologize for the miscommunication regarding the deposit policy. We are also truly sorry to learn that your room did not receive the extra attention that we normally provide to our wedding guests. I also appreciate you informing us about the lapse in beach F&B service. We have three beach attendants as well as a server from Mango Reef who are always at the beach during the day to attend to guest requests. We will address this issue to ensure there are no service lapses in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We had yet another great vacation on Grace Bay, Turks and Caicos.
This time we stayed in The Alexandra Resort. This was the week of Thanksgiving so very different from our February visit. So so quite. The resort was very very quite in fact the whole island was quite.
The Alexandra was very nice,friendly staff, excellent rooms,( nice stainless steel appliances and granite work tops ) really nice food at the Mango Reef restaurant. ( we ate both lunch and dinner there during our stay at some point )
Would we go back ? Yes for sure.
I would recommend hiring a car to get around, restaurants are not really within walking distance and the grocery store is a good distance away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorraineEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Thank you for choosing the Alexandra Resort for your Thanksgiving getaway. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the quiet relaxation that has made Turks & Caicos such an exclusive destination. Renting a car is definitely conducive to seeing all of the island, but for guests that choose not to hire a car, we do offer a daily shuttle for a small fee to the grocery store, and at least five very good restaurants are no more than a 10 minute walk away along beautiful Grace Bay Beach. We wish you a happy new year and thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Overall, the Resort is good, but there is a very huge difference between the standard of the rooms. Deluxe garden view rooms are small and only have small queen size bed. Luxury ocean view and ocean front studios are very big and comfortable (king size bed). In some minor details you can notice that the resort is not a world class resort.
Location is very good. The beach is excellent and it is walking distance from supermarkets and shops (20 mins). Mango Restaurant is a very good option for lunch time.

Room Tip: Deluxe garden view rooms are small and only have small queen size bed. Luxury ocean view and ocean front studios are very big and comfortable (king size bed). In some minor details you can notice that the resort is not a world class resort.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay at the Alexandra Resort. We pride ourselves on offering excellent value for a beachfront resort on world acclaimed Grace Bay Beach in exclusive Turks and Caicos - thank you for sharing that observation with other readers. Our garden view rooms are slightly smaller than ocean view rooms, but still very spacious at 363 sq ft, and a 96 sq ft deck or patio. We wish you a happy holiday and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This was my first experience at an island resort and I would consider this location again on my next visit to TCI. Initially I had trouble with the room temperature; however, when a staff member came to the room and explained the door sensors, I had no difficulty for the remainder of the trip. Most of my encounters with staff were very pleasant and found them to be helpful. I was on the second floor and had no problem with noise from surrounding rooms. My room was very clean and comfortable. I ate three meals at the Mango Reef and felt the food was very good and the pricing was comparable to other surrounding locations. My check-in experience was very smooth and pleasant; however, at check-out the staff member would not provide a final receipt showing my final balance. Upon arriving home my credit card statement matched what I expected.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoloBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Happy holidays and thank you for staying at the Alexandra Resort. I am pleased to learn you had a pleasant vacation. We will speak with our front desk agent to learn why a final receipt was not provided, as that is our normal practice. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Turks and Caicos again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed for 5 days at The Alexandra. The room was cleaned every day, fresh towels were delivered to the door every night, and everything from the grounds to the pool to the beach were all well cared for and clean. The staff were all super friendly at all times, and very informative. They have free wifi all over the property, so internet access was never an issue.

Al, the concierge, is very well versed with the local excursions and dining, and we highly recommend his orientation. It's not one of those 2 hour "let me sell you something" things that happens at a lot of timeshares or resorts...it truly is an informative session with a guy who has a pretty good sense of humor and can keep you engaged while informing you of what's what around the TCI.

The only complaints we had were:
1. We ordered a deluxe ocean view room through our travel agent. What we got was a garden/pool view with the ocean in the background, if you walked all the way out on the balcony. Not a huge deal, and probably more of an issue to take up with our travel agent, but calling it an ocean view is a little misleading...as the last time I upgraded to an "ocean view" room at a resort in the Caribbean, it was a true "ocean view".

2. The air conditioning left a little to be desired on the upper floor where we were. Luckily, we weren't there most of the time, so at night the fan and the breeze coming in the open balcony door cooled off the room quite nicely. The air worked, just to be clear. But, whenever we would return during the day, the temp never went under 76.

Other than that, this place is on one of the best strips of the beach in Provo. Barely any kids (they were all down at Beaches) and there was never a strain to get a beach chair/umbrella/etc. The Mango Reef restaurant that is on site is pretty good and reasonably priced. The pool was always clean and the swim up bar is a nice touch.The staff were all over-the-top friendly and helpful. Coral Garden's reef is only a 15 minute walk down the beach (and free) for some decent snorkeling. We had a great time, and would definitely come back to the Alexandra again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Thank you for choosing the Alexandra Resort for your recent vacation. It was our pleasure to be of service. We will certainly have maintenance inspect the air conditioner and we will also take your comments regarding the classification of our guest room categories under advisement for future marketing efforts. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews