We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
El Faro del Colibri(Carenero Island)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Acuario(Carenero Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Tierra Verde(Carenero Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cosmic Crab Resort(Carenero Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kevin Condos(Carenero Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
J and H Garden Cabinas(Carenero Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Los Balcones Over the Sea(Carenero Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
34
51
8
10
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
51
8
10
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbocas del toroelizabethtaxistownwaterbugscoastlinesurfcaribbeanunitwaves
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We decided to travel to Bocas Del Toro to celebrate The New Year without a crowd, or big party, just a quiet serene tropical setting and found exactly that at the Buccaneer Resort. This small group of buildings on Carenero Island, anchored by the fantastic BiBi's on the Beach was everything we were looking for! A quiet beach, walking distance to an awesome surf spot, easy access to water taxis into Bocas town and while the accommodations are not what most would consider 5 star, consider that you are able to hear the surf from your bed, see the waves from your window or balcony, walk a few steps and take a dip in the Caribbean, what more could you really ask for from island life? We will certainly plan to return and visit Elizabeth at the Buccaneer again on our next visit to Bocas Del Toro. The Bocas Beach Club was just opening on New Years Eve, hopefully that will become another popular waterfront hot spot on Carenero Island, also Elizabeth mentioned that our neighbor in the unit above the office was planning to open a pizza place too!! What another great addition that would be to the Buccaneer and the coastline of Carenero Island!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jeffnor1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

This "resort" was supposed to be the time we splurged on our trip through Panama. We got to the island, and as we walked over, I wasn't even sure it was the right spot, because it looked so much more run down than the pictures. When we got to our room, it was as basic as could be. It smelled heavily of paint, yet was still dusty and had spider webs in the corners. The toilet barely flushed and the air conditioner blew out barely cold air. They were very accommodating when we asked for a different room. Unfortunately, the other room was in almost the same condition. We did not spend the night there.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We spent 4 nights at Bucaneer Resort were thrilled with our stay. We stayed in the Bungalow Suite upstairs for 2 nights and as they were booked we moved to the main floor for the last 2. The upstairs is amazing as it has an open air balcony with screens for the room. You are literally 10 feet from the palm fringed beach. The view is incredible sitting on the balcony and the beach when we were there was calm and delightful swimming. There is another beach you can swim at a few minutes past the restaurant. Bibi's is on the water and has really good fish and food in general. There is a coupon for a $5 discount at breakfast. The rooms are very basic so if you go for luxury you might be disappointed by the price. We loved it and it was worth every penny for the location, view and overall experience. The staff was most helpful and really nice. We definitely will come again if we return to the area and would stay longer as the location is fantastic.

Room Tip: Beach Bungalow upstairs is the best. Large, private, with deck. Main floor of bungalow nice but not as private.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016

If you ever dreamed of staying right ON a fabulous Beach, with your room literally ten steps from the water, on an exotic tropical island, the Buccaneer Resort is the place to make that dream come true. We stayed here 4 nights and it was fantastic -- everything we hoped for. No, it's not pillowtop beds and room service -- the rooms are a little rustic. But we had all the necessities: Cold AC, hot shower, a ceiling fan, screened porch, bar fridge, clean beds and a coffee pot...and a million dollar view. Our palm-shaded cabin was about 30 feet from the most marvelous swimming beach I've ever seen, with crystal clear 85 degree water lapping gently at fine white sand...NO waves and so shallow and clear, you can walk hundreds of feet out to snorkel off a little group of rocks. Oh, and did I mention there's a great restaurant and bar, Bibi's, built out over the the water about a hundred feet from the Buccaneer cabins? Super filet mignon, fish, shrimp by the pound and much more. We debated coming here because we had read some negative reviews complaining about sand fleas, bugs, etc, but we had NO problems with it. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and the setting is gorgeous. As I said earlier, it's not fancy, it's a bit rustic, but isnt that how a tropical island SHOULD be? We found it had everything we needed for a truly fantastic tropical vacation experience that I know we'll remember for the rest of our lives!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandbound69, Owner at Buccaneer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2016

Maureen,
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating. It truly is a magical place. Hurry up and come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

After a couple of days on Isla Colon we decided to spend our last night on Isla Carnero. We were dropped of on a dock a bit down the coast and started to visit the different lodgings on that side of the island. After visiting several we ended up here. The gentleman that helped us was very gracious and accommodating. He made arrangements for our group of four to be able to stay and helped us with everything we needed. Location is amazing because it has a great beach right in front and one more to the left. We did some great snorkeling just right of the beach with tons of fish in the coral. There is a restaurant right in front and as part of our nightly fee we were given a voucher for breakfast. The restaurant was not only good but a great looking place to hang out and watch the the sun set and moon rise. All in all the accommodations were very good. It was clean. There was AC and hot water with incredible water pressure. Looking forward to coming back some day.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank Macjrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews