We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little slice of paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Nautilus Apartments
Reviewed 10 August 2015

There is a reason that I recently returned to Nautilus. The property is a breathtaking piece of island life. The units are well maintained and clean. The deck which overlooks the northern end of Seven Mile Beach is all you need to relax and unwind. Traveling with my children on this stay was no different that when I have stayed without them. The water is literally at your doorstep. Great snorkeling right the moment you enter the water and only gets better as you explore the deeper regions in the surrounding water. Walk to Heritage Kitchen or Al Frescos for some island food or Subway for those that miss the mainstream. There is an independent grocery store that has just about anything that you would have on your list that is walkable, yet more suited for a quick ride. For a large grocery run the Kirk Market is a little further away but the lower prices and greater selection of Kirk is worthwhile. Nautilus is moments away from some of the biggest attractions on the island and is generally included in the service area for those attractions that pick up guests as a service to local activities. Nautilus is located on a dead end road that keeps vehicle traffic to a pleasant minimum. Beth is an amazing proprietor to the property and goes out of her way to make sure your stay is one that you want to repeat... I should know as her property and the views stay in my mind year round. If you are staying on the island for longer than a cruise ship port of call, you must seriously consider Nautilus!

Room Tip: Condo's are two story with bedrooms upstairs. Stairs are spiral type. Cottage is single level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Donovan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wingsnfins, Assistant at The Nautilus Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2015

Many thanks D and Family for the excellent review and compliments! We are glad you enjoy your little island home away from home and look forward to your return next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2015

We enjoyed our stay in the cosy and rustic (with a few extra frills) beach front studio cottage! In addition to the convenience of a small kitchenette, it has a deck on which to enjoy breakfast every morning and stars at night in completely tranquility. Falling asleep and waking to the sound of the waves. This spot is perfect for a couple or single person on a budget looking to do some diving/snorkelling and relaxing away from the crowds. There are pretty reefs right out front and it's close to the popular Cemetery Beach. Located in the Heritage district of West Bay it is a 2min walk to the grocery store, pharmacy, bus stop, and a few houses down from the famous Heritage Kitchen. The neighbourhood feels very safe even at night.

We enjoyed the little lizards and iguanas that would greet us, and the heron who would drop by the beach every morning. We didn't see any photos ahead of time so this was a wonderful surprise! We stayed in another slightly more expensive hotel closer to Georgetown afterwards and were very disappointed given our great experience here. Nautilus cottage is very reasonably priced for such an expensive island. Thank you for having us!!!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travellingphotogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wingsnfins, Assistant at The Nautilus Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2015

Thank you for this very kind and detailed review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

An amazing property off the beaten path yet close to shopping and local attractions. Private property with breathtaking views. Both visits have to this property have been true paradise. In fact each summer trip has been extraordinary. Snorkel, swim or kayak right from the beach... which is mere feet from the end of your deck. Property has 2 updated two story apartments, a newly remodeled home / cottage and for those that like rustic there is even a small one room studio cottage. Beth ensures that your only concerns are relaxation and a care free vacation with life long memories. Huge decks allow for quiet reflection while watching the sea turtles and wildlife play in the indescribably blue / green water. The recently sunk Kittywake is kayaking distance and a great place for SCUBA divers of all levels. I cannot speak highly enough of the property and the times shared there. I've enjoyed the property twice and cannot get back fast enough. Planning the next trip now!!

Room Tip: cottage and apartments have full kitchens. Grocery store is walking distance. Rustic local restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donovan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was our ninth year visiting Grand Cayman at the Nautilus Apartments. A lot has changed since year 1--the cottage, which used to be the rustic, roughing it location now is the most popular property of the three units. And why not? It boasts a full kitchen (including dishwasher), two comfortable bedrooms, a washer and dryer, and views to die for from your front porch. Beth Roulstone and her family continue to run a fine operation where you feel like family, and the upper end of Seven Mile Beach never disappoints. Our family has already made reservations for next year!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSUDanO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just got back from a week on the island -- so beautiful. Staying at the Nautilus was great - right on the beach, great snorkeling and kayaking, close to restaurants and groceries and beautiful! Beth is a great host and checked daily if we needed anything. The apartment was clean, well-stocked and maintained. It was great to eat in during the day and grill or go out at night. We loved spending time on the deck and beach sunning and watching the sunset. It is located in a quiet location but just a beach walk away from other resorts and restaurants. If you are looking for a laid back vacation on the beach - this is perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
2.4 km away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
582 reviews
32.7 km away
Compass Point Dive Resort
32.4 km away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Shangri-La Boutique Bed & Breakfast
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
2.1 km away
La Cazetta Guest House and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nautilus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus Apartments

Address: # 88 Boggy Sand Road, West Bay KY1-1300, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > West Bay
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in West Bay
Price Range: RM 253 - RM 897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet and less crowded north end of the beautiful 7 Mile Beach on Boggy Sand Road in West Bay. There are 2 x 2BR/2.5br townhome style apartments and one 2Br/2br cottage and 1 studio cottage overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Complete with full kitchen,tv, phone and internet. Each unit also has its own deck and bbq grill. Great snorkeling right from the beach. Walking distance to the bus stop, restaurants, gas station, dive shop and pharmacy. Owner operated family business since 1980. Townhomes and cottage are suitable for 1-4 persons. Minimum 5 night stay. Studio suitable for 1 or 2 persons. Minimum 5 night stay. 3pm checkin/11am checkout...will try to accommodate early checkin or late checkout when possible. Townhome Apt Winter rate Dec - Apr USD$360.00/night Townhome Apt Summer rate May - Nov USD$275.00/night Cottage Winter rate USD$330.00/night Cottage Summer rate USD$250.00/night Studio Winter rate USD$132.00/night Studio Summer rate/USD$99.00/night 13% Government Accommodation tax not included in nightly rate Come enjoy our little piece of paradise where you will feel like you are part of the family! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing