We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The gold standard for vacation rentals”
Private Pool with a View plus BBQ, Fridge, Full Bathroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Pool with a View plus BBQ, Fridge, Full Bathroom
Private Pool in the Rain Forest Living Area, with AC, Free WIFI, HDTV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
231 reviews
Private Pool with a View plus BBQ, Fridge, Full Bathroom
Private Pool in the Rain Forest
Living Area, with AC, Free WIFI, HDTV
Kitchen with full-size fridge, dishwasher, stove/oven, AC, WIFI
Indoor Dining Area
Kitchen, with full-size fridge, stove/oven, dishwasher, AC, WIFI
Enjoy Fresh Fruit from our Property Year-round
Master Bedroom, with king bed & ensuite bathroom
Master Bedroom with king bed, AC, Ceiling Fan
Master Bedroom
Master Suite
Master Bath, with huge Rainfall Shower
Second bedroom with Queen bed, ceiling fan, AC
Second bedroom with Queen bed, ceiling fan, AC
Third bedroom with 2 Twin bed, AC, ceiling fan, ensuite bathroom
Third bedroom with 2 Twin bed, AC, ceiling fan, ensuite bathroom
Veranda with views toward the Atlantic Ocean
Private Veranda
Veranda, perfect for breakfast, drinks, or curling up with a good book
Private Swimming Pool
Enjoy a BBQ Poolside
Swim in Our Rainforest
Our Location, in the Foothills of El Yunque National Forest
Located in the Foothills of El Yunque National Forest
View from Veranda, after the rain
View from Veranda
Sunset, viewed from the Veranda
Eco-friendly solar panels
Solar System providing 94% of our electrical needs
A Coqui Frog -- our namesake
Baby Coqui frog on a quarter
Dragon Fruit flower in our garden
Coffee growing in our garden
Fresh fruit bowl of home-grown goodies
After the rain, above our swimming pool
San Pedrito / PR Tody (Todus mexicanus)
PR Lizard Cuckoo (Coccyzus vieilloti)
Antillean Mango Hummingbird (Anthracothorax dominicus)
Bananquit (Coereba flaveola)
Sunset colors
View from the Veranda
Sunset, viewed from the Veranda
Enjoy Hiking in El Yunque National Forest
Nearby Beach in Luquillo
Nearby Beach in Luquillo
Balneario Monserrate in Luquillo
Swim with sea turtles
Fly on a Zipline Nearby
Enjoy Flyboard nearby in Luquillo
Hike nearby in El Yunque National Forest
Cool off nearby in El Yunque National Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 231 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
KW1011
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The gold standard for vacation rentals”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Coqui's Hideaway is truly a gem of a place to stay. The owners run a smooth operation and leave you wanting for nothing...if only all vacation rentals could be this easy & accommodating!

Nestled just a minute outside the entrance of El Yunque, Coqui's is convenient for those looking to explore the forest and a quick drive from San Juan, where we had spent 5 nights prior to arriving.

Upon arrival, we were shown the grounds and presented with a lovely welcome basket including fresh fruit from the property! The rambutans were my favorite, having grown to love them during visits to Thailand. The grounds of the home are lush, tropical gorgeousness and feature vistas down to the beaches in the distance.

The rental is actually attached to the owners' home, but you'd never know it. It was nice to have them nearby in case we needed anything, but we really didn't ever. This place is STOCKED. We had been in a vacation rental in San Juan before arriving at Coqui's and that rental had a bare bones kitchen that lacked several cooking accessories and didn't even have blankets on the beds! Coqui's was the other end of the spectrum - I don't think there was a single tool we needed that the kitchen didn't have. There was a helpful book to explain how to use features in the home, how to get places, etc.

The unit is very comfortable and cozy - it was kind of like visiting a relative's lake house or something. The new master bedroom and bath are really well done and feel quite luxe.

The pool is relaxing and surrounded by beautiful flowers and trees.

I hope to return to Coqui's and highly, highly recommend it. The owners are just wonderful, kind people who want you to have a relaxing stay. They really leave you to be, but are there if you need them. Best of both worlds!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fruit basket! No detail was left out, it had all the comforts of home.
Liked least: nothing! absolute perfection.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FromSea2S...
Mansfield, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Refreshment in Paradise Away From the Crowds”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This has been a wonderful trip! Even though my husband was on a working vacation, we were both so relaxed, and had so much fun! Gwenn and Ray were great in communicating with us! They thought of everything in advance to make our stay the best possible. We love the layout of the house. There is a basket of goodies and fresh fruit from the farm. We enjoyed having a fruit testing one evening, and posted our event to Facebook for our friends to see. :) Even though Ray and Gwenn were next door, we never saw them our entire stay. They were quick to respond to e-mails though. I would recommend if you want a tour of the property to schedule in advance before coming, as they do have a life outside of renting out Coqui's. :) The property itself is enchanting! I am obsessed with the beautiful palm trees. My favorite is the big fan one by the pool. It's one of those places you don't want to leave. From the very beginning my husband and I felt relaxed. I loved hearing the coqui frogs at night! We saw several wildlife, including humming birds and tiny lizards by the pool. There was a chameleon right outside of our window, and he changed colors right in front of us. Not something you see back in Ohio. :) Evening swim under the stars was amazing, but it's just as awesome in the day too! The bottom of the pool is smooth, and there is a shower/rest room right beside it. El Verde is a good restaurant, as well as the Chinese/Sushi restaurant nearby. We were so close to El Nunque rainforest and that was a hilight of our visit. I can't say enough good things! We will stay back here again if in the area, and it's available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, layout of the house (almost like a ranch style), AC worked great, bed was awesome, landscaping
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlombardi...
Mary Esther, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Paradise”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Wow this place was amazing. I absolutely loved that it had so many amenities including a full kitchen and washer & dryer to do laundry!! It was so clean, the owners were great!! They are very detailed and knowledgeable about what to do around the area but there's plenty on their property. The pool area is perfect and oh my what a view! Be prepared to be amazed. We will be back, can't wait til next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Best Rental, Period.”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I have stayed in various rentals during our travels and I must say that our experience with Coqui's Hideaway is by far the best. Ray and Gwen have thought of EVERYTHING from a basket of fruit and a Piña Colada "kit" to greet you upon your arrival right down to the fridge and bathroom/shower by the pool. Their knowledge of PR is limitless and they have binders of info inside to rental for you to use. The property is gated, safe & secure. Upon our arrival we found it to be immaculately clean and well organized. There's spices and things in the kitchen for your use, laundry facilities with detergent, free wifi, and satellite TV. The view out back off of the balcony or by the pool is amazing. Their property is well maintained and park-like where they have several types of tropics fruits growing: papaya, avocado, bananas, water apples, star fruit, and passion fruit. If you are going to be visiting El Yunque and/or the San Juan or northeastern PR areas I cannot recommend enough Coqui's Hideaway as you place to stay. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
1 review
“Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a great time! Ray and Gwenn were exceptional hosts and they could give us the inside scoop on the various Puerto Rico attractions. The house was exceptional, in great shape and with a breath-taking view of the rainforest. The location is near enough to San Juan and the eastern beaches.

Overall, a wonderful experience. We plan to return and stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing