We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband, daughter and I spent 5 days and 4 nights at this beautiful new resort. The service was excellent. All were very sweet to our little girl who had a fantastic time. It was a rainy week but we still managed to enjoy the property. Noel was awesome! He invited us to see the leather back turtles being born which was wonderful to see. He also brought dvds during those rainy days. We wished to see more of Puerto Rico, specifically Old San Juan, but the weather did not cooperate. The St. Regis was a lovely hotel. The rooms were amazing. We were upgraded to a suite and received butler service. The food was excellent at all three restaurants, our favorite being Fern. One night at dinner, I was visibly cold and the host went to the gift shop to bring me a sweater. So very nice and just an example of how attentive the staff was to our family. A great family vacation and we thank you!

We also recommend using Toursanjuan and Francisco for airport transport to and from the St. Regis. Great price and punctual.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lloliveto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent visit to our property.

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your vacation with us.

Your experience in our fine restaurants and in the Remede Spa are precisely what we at the St. Regis Bahia Beach strive for – intimate, bespoke service with attention to detail. Our staff is very intent on making sure that your every need is anticipated – even on a rainy day!

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to your second home, the St. Regis Bahía Beach, in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,264 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

We shouldn't have begun our 10 day trip to PR at the St. Regis because it was all down hill from there! It set the bar of luxury extremely high--cashmere blankets on the bed, 24/7 butler, bubblebaths drawn at your behest, 2 stellar TVs, private beach cabanas--but it was not cheap.

Drinks were about $20 and not particularly strong nor delish, same with the food. After 5pm, Seagrapes (the eatery by the pool) closes so you're left with uber-fancy Fern or lackluster yet pricey Molasses to choose from.

Our advice? Stop at the Ralphs grocery on the way in and pick up some booze and snacks. Another con is the wonky AC that wouldn't behave, so we just left it off all night. Plus, there is NOTHING to do after sunset, so bring some DVDs (not Bluray, they don't play) or drop $17 on an OnDemand movie.

We're not exactly stingy, but $1,000 per night, a few freebies would be nice. But the St. Regis will nickel and dime you to death. Still though, it's gorgeous and relaxing beyond belief, wonderfully staffed and well kept. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShallonXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The St. Regis is an absolutely beautiful hotel. Rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated, and clean. Our room had a great deck that was perfect for breakfast or to sit and relax in the afternoon. The restaurants were excellent - we ate at all 3 plus in room dining. But prepare yourself for a hefty food bill. Breakfast and lunch will easily run you $50+ for 2 people plus drinks...which run around $20 each. ($10 for non-alcoholic). And dinners were $100 (In Room dining) to $250+. But the food was delicious. We did stop at a grocery store (ralph's) on the way in so we had some other breakfast and lunch options. the pool is awesome and the beach is very private. The grounds are expansive including a golf course, boat house, and greenhouse. The service was mostly great. We only had an issue with getting ice in our room. Service around the pool seemed rare but I think they may have been trying to balance giving people privacy. There were a lot of families there so I think it would be a fun place to bring kids, but it's big enough to avoid kids if you prefer. Transportation out of the resort is limited unless you rent a car. Seems like the going rate to get transport to and from the resort was at least $50. We ended up only leaving the resort once during our 5 day stay but the resort was so great that I didn't want to leave. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPhillips11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, Management at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent visit to our resort.

The staff at our property is truly engaged when it comes to catering to our guests; however, we do apologize for the minor mishaps with service which you experienced. Your honest feedback with attention to detail is extremely valuable to our success.

Our goal at St. Regis Bahía Beach is to consistently go beyond expectations, and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future, and treat you to a flawless vacation experience.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel is amazing. The people are very friendly and the service is impecable. The staff goes out of their way to make your wishes come true. The rooms are very spacious and filled with every ammenity one could think of, including a television inside the bathroom mirror!
From the main restraunt to poolside, food is fantastic and service was island friendly and relaxed. If you are looking for a quick and romantic (or family) getaway, this is your destination!

Room Tip: Rooms are all equally beutiful, if you can afford a view- get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nobull21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, Management at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit.

We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed a romantic getaway in our little slice of paradise, and that you appreciated the feeling of intimacy we intend throughout our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to St. Regis Bahía Beach, so that we may again show you a truly ‘seductive’ and memorable vacation filled with romance!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

My husband and I booked our trip to the St. Regis resort back last fall, around the time the property was set to open. We started to get a little wary once reviews started coming in, especially those about the service. The prices, we expected- after all, it is a St. Regis. But we weren't sure what to expect along the lines of service. We honestly could not have been more pleasantly surprised. I am not sure what kind of people are finding the service there unacceptable, but we thought it was the best we had experienced anywhere (and we travel often!). Every person we came into contact with was polite, attentive, and extremely helpful. Above all, they were swift. They made us feel welcome and truly at home in Puerto Rico, and helped make our stay even better with their willingness to give suggestions when asked what to do and where to eat. It was said to say goodbye to them, especially the wonderful people in the butler and valet services.

The rooms are beautiful. Since the resort is still so new, everything is in great shape. And the bathrooms are massive- I've never seen a shower area so large!

The grounds themselves are absolutely stunning. The property is extensive, and beautiful. Some reviewers complained that it is isolated, but we actually found it to be the perfect "base" for us- it was 20 minutes to the rainforest, 30 minutes to San Juan, 20 minutes to Fajardo- basically in the middle of all the locations we needed to travel to during our weeklong stay. I will say, if you have intentions of doing things outside of the resort- rent a car. Yes you have to pay valet charges, but driving in Puerto Rico is very easy and the hotel always provides excellent directions to all your locations if you don't have a GPS with you. Plus, it will save you a ton of money on taxis/meals by being able to eat off the resort.

Some helpful tips for your stay:
1. Like I said, rent a car. It will allow you to truly enjoy your time there by eating locally and experiencing the sites that are close to the resort (there are many!)
2. Stop at Ralphs. The grocery store is right before the turn you make to go to the resort. The rooms have pretty decent sized mini-fridges; we stocked up on sandwich supplies, milk, cereal, fruit, juice, and snacks (along with wine) on our way in. Best thing we did all week! Don't worry about water bottles though; they give them out like candy 24/7 at the resort to keep everyone hydrated (which is wonderful!)
4. Go to the rainforest- El Yunque rainforest is less than 30 minutes from the resort, and it is completely free as long as you bypass the visitor center (they charge $3 a person, but you don't have to stop there unless you want to look around a see a video/get maps). The hikes are great, user-friendly, and they have great waterfalls throughout. Definitely a fun experience!
5. Eat at Marmalade- a restaurant in Old San Juan. We went a few hours early to see the fort/walk the streets which made for a great evening as Old San Juan is very charming (and safe thanks to police there for cruise visitors!). It is one of the best restaurants in the city for a reason. You'll get an amazing meal and still pay less than you would at the resort. Can't say enough good things about that place!
6. Visit Culebra- their flamenco beach is ranked #2 in the world. You can get there from Fajardo which is about 30 minutes from the hotel. You can either take a ferry for less than $5 a person (2 hour ride) or a plan for $40 a person (less than 30 minutes). We enjoyed the flight for the beautiful view and lack of seasickness, but know others who took the ferry without a problem. Just keep an eye on the clock because it only runs a few times a day and if you miss it... you're out of luck.
7. Do the kayaking BioBay tour. Yes, glowing plankton in a bay sounds completely nerdy. But it was honestly one of the most amazing things we have ever done. Kayaking through the mangrove forest alone was pretty incredible, but seeing the water glowing around you at night is truly magical. We used Kayaking Puerto Rico for our trip and had a great time; I recommend doing the 6:30 tour so you get the best of both light and dark in your trip (otherwise you'll never see the mangroves well!) Trust me, you don't want to miss it!

Overall, we had a fantastic trip and loved every day that we got to spend at the St. Regis. If you aren't an overly high maintenance person who enjoys a beautiful resort with friendly people, you will love this place. Hope to come back again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank jwskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, Management at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit to our resort.

Your well planned list of great places to eat and explore are precisely what we love our guests to enjoy beyond the gates of Bahía Beach. Many of our visitors also agree that the bioluminescent-bay tour and kayaking are even more enjoyable that they expected!

For your next trip, we may help you plan even further, to discover places you missed this time around, and offer you and your family another customized St. Regis experience.

We thank you again for your feedback and do hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you in the near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
51.4 km away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
27.6 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
20.8 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.5 km away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
27.6 km away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
849 reviews
7.3 km away
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico

Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: RM2,023 - RM4,588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, our Rio Grande resort in Puerto Rico sits between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast. A Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico boasts suites where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing