We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Property, But Inconsistent Level of Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2015

My husband and I recently celebrated our 30th anniversary at this beautiful resort. We received complimentary chocolate covered strawberries acknowledging our anniversary the first night of our stay. We both loved the fact the property was secluded away from the hustle & bustle of San Juan and populated beaches. My husband enjoyed walking along the clean and well-maintained beach each morning. We also enjoyed the daily 6:00 PM champagne saber ritual for guests at the Plantation House. My only disappointment was the expected level of service for a Category 7/5-Star property was not consistent. This included daily turndown and linen service and service at Fern restaurant. We did not discover we had to leave a card on the bed until the third day of our week stay if we wanted our bed linen changed. When responding to one of the chefs about our slow service at Fern when asked, the chef delivered in-person a special dessert for our anniversary to our room….this was a pleasant surprise. Overall, despite the inconsistent level of service, we enjoyed our stay and plan to return.

Room Tip: Choose beachfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Miami4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from The St. Regis Bahia Beach!

Congratulations on your 30th anniversary! We are so thrilled you enjoyed the amenities, traditional rituals and the relaxing ambiance that allows you to unwind and enjoy life. We are looking forward to welcoming you once again to celebrate many more special moments. We do hope to have the opportunity to better communicate our green initiative of the changing of linen in the guest rooms that is provided frequently.

Thank you for your much appreciated gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,
Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 483 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2015

This hotel was so nice, starting from the moment we stepped out of our taxi. The staff are very personable, professional and attentive to all your needs. This place is not a five star hotel it is a Five Diamond hotel. Worth every penny we spent and I recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great location & a hotel that goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is an event to remember. The golf courses are unbelievable and play very well. We're already working on returning very soon.

Room Tip: The Maya Major was right in front of the tee box. We stood in room 211
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alemandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2015

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from The St. Regis Bahía Beach, the Best Address in the Caribbean!

We are so thrilled you enjoyed your vacation. Creating memorable moments is the best reward. Representing the sophistication of The St. Regis brand is very important and your appreciation to luxury gives us great pride and happiness.

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and seeing you play on the golf course.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,
Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

The resort was very nice but it was far away from the city center with over a hour drive and as a result you are force to spend $100 just for breakfast ! $25-$30 each. The resort beach was nice and i enjoyed the iguana roaming around the facilities.

Room Tip: nice room bathroom excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Maritza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2015

Dear Maritza,

Thank you for taking the time to mention how you enjoyed the 2 mile stretch of beach and friendly wild life. We do hope to welcome you back to enjoy once again the serenity of The St. Regis Bahia Beach and the beauty of the enchanting island. Being located in the northeast of the island is a great opportunity to visit mystical locations all with in a 30 minute drive or less. The lush Yunque Forest, the bioluminescent bay, the Old town of San Juan and much more. We look forward to your return.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,
Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

My new husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and EVERYTHING was perfect!!! We had a butler named Abad who we LOVED! We arrived and were greeted with drinks and received an upgraded room! I can't say enough good things about this resort, better than any other I have stayed in in the Caribbean. Every detail is taken care of perfectly. The pool is INCREDIBLE and every single employee greeted us by name everywhere we went. Very family friendly! Every night at 6 pm there is a champagne toast and the koi are fed. Our honeymoon was PERFECT! Recommend the warm chocolate cake at Fern, pork tacos and grown up smores at Seagrapes! Thank you everyone at the St. Regis for all you did for us! I did NOT want to leave!!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Dear Anna,

Congratulations to you and your husband for celebrating your honeymoon and thank you for choosing The St. Regis Bahia Beach to celebrate. We are so thrilled your experience was flawless and unforgettable. It is very important for us to provide the best experiences to have memorable stories to last a life time.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to celebrate many more magical moments.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,
Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I just called the hotel operator. I was a bit confused on how or where to access some information on their website. Termary and Diana certainly gave the extra mile. They stood by my side giving me step by step guidance. I've worked in the customer service industry for quite some time now and I can truly say they exceeded my expectacions.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Keilycm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff members who demonstrated outstanding service. Your kind words motivates and fuels their pride. We will certainly reward and give them the recognition they deserve.

We hope to welcome you in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
51.4 km away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
27.6 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
20.8 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.5 km away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
27.6 km away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
850 reviews
7.3 km away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico

Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: RM2,012 - RM4,527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, our Rio Grande resort in Puerto Rico sits between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast. A Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico boasts suites where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing