We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Resort Getaway for Business & Pleasure!”
Review of Melia Coco Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Coco Beach
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

I had the opportunity to stay at the resort for business meetings however truly enjoyed the leisure time we had there also. It had a great relaxed vibe, my room was beachside with a great view & a bed so comfy that I melted into it! The restaurants had great food, the pools were clean & serviced well! The front desk service was wonderful both checking in & out of the hotel. It's a destination resort close to the El Yunque National Forest, a must visit experience of amazing beauty!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
3  Thank Testarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Dear Testarosa;

Thank you for taking the time to write such valuable feedback about your experience at Gran Melia Golf Resort. It was most kind of you to point out the positives about your stay, such as the room accommodations. I will be sure to recognize our staff, as they work hard to ensure each guest has a memorable experience.

We all look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,233 - 2,237 of 6,545 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

This treasure is nicely tucked away from civilization with the best scenery, pools and bungalows. I highly enjoyed the beaches as they were so clean and maintained with adequate space to lay out and enjoy the sun. The pools were superb nicely located near bar so that you are always staying refreshed. The best part of my experience was the spa. I highly recommend the rainforest Swedish massage as you will find yourself melt away as you are pampered. The spa was so discreet and well placed in the resort with additional services such as a sauna and jacuzzi. Although my experiences were great at the spa, the restaurant service was very slow, almost as if the staff took the "in Puerto Rico time" to heart in literately everything they do. Other than that, great experience!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Dear Matt B;

We are pleased to read your five-star review! Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all your comments and the feedback of your vacations.

We are committed to our guests as it is their feedback that help us improved our services and make action plans to make the necessary changes in the areas that require it, such as restaurant services.

Our goal is that every guest leaves our hotel with a positive experience and we hope that you choose our brand again on your next trip to the beautiful island of Puerto Rico or any other destiny around the world.

Sincerely,



Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Great place to stay. Clean beautiful. Everything you need on site but local cultural experiences nearby. Old San Jaun is an easy ride by car and a great experience. Have already recommended it to a friend who went in April and loved the place.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
1  Thank Q9556BQwilliama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Dear Q9556BQwilliama;

Thanks for choosing our resort to spend your recent vacations with us, and as well thank you for the review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the resort; it is our goal to make sure your stay was graded 5 stars and we are happy to have accomplished it. We really appreciate the time you took to write to us.

We appreciate your business, and keep on recommending friends! We will make sure to make them feel like home.

Once again thank you and hope to see you again soon.

Cordially yours,


Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

Just plain awesome. Restaurant prices are high if you are not an all inclusive plan but you can rent a car on site and drive 3-4 miles to a great grocery. They also have arrangements with a fabulous restaurant for pickup and return. The staff is wonderful and will cater to your every need. Place was super clean. The pool is very large and kept clean. Beach could be a little nicer as it is very small. Overall we had a good time

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Ashlexcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Dear Ashlexcad;

Thank you for taking the time to review our beautiful property and for choosing us again for your recent family vacation.

We feel sorry that your expectations of some of our food and restaurant prices did not meet your expectations. Our prices are consistent with market prices, compared with other hotel properties around the island. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our operations team to improve services in any way possible.

We hope to welcome you again in our Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico or any other Melia property around the world. We appreciate your loyalty with Melia Hotels International.

Sincerely yours,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

I was at the resort for 4 nights. Rooms had an astringent odor. A cockroach crawled across my laptop while I still had the lights on in my room! The golf carts that are supposed to pick you up from your bungalow in "2-5 minutes" we're a no-show 3 days in a row after 10 minutes. I would not want to come back here.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
3  Thank Traveldoc524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Dear Traveldoc524;

Thank you for staying in our Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico. We regret that we fell short in the service provided in our property. We apologize for all the situations you encounter overall.

Being on a tropical area astringent smells can develop in some rooms, but it is constantly monitored to be treated. The fact you were given a room with mildew smell was totally unacceptable and also the service receive during your stay.

All the situations mentioned are going to be address with our Housekeeping Managers for immediate action. Guest comments are valuable and are a tool to improve our areas of opportunity.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for not providing the overall experience you expected

Cordially yours,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
19 km away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
2.8 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
30.2 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
30 km away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
16.5 km away
Bahia Beach Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Coco Beach

Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: RM737 - RM2,730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Coco Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Melia coco beach Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Melia coco beach Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia Hotels APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Melia Coco Beach Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing