We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent dog-friendly base for the Lake District”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dobby Lodge

Cosy lounge with wall mounted TV and flame effect wood burner stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy lounge with wall mounted TV and flame effect wood burner stove
Our three modern and contemporary style Dobby Lodges Living area complete with kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Cosy lounge with wall mounted TV and flame effect wood burner stove
Our three modern and contemporary style Dobby Lodges
Living area complete with kitchen and dining area
Comfortable corner sofa
Double bedroom with picture wall and unique log slice bedside table features
Twin bedroom
Family bathroom
Bath complete with drench shower over
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WestieJo
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“excellent dog-friendly base for the Lake District”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here with two teenagers and two dogs for a week.

The accommodation is well appointed and well stocked - modern kitchen and bathroom and comfortable bedrooms and living space. The park is quiet and out of the way without being too remote - 6 miles from Cockermouth and a great base for exploring Keswick, Ambleside and the Grasmere to Whitehaven areas of the Lake District.. The dog walking area, and welcome basket in the accommodation for the dogs was a lovely touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location and great accomodation
Liked least: nowhere to hang wet coats
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalleHall...
1 review
“First class”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Each visit gets better, first class accommodation, very clean, comfy and cozy for a family of four and our Labrador. Welcome doggy basket was a very nice touch. There's nothing you could add to make your stay better.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne_So...
Southport, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning views, peace and quiet!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We booked Dobby Lodge at Skiddaw View Holiday Park to have a complete rest after a hectic few months. We could not have chosen better. Dobby Lodge is a modern rectangular wooden cabin that is spacious and ohhhh so comfortable. There are floor to ceiling widows with patio doors opening onto a private balcony. We woke each morning to the sound of birdsong and sheep in adjoining fields. The views are to die for and there are some lovely walks. We visited Whitehaven harbour, Carlisle Castle and Hadian's wall during our stay and caught some live music in nearby Keswick. Would recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and lovely views
Liked least: We wished the cabin had been facing the mountains
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethRalph
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect for a peaceful weekend away”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The dobby lodge was excellent accommodation for either a family or child. It was warm, comfortable, clean and spacious. It was easy to find with the help of the sat nav & website directions. There is a playground on site, although we didn't have children with us. The park is quite isolated with the nearest town Keswick a least 15 mins drive away, however this also means it is quiet & peaceful. There is no eateries, shops etc in walking distance, but there are cooking facilities in the lodge which are more than adequate. We had an excellent weekend walking in the hills & will be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent accomodation
Liked least: rain - but then it is the lakes!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abaseen
1 review
“Very clean and fantastic location”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Family friendly place , nice location , clean and fully equipped , we really enjoyed our stay. We highly recommend it every one , staff were friendly and very helpful , my children had a fantastic time ,hopefully we will visit the place again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$143
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing