We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage.Great location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge area of large open plan living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Lounge area of large open plan living space
The kitchen with dishwasher, range cooker and smeg fridge
Main bathroom downstairs with bath and basin (separate WC next door)
Utility area with washing machine, tumble dryer and microwave oven
One of the twin bedrooms
View from the back of the house. Coppingers' Court in the middle of the photo.
Mill Cove, a few minutes walk from the house
View from fields above Crab Cottage (cottage just visible lower left in photo)
View across the valley from the cottage
Ruins of another cottage within the garden
Sign at the bottom of the track
Wild flowers in the garden
Famous West Cork Fushias
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rosscarbery, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cora m
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous cottage.Great location.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cottage was exactly as described on the website.Modern and bright and well equipped.It was a short walk to a private cove where we spent hours skimming stones and catching crabs with the kids.Roscarberry village is very quaint with great cafes and beautiful flowers.We had a lovely day on Sherkin island and great fish and chips in the Islanders Rest on the island.We also spent 2 days on the warren beach in Rosscarbery which was very safe .My husband had a great day diving on Fastnet Rock from Baltimore.Loved the wild fuschia and the fox who was out day and night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: able to walk to the cove
Liked least: narrow road leading to cottage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting out the back over looking the valley with a coffee in the sunshine watching the girls play on the swim
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carnglave
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic Ireland”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was our first visit to West Cork in over 20 years and Crab Cottage ticked all our boxes in terms of location, amenities and comfort.
The cottage is beautifully situated on a hillside overlooking mill cove with views both towards the sea and Galley head and inland, with Coppingers Court clearly visible about a mile distant. Rosscarbery is the nearest village with shops, pubs, restaurants and hotel facilities, a five minute drive or for the brave about 45 minutes walk (each way!).
The cottage is set in good sized grounds, set well back off the (very) minor road (cul de sac) and not overlooked. The back garden, whilst not fenced in, was nevertheless ideal for our two year old golden retriever, Oscar and would be equally safe for children.
Mill Cove itself is a very short walk down a narrow winding lane and provides a sheltered spot for kids (and dogs) to splash about especially when the tide is out.

The cottage is very well equipped for both summer and winter living, with books, television and dvds when the weather dictates staying indoors and a timber deck, table and chairs when outdoor living is called for. The kitchen and utility room were both very well kitted out with every facility you could need.
The bedrooms were also well appointed and comfortable. The Lookout in the Master bedroom provided good views towards the sea and Countryside.
Location wise a considerable part of West Cork is easily accessible from the cottage. Skibbereen and Clonakilty are both short drives, Glandore with its pubs overlooking Union Hall and Union Hall itself with the Glenmar fish shop are even closer. There is a pleasant costal drive to Kinsale from Clonakilty and even Cork City is reachable in around an hour if you feel the need to visit the English Market - we did this on the way home.
This is also an beautiful area for walking, with a retriever we needed to put in several miles each day and there are numerous opportunities for beach and Country walks. Castle Freke and the Long Strand is an ideal combination of both.
One point to note: The laneway up to the cottage continues on past the house towards the top of the hill and provides access to farmland. Occasionally a farmer may drive past to the fields but this was an infrequent occurrence and did not disrupt the privacy and peace we experienced.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Crab Cottage and would recommend it to anyone looking for a little peace and quiet in this beautiful part of Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Going Home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyjanec
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful home away from home”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We loved this place so much that we were talking about coming back within hours of arriving. It's located a few mins drive out of town, roads a little rustic but it's all part of the experience. Lovely cottage, which really is a perfect combination of the quirkiness and charm you get with an old house, and modern convenience. The appliances in the kitchen were better than those in my own home, and there was nothing that we wanted for that hadn't been provided (apart from an umbrella - but we should have known better in Ireland)! The fact there is no mains water was barely noticed, there is a powerful shower and luxurious bath. It was very clean and cosy throughout. The bedrooms were magical, especially the master bed with its picture window, stunning
views and very comfortable bed
(and I'm quite fussy). My two small boys loved it too, and felt very at home. It was perfect for them and I didn't feel I needed to watch them the whole time, they had plenty of space to run around in. The basketball hoop on the deck was a nice touch, the boys loved that. The cove, only 5-10 mins walk away is very special. Pretty and great for crabbing. We caught 5 in an hour and also met some lovely locals and wildlife. We enjoyed spotting a little fox who walked past on his evening jaunt some evenings too. And the swallows were wonderful! There is so much to do within an hours drive, and Warren Strand beach is a must (best sea swimming I've had in years)! All in all a wonderful place, and we are looking forward to returning soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GirlfromS...
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“The minute you step out of the car you know you've made the right choice!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We've stayed here several times, in Autumn, Spring and Summer . The cottage is brilliantly equipped for all weathers and temperatures. One does not go to West Cork for the sun, but when it shines the views from Crab Cottage are spectacular! Beaches beckon if you can tear yourself away from the comforts at the cottage! The air is like wine, the scent of hay, hedgerows, and honeysuckle. At night the biggest surprise of all are the amazing skies. Great kitchen too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing