We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management ineptitude towards guests”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Layang Layang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Layang Layang Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Layang Layang
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

I was a return visitor to Layang Layang having been last year and giving the resort a five star rave review but am certainly unable to repeat such a positive review this year
So let's start with the positives
The Staff are absolutely fantastic and will greet you every morning with a smile, however if you don't find out there names and tell them yours then you can't fell hard done by for the relationship never to exceed " Good morning Sir " take the time to get to know them and it'll greatly enhance your experience.
The food and it's presentation I thought was excellent and varied with something for every one.
The diving was hit and miss this year and certainly wouldn't stand up to my experiences last year but then you roll the dice and take your chances, I was there solely for Hammer encounters but water was warm and sightings were few, at a distance and fleeting. The reef itself isn't great and whilst the walls can be good with reef shark and manta sightings, if your going for Hammers you've got to be in the blue !!!
The resort is still a hospitality industry and it is in this regard that the Management fails spectacularly, I can put up with cockroaches in the bathroom ( you are after all on an island in the middle of the Indian ocean ) but considering we booked 4 months in advance and had to pay nearly two months in advance I didn't think it very professional for the resort to run out of beer pre dinner on the second night ! and wasn't st all impressed on asking to speak to the manager ( who was never seen other than at meal times, where he not once asked anyone how things were or if they required anything, I was under the impression this was a hospitality industry ) we were informed he would speak to us when he finished eating ! once in attendance he simply said " sorry we are out of beer " when asked why it didn't come on the half empty flight we were on ? he informed us that it was a logistical issue as there were more than 30 passagers on board ( I would suggest he try an transport two sets of diving equipment through 3 different countries on 4 flights and he would appreciate logistics ) after being inform by a number of people that complaints would be made, 2 slabs of beer appeared in a miracle befitting biblical times, it was the staffs beer apparently (surprisingly they didn't how anything about it when asked ) 3 days later when the next flight landed with 12 persons on board ( not the logistical problem of 30 ) this "manager" had on board one slab of beer ! 24 cans of beer for over 30 people, the majority of who would be Leaving on on the next flight.
When the island was restocked a further 3 days later the "manager" offered to buy 3 of us ( one of which had drank wine thus far ) A beer !! at a cost to him of circa $3, I paid for my own.
For this situation to develop considering the pre notice he has of guest arrivals displays ineptitude but his total disregard for the situation once it had occurred displayed a level of unprofessionalism and disregard for his Clients, most of whom who like me had travelled a long way and spent a lot of money to be treated like we didn't matter.
I was far from the only person leaving Layang Layang to voice the opinion that they wouldn't return.
So in conclusion if you've been before, seen shark and had a good experience don't return it really does feel like the island is being run down by the management

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence L, General Manager at Layang Layang Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear James,

Thank you for your feedback.

We apologize for running out of beer as there was a delay in our supply.

I have taken note of your comments and regret that the ineptitude behaviour towards guest by our manager.

We value your support for returning to Layang Layang and will address this matter immediately to avoid such recurrence.

We will constantly improve ourselves to better enhance the experience of our guest and once again please accept our sincere apologies.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2017

This is the best diving trip i have been on. Our instructors, Roy and Amanda, are very attentive and friendly. The resort is very clean and spacious. The food quality and services are quite high. Most of the dive sites are unique. You will seldom find it bored.
Thumbs up for Avillion Layang Layang and its staff.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jantiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence L, General Manager at Layang Layang Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you for your feedback and i am glad to hear you have enjoyed yourself.

Hope to see you again.

Regards
LLee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

The remote & unique resort is an absolute paradise for divers. Though a bit old but has all the basic things for a comfy stay -- clean & comfy bed, fully functioning bathroom, nice F&B, and superb staff .

DMs & boatman are very experienced with safety in mind, helpful in every aspect. It's reef are so amazingly beautiful and full of life, from pelagic to macro.

Truly an unique get away.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

The accommodation, food, diving and staff are very, very good. Spent 7 days on the island during April 2017 which translated into 19 dives, 5 of those with close encounters with large schools of hammerheads. Another couple of dives we saw large schools from a distance. Also saw huge tuna, large schools of jacks, turtles, mantas, reef sharks and even a thresher! Only complaint being that our boat had to be nursed along for 17 of those dives (good job all sites are close to the island) and was taken out of the water for the last two. Arrangements were made to stagger dive times so that two groups of divers could share the same boat but far from ideal on a diving holiday where boats are imperative to get to the sites. Internet almost non-existent - not a problem for me for the week but may affect others enjoyment of their holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

This is a place for divers who wanna look for school of hammers.

Pros:
1. Good customer service from all staff.
2. Clean and spacious room. Daily housekeeping.
3. Dive equipment in good condition
4. Love the horizon here due to the calm lagoon.
5. The place is properly maintained.
6. Comfy bed and pillows.

Cons:
1. Lack of food variety. Proposed to cook variety styles from other countries depending on the crowd you're getting. Some brought own canned food and alcohol.
2. Aged rooms
3. Noise from next door or people walking at the corridor is easily heard.
4. WiFi is available from 4pm daily. But as there are many ppl trying to connect, one needs to be patient to get the connection.
5. Only Celcom line is available. Not even Maxis or Digi.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank Devil198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence L, Manager at Layang Layang Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and we have taken note of your comments especially on food.

This matter has been highlighted with our chef and we will make improvements on this.

We have already refurbished the rooms with new linens, mattresses and the bathroom has all been refurbished.

Meanwhile we will continue to make improvements.

Thank you for diving with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Layang Layang Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layang Layang Island Resort

Address: Layang Layang 88005, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Layang Layang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Layang Layang
Price Range: RM980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Layang Layang Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Layang Layang Island Resort Sdn Bhd is an exclusive resort that dominates the Layang Layang island - an oceanic atoll of Spratly Islands situated approximately 300km northwest of Kota Kinabalu in Sabah, Malaysia. Fondly known as "The Jewel of the Borneo Banks", it is truly a diver's paradise. As many as 14 coral reefs have formed here, creating a breathtaking underwater scenery. The dive sites are well known for the intriguing hammerhead sharks and pygmy seahorses among other rare creatures. An hour's flight north of Kota Kinabalu, the island on which Layang Layang Island Resort Sdn Bhd nestled lies in 2,000m of ocean and due partly to the depth, this atoll has become famous for sightings of large pelagic species and for wall diving. Layang Layang Island Resort Sdn Bhd is the only resort on the island besides a Royal Malaysia Navy base. The resort, designed to look like the traditional Long House comprises 86 cosy rooms, restaurant and bar, outdoor swimming pool, Dive Center with certified diving instructors and a variety of diving courses among other facilities for modern comforts. Come for the exclusive and intriguing diving experience at this remote destination out of the world, where rare and uncommon underwater creature awaits you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avillion Layang Layang Island Hotel Layang Layang
Layang Island Hotel
Layang Layang Island Resort Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing