We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
46
55
22
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
46
55
22
6
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2019

If there is one dive site in this world that I am to rate as the best, this is it! The well kept accommodation, delicious buffet spread, attentive staff and captivating dive sites just cements LLIR's reputation as a tropical paradise.

Far away from encroaching humans, LLIR is free from pollution and noise that envelope our daily life in the city. You're going to miss Facebook and Instagram because the only satellite Internet connection is astonishing slow, but who needs the Internet when you're so engrossed exchanging photos and videos of the hammerhead shark school you've just captured with your newly made friends.

The only way in and out of the atoll is via chartered flight. This is probably one of the few places in the world where you can lie down and gaze the stars, or capture a time-lapse of the milky way galaxy above you literally on the runway.

Be aware though, that not every one will get the privilege to have a glimpse of the elusive hammerhead shark. In my last trip (22 to 26 March with Scuba Knights Singapore's entourage), only our group, together with our divemaster Bandzee, were lucky enough to encounter the shy sharks, not once, but twice. So, manage your expectations and enjoy the magnificent dive sites around you.

Although open water courses are offered on site, you may want to have at least attained Advanced OW and clocked at least 100 dives before coming here. Most, if not all, dives are 30 m or deeper. Hammerhead sharks can rarely be seen above 40 m. The experienced guides are there to spot critters and look for mantas, tiger sharks, hammerheads etc, not baby sit you.

These being said, I'll definitely be back soon.

Room tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the pool for the best sunset view
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lordtct
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservation T, General Manager at Layang Layang Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2019

Hi!

Thank you for your comments.

Glad you had a good time at Layang Layang.

Looking forward to have you back at Layang Layang. Dont forget to bring your friends too.

Happy and Safe Diving!

Regards
Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2019 via mobile

My best dive trip ever! I am so glad that I joined this dive trip arranged by Scuba Knights to Layang Layang last week. This island is such a unique place where we could see Hammerhead sharks, big fat white tip sharks, Jacks, Grand Travellies, Turtles and many more species at different dive spots just 5 mins away by boat from the resort.

Beautiful coral reefs took my breath away. And we were so lucky to spot the schooling hammerheads twice in 9 dives! Scuba Knights and local dive guide were really professional, in their thoughtful route planning, they made sure we made the most out of each dive and took loads of great photos!

Wonderful experience really, staff at this resort were also friendly and helpful. We were offered 5 meals a day, extra towels before dives, and they also had diving gears in very good condition for rent.

I'll come back again whenever i could!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank JovanniChoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservation T, General Manager at Layang Layang Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2019

Dear Jovanni Choi,

Thank you for your comments and glad you had a great time.

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2019 via mobile

We came for Hammerheads but return with so much more, Scubaknights my dive school and some guest went over to Layang Layang via private charter on 21st March, and we were greeted by the entire hotel crew and dive centre, the organisation process was top notch, for delivering the luggage straight to the hotel room without even asking.

Friendly crew and great food and comfortable stay, oh yea there's the hammerheads too

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservation T, General Manager at Layang Layang Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2019

HI!

Thank you for your comments.

Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Please bring your friends.

Happy and Safe Diving.

Regards
Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2019 via mobile

The dive are average, the food is average, the rooms are average.
It's too expensive for what it is.

No hammerheads, no manta, no leopard shark... just normal dives but most of them are in the blue with nothing to see.

10 divers for 1 divemaster, you'll be à lot in the water everytime and it's not really safe.

Beware with your electronic devices the power cuts destroyed my laptop battery.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservation T, General Manager at Layang Layang Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2019

Dear Simon,

Thank you for your feedback.

Will definitely improve the areas you mentioned.

sorry to hear that you didnt get to see much.

well don't give up. drop me an email for your next visit.

I am sure you will be lucky the next time round.

Meanwhile happy and safe diving!

Regards
Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

飯店經理及潛導非常專業,每天在水面上下身心靈都得到滿足,員工很細心體貼,在飲食住宿不時有驚喜,用心旅行,遵守飯店的規定,您一定能玩得愉快!

The magic manager Mark not only fed us well with carefully designed menu of diversified food that met everyone's need, but also took good care of his fellow staff so they all served quickly with initiative. Each day we were given delightful surprises by either catering or housekeeping team.

The diving was awesome! With "radar-geared" DM Oliver and lucky 7 Boatman Arif, we greedily explored as much as we can. Internet was not important anymore as we were greatly connected and entertained by the majestic nature.

The following is dedicated to the creatures we met in the journey, as we were treated so well by the known and unknown, above and under water, mortal and indefinite:

I LEFT MY HEART IN LAYANG LAYANG

On the horizontal blue lies a gem
Sparkly shiny as Neverland,
Smiles and laughters all around,
Can't wait to visit again.

Upon and beneath the deep blue
Merges infinite colors vividly true.
Follow the bubbles and flying man,
Ocean big guys will go through.

Ancient fleet marching by,
Newborn seagulls trembling thigh.
Waters embrace anything in,
People never wondering why.

I left my heart in Layang Layang,
May we all forever young,
With unforgettable memory,
I left my love in Layang Layang.

Layang Layang left us what money can't buy, wish you enjoy your stay as well.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
5  Thank DrifterTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservation T, General Manager at Layang Layang Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Drifter Tina,

Thank you for your review and poem.

Glad you had an unforgettable experience and memories at Layang Layang.

Hope to see you again soon.

Happy and Safe Diving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews