We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
46
55
22
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
46
55
22
6
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2019

1) The island is only for divers (max. 70 on up to five boats) and when I was there in late April/early May a liveaboard "The White Manta" also anchored in the lagoon. The resort is pretty basic, the pool filled with sea water, the food repetitive and pretty average, the aircon mediocre, the drinks selection limited but the staff is great, very friendly and polite. 2) The atoll has all-round wall diving with beautiful, large coral and a lot of marine life (the odd shark, hammerhead, turtles, manta rays, barracudas (large and small), schools of jacks, trigger fish, frog fish etc.3) The only problem is that you will most likely NOT see huge schools of hammerhead sharks migrating around you, even in peak season (I saw one!). There are probably several reasons for this: too many divers in the water at the same time - we spent nearly every dive waiting for around 15-20 minutes in the blue at around 30m off a point where a shark had been spotted a few days before but not just the twelve divers on our boat but the other three boats' divers as well! All boats most of the time go to the same spot around the same time which means that you'll see far more other divers than sharks! The second reason is that a lot of the divers are from China (on our week around 75%) and not all of them seem to be experienced divers and unfortunately some of the - not a small minority, mind you - did not understand the concept of not gunning for a shark or other fish, turtle, ray etc. when seeing one but to stay put and wait for the fish to swim by. This led to sharks and other marine animals being scared away as soon as they saw a bunch of divers. The third reason probably has to do with overfishing and simply less sharks being around than twenty years ago. Unfortunately this is the same in the Maledives, Egypt etc. where I have been diving since 1989. To cut a long story short: the diving is great but manage your expectations since you will most likely see the odd shark at a distance, if very lucky 5-6 of them at around 50-60m (far below you) but not hundreds of them swimming past you like they used to many, many years ago. For Europeans this sort of wall diving can be done closer to home and much, much cheaper on a liveaboard in Egypt.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AxelR192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal12556369013, Manager at Layang Layang Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2019

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comments.

Regards

LLee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2019 via mobile

Never expecting there’ll be a luxury resort on an isolated island, but overall the room is within my expectation as it’s clean and spacious. Various selection of foods and desserts are provided. Friendly and helpful staffs are always at your services.

I joinEd this dive trip arranged by Go Asia Diving to Layang-layang. The vis of the sea is superb clear and we spotted one hammerhead shark twice. Although not school of hammerhead shark spotted but i still enjoyed the diving with beautiful corals there and school of other marine life.

Will come back again to hunt for the hammerhead sharks again And thanks a lot to the dive guide who tried his best to spot for the marine livings

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Ilovelcx83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal12556369013, Manager at Layang Layang Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2019

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us the feedback.

Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at Layang Layang.

Regards
LLee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2019

I shall not write about the tired-looking resort or the food, since these have been covered by other reviews and are pretty trivial considering that most people who come here are divers and would be more concern about the dive operations and safety issues.

On the afternoon of 24th April, all 50 divers with 5 dive guides from the resort were dropped at a popular dive site despite rough conditions at sea. 4mins into the dive, we experienced one of the worst ferocious down currents that swept us from 14m to 40m in a matter of a few secs. I got hit by narcosis, hung on to corals for dear life at 40m, with bubbles blowing downwards & my mask threatening to blow off. Divers were pulled down to 50m and then shot back up to surface without safety stops because of freak up-currents at 10m. A diver said she was swept down to 52m & her dive guide went down after her to grab her. Another was pushed down to 48m and had to fin strenuously upwards with his BCD fully inflated. In the confusion, he lost his wife in the down currents and surfaced alone. Some divers were swept out 100 meters away and amidst the swells and choppy waters, there was MASS confusion, panic and chaos. Many lost their dive group and buddies and feared for their lives.

2 divers out of the 50 divers were unaccounted for, and they were only spotted later when the dive boats were on the way back to land. They were swept out to the protruding craggy rocks in the open ocean with waves pounding on them. One of them had cuts and blood all over his legs. These 2 divers were newly certified divers with only 20 dives under them. On that day, they were diving by themselves at 20m, while their group was at 40m looking for the hammerheads. How could the dive operator allow that knowing that this is a dangerous site?!

Our DM also left all her divers below and was the 3rd diver to surface on the boat, despite knowing that there were 7 more divers down below in trouble and unaccounted for. While on the dive boat, I also started to feel unwell and requested for oxygen, and found out that only 1 out of the 5 dive boats was carrying it. WT???

Dive briefings were insufficient – nothing on what would be the contingency dive plan in the event that we encountered any unpredictable currents, or how to handle it or get out of it. In fact, our DM did not go into the choppy sea to check the currents that day, instead she relied on the information from the DMs on the other boats & informed us that there will be ‘light to strong currents, and split currents’ and we will just ‘go with the flow’.

Despite knowing that there were split currents, DANGEROUS up & down currents, the DMs took ALL 50 divers into an extremely treacherous condition which could potentially be fatal. THEIR LACK OF KNOWLEDGE AND ABILITY TO ACCESS THE DIVE CONDITIONS HAVE RESULTED IN PUTTING ALL THE DIVERS IN GRAVE DANGER THAT DAY. Upon questioning the DMs, they said they were unaware and did not know the currents would be so deadly, even though this was a dive site that they bring divers to almost on a daily basis. Their answer was that they have never encountered such currents in the last 10 years, and were unable to tell from the surface of the sea. Again, a serious lack of experience & situational awareness of the local dive sites. If they were unsure then they have no business leading these dives.

Both my husband and I are very experienced and careful divers. I have been an avid diver for over 20yrs, with over 500 dives in some challenging dive conditions to know that the treacherous down current we encountered would have been fatal had not all the divers been very experienced. Fortunately most only suffered lacerations and cuts from the corals and rocks. However due to the negligence of the DMs, both my husband and myself suffered mild DCS and were unable to dive for the rest of the time we were there.

Since diving in Layang Layang often requires long deep dives in challenging and sometimes unpredictable conditions in the open ocean; and with no medical facilities available, we are shocked that the dive operator is hiring insufficient AND inexperienced dive guides to lead these challenging dives in a remote location. We are not looking for DMs to babysit the divers, but with 1 DM to 10 divers, the DMs were stretched to their limits and they were so focused on searching for the hammerhead sharks that there were serious lapses in ensuring the safety of all divers. While they were at 40m deep hunting for the hammerheads in the open blue for 30mins, divers were above anywhere from 30m - 38m by themselves as they were unable to stay deep for long. With 10 divers at various depths between 30m to 40m, it was hard to keep a group together or managed divers who encountered problems. And as proven, anything could happen while diving at that depth.

We had many divers feedback on these safety issues with real problems encountered while on the dives, and the bottom line is that the dive operator should be providing more resources especially at full capacity during the peak season where divers were charged extra for being there.

FYI – your chances of spotting a hammerhead shark is 10% even at peak season as many of the guides were too inexperienced and did not know where to spot them. 70% of the divers at the resort during the time we were there in April left feeling extremely disappointed (their stay was anywhere from 7-10days and they have seen nothing but the blue). My husband were just thankful we left without any serious injuries, forget about seeing the sharks and the high cost we’ve paid to be there for this activity. This experience was the worse diving experience we have ever encountered, ever.

We recognised that most of the DMs and resort staff are doing their best for the guests, and the key problem lies in the management. I think divers should be aware of this serious safety issue and stay away from diving with this dive resort and putting their own lives at stake until something is done to improve the dive operations there. We learnt that there was a change of management in the past years and the dive standard has dropped drastically. Spend your money elsewhere where the operator is not trying to cut cost at the expense of your safety. Absolutely not worth your time and money!

Room tip: In serious need of a renovation. Rooms are old & dated, 1 star.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Belinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal12556369013, General Manager at Layang Layang Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2019

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

We regret that you had an unpleasant experience at your recent trip at Layang Layang.

We at Layang Layang Island Resort always will do our best to ensure the safety, comfort and a memorable experience for all of our guest.

We have taken note of your comments and will discuss with the team to improve our standards and procedures. At the same time to look into issues you have raised.

The management has not changed and remains the same. We will not compromise safety with cost as we take such matters seriously. We have been operating this resort for the past 20 over years.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations and will definitely make improvements.

Thank you.

Regards
Lawrence L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2019

If there is one dive site in this world that I am to rate as the best, this is it! The well kept accommodation, delicious buffet spread, attentive staff and captivating dive sites just cements LLIR's reputation as a tropical paradise.

Far away from encroaching humans, LLIR is free from pollution and noise that envelope our daily life in the city. You're going to miss Facebook and Instagram because the only satellite Internet connection is astonishing slow, but who needs the Internet when you're so engrossed exchanging photos and videos of the hammerhead shark school you've just captured with your newly made friends.

The only way in and out of the atoll is via chartered flight. This is probably one of the few places in the world where you can lie down and gaze the stars, or capture a time-lapse of the milky way galaxy above you literally on the runway.

Be aware though, that not every one will get the privilege to have a glimpse of the elusive hammerhead shark. In my last trip (22 to 26 March with Scuba Knights Singapore's entourage), only our group, together with our divemaster Bandzee, were lucky enough to encounter the shy sharks, not once, but twice. So, manage your expectations and enjoy the magnificent dive sites around you.

Although open water courses are offered on site, you may want to have at least attained Advanced OW and clocked at least 100 dives before coming here. Most, if not all, dives are 30 m or deeper. Hammerhead sharks can rarely be seen above 40 m. The experienced guides are there to spot critters and look for mantas, tiger sharks, hammerheads etc, not baby sit you.

These being said, I'll definitely be back soon.

Room tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the pool for the best sunset view
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lordtct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservation T, General Manager at Layang Layang Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2019

Hi!

Thank you for your comments.

Glad you had a good time at Layang Layang.

Looking forward to have you back at Layang Layang. Dont forget to bring your friends too.

Happy and Safe Diving!

Regards
Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2019 via mobile

My best dive trip ever! I am so glad that I joined this dive trip arranged by Scuba Knights to Layang Layang last week. This island is such a unique place where we could see Hammerhead sharks, big fat white tip sharks, Jacks, Grand Travellies, Turtles and many more species at different dive spots just 5 mins away by boat from the resort.

Beautiful coral reefs took my breath away. And we were so lucky to spot the schooling hammerheads twice in 9 dives! Scuba Knights and local dive guide were really professional, in their thoughtful route planning, they made sure we made the most out of each dive and took loads of great photos!

Wonderful experience really, staff at this resort were also friendly and helpful. We were offered 5 meals a day, extra towels before dives, and they also had diving gears in very good condition for rent.

I'll come back again whenever i could!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank JovanniChoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservation T, General Manager at Layang Layang Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2019

Dear Jovanni Choi,

Thank you for your comments and glad you had a great time.

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews