We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It can't be a 4-star resort!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malibu Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Mui Ne
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Old facilities, a lot of big mosquitos. Dirty floor. Bathroom is terrible. Beds are small. Room for 3 adults contains 1m6-bed and one extra 1m4-bed. And this room cost us 1 million vietnam dong.
Private beach is clean. Pool is okay. But service is poor. Overall, we won't ever come back.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tri Thuc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2015

Hotel feels little old but I had massive fun jumping in pool which was clean. The swimming pool is infinity pool at small height. As you walk to the ledge, you see beach below.

There are some good restaurants around and it was quite relaxing for my 2 night stay.

Room Tip: Just ask for pool side rooms. They are the most fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in Malibu and when we arrived the staff spoke very little english and did not understand us trying to check in. In the end my partner had to go around the reception desk and into their computer to show them the reservation which they hardly even read and then showed us to our room eventually which was in the reception area.

The room was very basic, outdoor tiles on the floor looked dirty. The fridge was very dirty inside and it turned out it hadnt actually been working during our stay. We booked a double bed and were given a twin room. There were no sheets on the duvet and stains on the towels so we ended up sleeping in our sleeping bag liners. The room soon filled with flies as there is a crack to outside between the windows. The noise at night an very early in te morning from reception was terrible. Feels like there is people in your room it is so loud.

In the middle of the night the power went off and the air con stopped working after that epidsode and very little attempt to fix it. Whenever we aske for help we were giggled at by female staff and when we asked male staff it seemed like a lot of effort to come and see the air con, try tried a button and then left with no explanation and no further attempt to fix it. The wifi did not work all of second day so we were unable to book a hotel for next night in another city.


No apologies made or try to make it up to us for these things not working when we payed $30 for the night!

The pool was very large and the gardens are beautiful and well maintained. However there is a lot of flies floating in the pool. The restaurant steps onto the beach which is great. Not many beds around pool (only about 4).

The restaurant is average at best and does not stock everything on the menu.

When checking out we expected them to give us the two bottles of water from mini fridge complimentary because of our air con not working however we were told we must pay and they also tried to charge us for a pack of cards which we had apparantly taken from the room??

We would not recommend this hotel!

The place has great potential if the same amount of effort was put into service and the rooms as it is to watering the grass!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarzaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We booked this a few years ago via the agency "Classic Travel" in Shanghai. When I went there to pay, they informed us that our choice, the Bamboo Village Hotel, was fully booked and offered us this one, much better, new and beautiful, even for the same price!!!
So it is longer ago than 2010, but after I heard it is still the same poor place, I decided to post this anyway.

We were 2 families traveling together and we were the only guests from the second day. So for that reason, as we were not enough guests, we were refused our booked and payed for buffet breakfast, and they wanted us to have a coffee and a pancake each and then pay for all extras.

Because 10 people were on the one hand not enough guests, on the other hand obviously too many to deal with, there had never been a set table in the morning, and after having waited for half an hour the first 2 days, with the result of not having enough plates or cups anyway, we decided to set the table ourselves.

Anyway, we made very clear that we will have as much breakfast as we want....was a big hazzle.
the rooms were extremely small, but they were not dirty.
Outside the hotel was a big banner with an offer like '18 US$ per night and room, including breakfast". Well, we had payed much more... and then found out from a raging manager in our first choice hotel, that they were not full at all!!!!

So so so many negative things happened and they did not manage to give us the right bills for our f&b when we left.. we were not able to check it but estimated that it was at least not too much.
Somebody must have understood and they tried to stop us and pay more...

It had not been possible to contact any responsible person in the travel agency, internet never worked.

An email to the travel agent, a high end agency in Shanghai, had never been answered. But at least the got the 'unsubscribe' from their emails now. After many attempts.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabinerebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel / resort has so much potential to be fantastic, and we had a pleasant stay, but just missed the mark on a few things. The rooms themselves were a bit dated, though lovely in the fact they were bungalows, but smelt a bit musty, as though they needed a good airing. The bathroom was a wet room, well more of a drip room, the shower (there wasn't a bath) was a bit pathetic and choice of cold or lukewarm water. The beach was full of rubbish (a problem for much of the coast in these parts). We were also told by fellow guests that the restaurant was not open, but persevered (no one spoke english there and none of us spoke much Vietnamese) and found that it was. Much hilarity as we all (12 of us) tried to order dinner and drinks, some of it came out right and some didn't (not necessarily their fault this time!), to be honest this enhanced the stay rather, and the food and beer were vey cheap, even by Vietnamese standards.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mui Ne hotels
0.4 km away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 24 in Mui Ne
704 reviews
1.9 km away
Muine Bay Resort
Muine Bay Resort
#4 of 24 in Mui Ne
331 reviews
7.3 km away
Full Moon Village
Full Moon Village
#2 of 24 in Mui Ne
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sandunes Beach Resort & Spa
13.6 km away
Takalau Resort
Takalau Resort
#5 of 24 in Mui Ne
184 reviews
2.1 km away
The Sailing Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Resort Hotel

Address: Quarter 5, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Mui Ne
Price Range: RM196 - RM196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Malibu Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Malibu Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Hotel Phan Thiet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing