We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”

Review of The Grain House

The Grain House side and front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom The kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom
The kitchen
The entrance hall
The sitting room
The garden from main bedroom balcony
Rear view from the garden
The River Stour
The family room
Family room dining area
'Vine' bedroom
'Rose' bedroom
Another view of the kitchen
Utility/boot room
Entrance hall and cloakroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stoke by Clare, Clare, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nancy W
Heacham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were a group of 8 of family and friends, and it was perfect, spacious enough to accommodate us all. The house and garden were stunning, and we made full use of the games room, hot tub, and all the extra games provided like badminton, basketball etc. It is even more beautiful than the photos, and we all had a lovely week. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jockparso...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just spent 5 relaxing nights in the most beautiful property,owned by the very welcoming Unwin Family,for whom nothing was too much trouble.
The Grain House and its games room left nothing to the imagination,and at the end of a long day out visiting the many local attractions we were able to have a cool drink and unwind in the hot tub overlooking a well manicured garden which is very private. Thanks for a great break and hope to see you soon Jock, Dizzy and Sue

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome, and the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali Z
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, Relaxing Break”
Reviewed 11 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We had a lovely weekend at the Grain House recently. It is a gorgeous, very well appointed property with luxury touches everywhere. Loved the log fires and the hot tub -a real treat. Arrived back at work on Monday feeling wonderfully relaxed. Owners very pleasant and quick to respond to queries etc. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and furnishings
Liked least: Website directions to property could be improved
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley H
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, lovely relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Really lovely house in a pretty place. Had everything available in the house, the hot tub was great, the house was amazing, owners very accommodating and helpful. We had a brilliant break and will definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and grounds
Liked least: Nothing - all was lovely
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2013
Perfect guests who even stripped their beds before leaving!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lotr80
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The nicest holiday rental I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 30 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Having been tasked with organising a friend's hen weekend in Essex, we quickly realised that there were very few nice properties for a large group of girls (7 of us stayed at the house in total). Luckily, we came across the Grain House and it was perfect. The house is immaculate, the facilities are great - the hot tub went down especially well! - and Pippa and Peter were very helpful, both before and during our stay. Peter actually came to greet us and check we were ok when we arrived, and they even left us a little welcoming gift of some chocolates. There is also a lot of info available about the surrounding area - which is great as none of us knew that part of the world at all. We ended up spending a lot of time at the house and it really made the weekend.

I have to say, we were a little taken aback at how many rules and notes there seemed to be about the house - one on almost every surface! - but we soon realised that you don't keep a property in such good condition without making sure that people are respectful of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The overall standard and cleanliness. And the hot tub!!
Liked least: It's a bit out of the way, and no pub in walking distance.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2013
We don't like making rules and regs, but one previous hen party has made us cautious.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing