We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Garden Studio in Spring
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Garden Studio in Spring
Rainbow over Garden Studio Studio Interior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The Garden Studio in Spring
Rainbow over Garden Studio
Studio Interior
Kitchenette
Glorious Harris Tweed Curtain!
Open plan with Shower room (disabled seat)
Orchard from Garden Studio
View from Studio Deck
Come and play Tennis!
The Kelpies a short distance away
Garden Studio interior view
Large power shower with seat
Interior
Garden Studio open plan
Garden Studio interior with French Windows on to deck overlooking orchard
Fully equipped Galley kitchen
King size Double with large storage drawer
Comfortable seating in open plan Studio
Sunset from The Garden Studio
January in the snow but warm as toast inside the Studio!
Local view of Ben Ledi on a winters day
View from decking in Spring
Nearby Doune Castle 'Outlander' series location!
View from the sofa!
Studio interior
Kitchenette containing washing machine, fridge and cooker
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Doune, Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian B
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a very pleasant stay here. Although it is a small cottage it is surprisingly spacious with a fantastic shower. Excellent views and a nice owner who was very helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Thanks so much for your kind review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. With best wishes. Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnfoR
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful studio near Doune, Scotland”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very nice and cosy inside. Bed was very comfortable. The location was very nice and close to Doune and Stirling.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Colours, location
Liked least: Absence of kitchen cupboards. No storage space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohiorich2...
Findlay, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track, but well worth it.”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

the cottage was perfect for us. Fiona was gracious. We showed up early, but she showed us around and explained the set up to us. All the essentials needed to set up housekeeping were there. There was even milk, bread, coffee, tea, butter, sugar, cereal, along with homemade shortbread cookies and jam. We were left alone and it was like we were in our own home. We would gladly go back. The only glitch was we would have liked the water in the shower to be a little hotter. We went in September and the nights were a little cool. It was in a perfect location for that part of Scotland.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“home sweet home”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and i were so fortunate to have found Fiona and Colin Graham's Garden Studio. We stayed there for over 2 weeks and it couldn't have been more heavenly. From Fiona's perfect breakfasts that included her homemade marmalade and jams, freshly picked fruits from their impressive garden, and her homemade bread, to her delicious gourmet dinners, we couldn't have been happier or more satisfied. They were so attentive to our every need, and made our stay a most memorable one. The Garden Studio is the perfect place to have a romantic getaway and to be totally self-sufficient if desired. The decor is bright and cheery, the bed was comfortable, lots of storage is provided and everything else one could possibly need was provided. The kitchen was more than adequate to produce our lunches and dinners, and to have a washing machine handy was beyond wonderful. I fell in love with the shower at the Studio. With 2 heads, and lots of hot water, it was a perfect place to unwind after a long day of hiking and sightseeing. We found the property to be centrally located to most of the places that we wanted to go, so it was easy to use as a base from which we took our daily adventures. Fiona and Colin were such gracious hosts, and made us feel as if we were a part of their family. We also enjoyed the company of their well trained cocker spaniels, Daisy and Freya. They were a constant delight. The only thing that i cannot review is Colin's bagpiping because he came down with a nasty cold while we were there, so we never got to hear him play. So that is just one of the many reasons we will definitely have to go back to this sweet little home away from home. You will not be sorry if you choose to stay at the Mackeanston House Garden Studio.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the breakfasts, the decor, the shower
Liked least: the cutting board and the knives in the kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review we enjoyed having you stay and hope to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nynke2
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Very nice studio with tennis court!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in the garden cottage for 3 nights and it is a very nice studio. It has everything you need for a relaxing stay. There was a lot of information about the area and a nice welcome packet including milk, bread and fruit cake! The location is very close to Stirling and Lomond area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2014
Thank you for kindly taking the trouble to review us and we hope to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$112
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing