We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunch in style”

Sawmill Brewery and Smoko Room
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Matakana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Description: We are closed for our winter break from Monday the 13th until the 30th of August. Opening celebration on Friday the 31st of August. And open again from Wednesday to Sunday 12pm - 10pm.
Restaurant details
Description: We are closed for our winter break from Monday the 13th until the 30th of August. Opening celebration on Friday the 31st of August. And open again from Wednesday to Sunday 12pm - 10pm.
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We stopped for lunch after visiting Tauwharanui bird sanctuary. The atmosphere was buzzy and we sat outside as it was a nice day. The meals were small but delicious. The decor was fabulous - so cool to see the old windows put into the new building. Make sure you check out the bathrooms - cool!! The service was patchy and although the menu states that food will come out of the kitchen once it is ready, our English guests insisted on waiting until we all had our meals beef they started.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drmfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 May 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Sounds like you've had a good time. Hope to see you again. Cheers from the Sawmill crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 76 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

We went for lunch. Menu looked impressive. But upon receipt of the food it was disappointing. Ordered ribs with blue cheese sauce - absolutely no blue cheese flavour whatsoever - more like goats cheese. Also ordered the smoked kahawahi and had multiple bones and scales throughout the dish, ended up sending back to kitchen.
Service also bad - every order for drinks was incorrect.
Overall wouldn't recommend.

Thank mkme1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 April 2017

We're sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. Hopefully a next visit will give you the good experience that most of our customers have. Cheers from the Sawmill Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Great food!! Nice service. Beautiful environment. We enjoyed ourselves. We will be back. My favourite restaurant in Matakana.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 April 2017

Thanks Nicole! We'd love to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

(Good) Friday late afternoon when we visited for the fourth time and the place had its usual lively atmosphere. We're always disappointed to have to pay a surcharge on bank holidays and still don't get it, blah, blah.
Service was quick, laid back, but very welcoming and efficient. The beer platter is a great way to try some of the more unusual brews. The food portions are quite small but they are very tasty and include some unusual items. If you aren't into spicey food, as one of our party was, the menu is a bit limited in it's choice.
Overall, great setting, great vibe and great service and highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kiwi3mfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 April 2017

Thanks for your review. We love to hear that you've had a good time. We hope to see you back soon.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

If you like good beer and good food, this place is a must! The building is rustic, amazing and inviting and there's a great outside area as well. They have a large selection of really good beers and delicious food! It's a fun and relaxing atmosphere not far from downtown Matakana. A must!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sawmill Brewery and Smoko Room also viewed

 
Matakana, Auckland
 

Been to Sawmill Brewery and Smoko Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing