We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portreath Arms(Portreath)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
658
115
27
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
658
115
27
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvip lodgeterrace restaurantfeadon farmhot tubmeet the animalsrock poolingswimming poolcountry parkwildlife experiencewood burnerportreath beachonsite restaurantnight walktakeaway servicest iveson arrivaldishwasher tablets
Filter
Updating list...
642 - 647 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We have just come back from a lovely stay at Gwel an Mor. Weather was good and any stay in Cornwall when the weather is nice makes any stay a better one.

I am usually quite sensitive to dust and always end up in the last few days of a break with streaming eyes and sneezing. But not here which is because the cleanliness of the lodge was excellent; even cutlery had been washed and overall the place was spotless.

The pool was great for the kids and there were a few activities linked with the environment that you could have done such as a visit on rock pools on local Portreath beach, and a visit to the on site farm, and nature walks. Security in and around the lodge is excellent

Technology side wi fi connectivity was excellent. On the minus side there is no onsite shop for your everyday needs, and it is overpriced a bit.

All in all a great stay and will look to return in the future

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Thank you for your words

Of course at this time of year our lodges are at their highest prices, Gwel an Mor will never be a cheap holiday, It cant be as we take so much care of our properties, to achieve the level of cleanliness you comment on takes a lot of time, and this costs.

Our gardens and level of service we provide, whether its instant maintenance when something goes wrong, or having food delivered to your lodge from our restaurant means we employ more people per guest than any other holiday resort/park in Cornwall.

Due to these factors I believe we represent value for money....... even in peak season!

Of course the summer holidays are the hardest time for our business, we are 100% full, all our guests have paid our most expensive prices and therefore have highest expectations, and generally even at these time we still deliver.

As for an on site shop, there are some lovely shops with very helpful owners a short walk or only a couple of minutes by car in the village itself, we as a business have made a conscious decision that we want to support them, and therefore encourage our guests to shop there.

Bill Haslam
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here just over 1 week ago. Lovely setting, we had lodge 59 and had a beautiful view of the sea from the lodge. The accomodation is really well thought out and there is nothing they do not appear to have thought about. The lodge was immaculate, the hot tub s luxury, wine in the fridge and chocolates and lolly pops on the pillows. The only issue we had was the washer dryer was not working but we phoned reception and it was fixed that day whilst we were out.
We ate on the last night in the terrace restaurant and had a lovely meal, the staff were very friendly and attentive. One thought or maybe idea for the owner/management - the tv in the restaurant was rather repetitive with the pictures of the lodges for sale. It would be nice to see some pictures of the local area/ cornwall and some attractions for those of us not from the area. Just a thought :) all in all an excellent site, well placed to visit all of Cornwall and highly recommended. Kids had a fab time. Many thanks to u all.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonbon05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Really enjoyed our time at Gwel An Mor - highlights were the hot tub, the beds (so comfortable!), the views, the walk to the beach and the restaurant. Niggles? VERY expensive, little bit grubby in the pool and spa areas. But great staff and a wonderful time had in our lodge for 6 (4 adults and 2 children). Worth looking out for their last minute deals though!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaraBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for this generally positive feedback.

Of course we are disappointed to hear the negative comments, and these about the cleanliness of the pool area are very surprising as we normally get excellent feedback on this area, I can only think that perhaps there have been some occasions during the busy summer holidays, where we have fallen short on the odd occasion, but this should not be the case, and I have spoken to our housekeeping department.

As ever it is so much easier if guest point out things when they are staying with us, then we can put them right immediately, when read some time afterwards it is to late to see if there was a problem or what might have caused it.

As for being 'expensive" of course this is subjective, and presently we are at our peak period, our VIP lodges are £54 per person per night.... I believe this is still competitive, and certainly so when compared with a five star resort and flights anywhere in Europe in July/August?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We've been to Gwel an Mor many times, they were still building some of the lodges when we first went. Since then they've added a Restaurant, Spa and the Farm. If it wasn't nice we wouldn't keep going back but this time we decided that it is no longer worth the high premium in peak season and it will be a while before we re-book.
Firstly, the good points:- The lodges are spacious and well-equipped, the park is well laid out and has plenty for young children to do - the pool, playground, putting and croquet. There are nice touches:- the chocolates and lollipops on your pillow, the bottle of wine in the fridge, the DVDs you can borrow from reception, the buckets & spades you can also borrow. The pool, steam room, jacuzzi and sauna are all very clean and hardly ever over-crowded. Portreath beach is excellent for children of all ages - rock pools, caves, sandy beach and a stream that runs down to the sea (plenty of kids spend hours damming and diverting it.)
However, the lodges are looking tired (this is the second one in a row that we've had in this condition) and we weren't happy with having to spend over £2k for a week in a lodge that was dusty and hadn't been hoovered properly (yes I did complain but it wasn't re-cleaned), mouldy grout in the bathrooms, missing screw covers on the mirrors, chipped and damaged furniture and a sofa so saggy that it felt like you were sitting on the floor! The hoover turned out to be broken, I reported this and it was mended but my request for someone re-hoover the floors went unmet. Our lodge definitely needed a refurb and there are other places in Cornwall charging similar prices that are newer or advertising re-furbished lodges for 2013 so we will probably book somewhere else next year.
The "Free Wi-fi" was appalling - almost impossible to get access at peak times even for checking email. Some days it was 10pm before we could get any bandwidth to do anything else - don't even think about trying iPlayer or YouTube at peak times. We complained about this twice to Reception who had had several other complaints but there was little they could do although they did promise to contact their Technical Support person.
Even though we have been many many times, we have never had any acknowledgement or recognition of this. We're not expecting a discount or anything, just something along the lines of "nice to see you again" or "Welcome Back" like they do in hotels and restaurants when they know you are regulars. There's plenty of competition out there and Gwel an Mor needs to up its game a little.
We have dutifully filled in our Guest Feedback form year after year and never had a response so I'm not sure if our feedback has ever reached anyone. Perhaps this year it will be different?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank batoutofhell92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Well after an awful drive down what a relief to be met by helpful staff and a nice clean, comfy lodge. There was everything you could need in there washing machine ( very useful as it didn't mean we got home with a load of washing), a dishwasher ( a novelty for us as we are one of the few people I know who don't have one), TV, board games, sofa, 2 bathrooms very useful so there was no arguing, and the most springy beds I've ever slept on! The pool was nice and clean as was the steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. The spa was excellent with a wide range of treatments to choose from. I also like the little touches around the resort such as chocolates on our pillows when we arrived, a bottle of wine i the fridge, a welcome card and the fact that you could borrow DVDs from reception. I would definitely recommend using the restaurant on the site as although a little on the pricey side there is plenty of choice and the portions are huge. So be warned not to have eyes bigger than your belly! There isn't much choice of restaurants around (especially not Redruth as a member of my family pointed out 'there is more doing in a graveyard') so it is great that the terrace is so nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiggy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews