We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Portreath Arms(Portreath)
US$96
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tyacks Hotel(Camborne)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Camborne Hotel(Camborne)(Great Value!)
US$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lowenac Hotel(Camborne)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Agnes Hotel(St Agnes)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
662
115
27
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
662
115
27
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvip lodgeterrace restaurantfeadon farmhot tubmeet the animalsrock poolingswimming poolwildlife experiencecountry parkwood burnerportreath beachonsite restauranttakeaway servicenight walkst iveson arrivaldishwasher tablets
Filter
Updating list...
635 - 640 of 810 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My family have spent the last 3 summers at Gwel an Mor and this will be out last.

This year we decided to splash out and book the VIP lodge. What a disappointment. The VIP lodge we stayed in was tired (furniture was very old. broken, and tatty), very dusty and had bad mould in the shower.
It was a much lesser quality than the standard lodge we have experienced previously. (BTW we have previously had a great experience)

I thought I would enjoy the famous sunset one evening only to find the decking chair to be broken when I sat on it.

We complained on day 2 and to be fair the deputy manager and newly appointed head of house keeping visited and agreed the lodge was sub standard for VIP and did a good job to clean up the shower and give the lodge a refresh. We were told that new furniture was on order and that the lodges take 6 hours to clean prior to new guest arrival. This didn't help. I am confident if I had 6 hours to clean the place it would have involved dusting and removal of cobwebs and obvious bio hazards in the bathroom.

The deputy manager sorted us out a free meal at the restaurant which was a nice touch, but small compensation given the additional amount we paid for VIP.

We wont be returning and will no longer be recommending to friends and family who also did stay regularly.

Room Tip: Dont choose any of the older VIP lodges.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Well we've never had a 2 star before in 6 years? Did we deserve it? I think these guests are a little unfair, although we are not faultless.

They complained on their 4th night with us, and following a meeting with our management we replaced a broken deck chair ( this furniture was only 4 weeks old we have no idea how it was broken) and we dealt with the issues that they complained about.

The leather couch did have some small areas of wear, and was replaced.

The guests led us to believe they were happy and although this lodge, our oldest one was not up to our usual standards, there was no complaint until half way through their holiday.

This was August bank holiday and our busiest week of the year.

We work so hard to deliver great holidays for our guests and in this instance we made some mistakes, compensated for them and put everything right and thought they were happy.

Our oldest lodges are being re-furbished over the winter, but they are lovely all the same, as you can see from the many 5 star reviews before this one.

Bill Haslam
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Thank you once again Gwel an Mor for a fantastic stay this weekend (Friday 21st September to Sunday 23rd September 2012

Once again the lodge was spotlessly clean and everything in excellent order. The warm red colour scheme throughout lodge 16 was very inviting on such a Autumnal weekend. The log burner was so inviting and made the lodge so warm. Everything in the lodge is on hand to make your stay just perfect, All the facilities are luxurious in the lodge and there is so much space even with 4 adults and 2 small children.

We ordered a take-out from the restaurant on Saturday night which was delicious. The delivery person even brought it upstairs in the lodge to the kitchen area. A great idea when the weather outdoors is wet and windy.

Overall it was a lovely weekend and a must to visit if you are thinking of staying in Portreath.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This was our seconf visit to Gwel an Mor (we first visited in May 2011) I must say that it's much improved, the small things that slightly annoyed me have been fixed and it would seem much more attention to detail has been applied. eg: Better equipped kitchens, tennis court etc.
We've also stayed at Retallick and the Valley but this is our favourite, location is superb and the site is very well kept and run, the accommodation was very clean and equipped. Lots to offers all families from the animal experiences to the surrounding area and cycle hire.
There were only feedback I would give would be for the restaurant to be more accommodating of families, the addition of kids colouring packs were much appreciated but the restaurant still felt very formal and when the children were noisy (as children are) we felt uncomfortable, odd looks from staff etc this was not helped by the adults meals comming out before the childrens meals. But if this is the only thing that bothered us it's not much to complain about. we'll be back next year would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kahostheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for such a great review and your comments on the improvements made since your last visit, we do take on board our customer feedback and wherever possible try and improve our offer wherever we can.

As regards our restaurant being child friendly I am surprised that you felt this was not as good as it should have been, I will pass your comments to our restaurant team of course. But we get many positive comments from people about how child friendly The Terrace is as well.

We are human of course so lets hope we can improve on this by your next visit as well!

Thanks Again,

Bill Haslam
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed in #39 for 4 nights. Friendly helpful staff. Clean modern cabin with plenty of space. Free strong wi if. We got take away from the restaurant which was fantastic. Great facilities. There was some building work going on but didn't affect us. Hilly but reasonably short walk to town, pubs and beach. It met its 5 star rating. Nothing more though. We would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank enners78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thank you for such a nice review.

The building work you refer to is not at Gwel an Mor but is adjacent to a small section of our entrance road, and does not affect any of our lodges.

Its always great receive such positive feed back, and I will pass this on to all our staff.

Regards,

Bill Haslam
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

stayed in 59 and 60 which are on the edge of complex , and looked out onto tennis court and reindeer pen, and sea view.

Villas well equipped with living area upstairs.
The local tesco (2 stores) will deliver.
We took 1 dog, dog friendly beaches quiet close
If you get good weather, this is a real gem.
Staff helpfull and friendly.
Could not ask for more.

Room Tip: try for edge of complex
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews