We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world ....we didn't want to come home”
Review of Gwel an Mor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwel an Mor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

After reading reviews I expected something really good , but I have to say I was still surprised by the lodge we stayed in ....everything was spotlessly clean , lay out was great , space and privacy well thought out , everything we needed was provided , lots of towels , cleaning materials , toiletries , we normally opt for a hotel but this place has completely changed my mind, go and you won't be disappointed ! Thank you Gwel an Mor for making us feel so 'special'

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 548 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

My family have spent the last 3 summers at Gwel an Mor and this will be out last.

This year we decided to splash out and book the VIP lodge. What a disappointment. The VIP lodge we stayed in was tired (furniture was very old. broken, and tatty), very dusty and had bad mould in the shower.
It was a much lesser quality than the standard lodge we have experienced previously. (BTW we have previously had a great experience)

I thought I would enjoy the famous sunset one evening only to find the decking chair to be broken when I sat on it.

We complained on day 2 and to be fair the deputy manager and newly appointed head of house keeping visited and agreed the lodge was sub standard for VIP and did a good job to clean up the shower and give the lodge a refresh. We were told that new furniture was on order and that the lodges take 6 hours to clean prior to new guest arrival. This didn't help. I am confident if I had 6 hours to clean the place it would have involved dusting and removal of cobwebs and obvious bio hazards in the bathroom.

The deputy manager sorted us out a free meal at the restaurant which was a nice touch, but small compensation given the additional amount we paid for VIP.

We wont be returning and will no longer be recommending to friends and family who also did stay regularly.

Room Tip: Dont choose any of the older VIP lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Well we've never had a 2 star before in 6 years? Did we deserve it? I think these guests are a little unfair, although we are not faultless.

They complained on their 4th night with us, and following a meeting with our management we replaced a broken deck chair ( this furniture was only 4 weeks old we have no idea how it was broken) and we dealt with the issues that they complained about.

The leather couch did have some small areas of wear, and was replaced.

The guests led us to believe they were happy and although this lodge, our oldest one was not up to our usual standards, there was no complaint until half way through their holiday.

This was August bank holiday and our busiest week of the year.

We work so hard to deliver great holidays for our guests and in this instance we made some mistakes, compensated for them and put everything right and thought they were happy.

Our oldest lodges are being re-furbished over the winter, but they are lovely all the same, as you can see from the many 5 star reviews before this one.

Bill Haslam
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Thank you once again Gwel an Mor for a fantastic stay this weekend (Friday 21st September to Sunday 23rd September 2012

Once again the lodge was spotlessly clean and everything in excellent order. The warm red colour scheme throughout lodge 16 was very inviting on such a Autumnal weekend. The log burner was so inviting and made the lodge so warm. Everything in the lodge is on hand to make your stay just perfect, All the facilities are luxurious in the lodge and there is so much space even with 4 adults and 2 small children.

We ordered a take-out from the restaurant on Saturday night which was delicious. The delivery person even brought it upstairs in the lodge to the kitchen area. A great idea when the weather outdoors is wet and windy.

Overall it was a lovely weekend and a must to visit if you are thinking of staying in Portreath.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This was our seconf visit to Gwel an Mor (we first visited in May 2011) I must say that it's much improved, the small things that slightly annoyed me have been fixed and it would seem much more attention to detail has been applied. eg: Better equipped kitchens, tennis court etc.
We've also stayed at Retallick and the Valley but this is our favourite, location is superb and the site is very well kept and run, the accommodation was very clean and equipped. Lots to offers all families from the animal experiences to the surrounding area and cycle hire.
There were only feedback I would give would be for the restaurant to be more accommodating of families, the addition of kids colouring packs were much appreciated but the restaurant still felt very formal and when the children were noisy (as children are) we felt uncomfortable, odd looks from staff etc this was not helped by the adults meals comming out before the childrens meals. But if this is the only thing that bothered us it's not much to complain about. we'll be back next year would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kahostheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for such a great review and your comments on the improvements made since your last visit, we do take on board our customer feedback and wherever possible try and improve our offer wherever we can.

As regards our restaurant being child friendly I am surprised that you felt this was not as good as it should have been, I will pass your comments to our restaurant team of course. But we get many positive comments from people about how child friendly The Terrace is as well.

We are human of course so lets hope we can improve on this by your next visit as well!

Thanks Again,

Bill Haslam
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed in #39 for 4 nights. Friendly helpful staff. Clean modern cabin with plenty of space. Free strong wi if. We got take away from the restaurant which was fantastic. Great facilities. There was some building work going on but didn't affect us. Hilly but reasonably short walk to town, pubs and beach. It met its 5 star rating. Nothing more though. We would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank enners78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thank you for such a nice review.

The building work you refer to is not at Gwel an Mor but is adjacent to a small section of our entrance road, and does not affect any of our lodges.

Its always great receive such positive feed back, and I will pass this on to all our staff.

Regards,

Bill Haslam
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portreath
4.4 km away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,292 reviews
22.7 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
14.8 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30 km away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,253 reviews
34.6 km away
Retallack Resort and Spa
Retallack Resort and Spa
#1 of 3 in St Columb Major
1,038 reviews
13.6 km away
The Valley
The Valley
#1 of 4 in Carnon Downs
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwel an Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwel an Mor

Address: Gwel an Mor Feadon Lane, Portreath TR16 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Portreath
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwel an Mor 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gwel an Mor is Cornish for "View of the Sea." We are a 5 Star luxury self catering holiday resort which sits high on hills above the Atlantic Ocean in Cornwall.Our grand Scandinavian style holiday lodges blend beautifully into landscaped gardens and the surrounding countryside. Truly inviting with a relaxed but luxury style, the two and three bedroom lodges have everything you may need – down to the hot tub on your private terrace and log burner in the living area. Alongside the traditional wooden lodges, we also offer the contemporary style of the Residence. Launched in 2012, these exclusive eco lodges provide the ultimate in high-end holiday accommodation, complete with underfloor heating, mood lighting, DVD and music players and WiFi. You'll even find a plasma TV in the bathroom. Our Clubhouse boasts a fully equipped gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna while outside there is a children’s play area, tennis courts and a putting and croquet lawn.For more grown-up indulgences, The Wellbeing Spa offers an extensive menu of pampering facial, body and cosmetic treatments designed to relax, revitalise and rejuvenate you using marine inspired products. With a great reputation amongst visitors and locals, the Terrace Restaurant at Gwel an Mor is an informal bistro style venue with a locally sourced, innovative menu. With an emphasis on using the best seasonal ingredients the Southwest has to offer, the Terrace even offers a take away service so you can indulge in the comfort of your lodge. One of the truly unique aspects to a stay with us is the chance to meet some of the local wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Gwel an Mor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwel An Mor 5 Star Holiday Hotel Portreath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing