We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Portreath Arms(Portreath)
US$96
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
662
115
27
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
662
115
27
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvip lodgeterrace restaurantfeadon farmhot tubmeet the animalsrock poolingswimming poolwildlife experiencecountry parkwood burnerportreath beachonsite restauranttakeaway servicenight walkst iveson arrivaldishwasher tablets
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 810 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a modern lodge on a well kept small(ish)holiday park. It came with lots of mod cons including a hot tub!
Really peaceful with path down through wooded area to the fishing village of Portreath. Helpful staff. Lovely looking swimming pool (indoor), small gym and spa, though we didn't use them. Restaurant was cosy with lovely food (a bit pricey but good).
We stayed Fri-Mon and wished we could've stayed longer. We will definitely be going back.
One word of warning. If your going for a long weekend and hoping to participate in some of the activities on offer you might want to check they are actually on during the weekend.
P.S. Some cast members of the Poldark series stayed here!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Greg,

Pleased to hear you had such a lovely stay with us! and yes Poldark like it here to!

We do have lots to offer our guests but always recommend that you book these as much as possible before you arrive to avoid any disappointment.

Glad your definitely coming back!

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Shocked on arrival as greeted by scaffolding and diggers. Web site does mention the building works but didn't really prepare us for what we were greeted by. Residence villa lovely but you can see and hear on going building ( probably less affected if you stay in older lodges) Restaurant very nice. Hot tub cold until 2nd evening. Nice walk to beach. Wouldn't go again.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank MCourtice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Claire,

Of course I am disappointed to read you review, which I thought was a little unfair, and I would point out and confirm that we do inform our guests that the Residence is an area under development. This is clearly shown on our web site, and on e-mails to guests that book these lodges.

The scaffold you refer to is not on our land but is close to our main entrance as there are some new homes being built there, this is nearly 1km from the Residence lodges, the scaffold should all be down for the Summer we are informed, but this only affects the view a few yards along the entrance road.

We have been building our Residence area for the last 5 years and in that time yours is only the 2nd write up that says it effected their break, we manage the works scrupulously and in general the work is some distance away from the lodges, but I accept if you choose to look behind you, you can sometimes see some of the works but the screening is 6' close board fencing and does screen the area very well.

Also all the work is all at the rear of the site, but all the lodges look out over in an un-interpreted view of the Atlantic and a beautiful valley, you can only see any works from your lodge if you really want to find them.

You will see from many of the other write ups on TA that the works had no effect on their enjoyment, and we are stopping most of the work over the Summer holidays this year.

You will appreciate we are creating something very special at Gwel an Mor, the fishing lake, and golf course are both nearly completed and will be amazing, our new activity Barn opens shortly and all of this work has been completed over the last few months during our quieter season, in that time we have had thousands of guests stay and literally only one or two issues in relation to the work.

Turning to your hot tub, as policy we always change the hot tub water between guests departing and arriving (many of our competitors do not do this), so there is sometimes a delay in the water getting to temperature, but this is rarely more than a few hours, and we do advise this to all our hot tub guests.

Thanks for taking the time to write, and I hope you will come back again and see the lakes and Golf course all completed later this year.

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

We had an enjoyable stay here at Gwel an Mor. A family of five, we stayed for a week in a spacious, luxurious VIP lodge (4) with hot tub, complete with everything a family will need and more. (It also has a statue of an owl above the balcony door, and I think it's the only lodge that has one. It's not really significant, but my children liked the fact that our lodge was unique from the rest!) Although it's located at the back of the resort, it still has an amazing view of the Atlantic Ocean through the balcony. And I loved that view every morning, sat outside on the balcony with a cup of coffee or just standing looking out through the glass doors... Heaven. However, the view at the back is not so great. It's basically a construction site where the golf course will be, but it didn't put me off in the slightest. Imagine how it would look when the golf course is finished! It will be superb!

The resort is just a short stroll away from the beach, and short drive away from other beautiful places, such as St Ives, Carbis Bay, St Michael's Mount, Lands End, The Lost Garden of Heligan, Eden Project etc. These were the places we went to see. And when we were not out and about exploring Cornwall, we made use of the resort's amenities, the pool, sauna and the gym. Note: you can use all these amenities at no extra charge, unlike the other resorts we've stayed in.

We ate at the restaurant on site twice. The food there was great and highly recommended. On the day the weather was really warm, we decided to have a BBQ, and a stand was provided, delivered to our lodge , again, with no additional charge. The resort is also next to a farm, and they have the friendliest and cutest goats on the planet!

It was our first time here and we had a wonderful stay. Thank you. It won't be the last. Definitely.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank LPS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Thank you for such a lovely write up, we are really pleased you had such a great time, the Owl you refer to is there to keep the seagulls at bay!

We are as you know very close to the Sea, and only a short walk to the beach so Seagulls love our guests and the food options they offer! The Owl Statues are to keep them away.

Glad to hear you loved our restaurant as well, the food is really good there, and our farm is a great feature that all our guests should visit, it completes some great environmental and conservation work.

The golf course will be completed later this year but the nearest holes and the fishing lake will be completed in June and will be landscaped and looking good by then.

Glad to hear you will be coming back and then you can see for yourself.

Thanks gain and come back soon.

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed her last year for a wedding and it was amazing! I could easily live here. My only suggestion would be for the restaurant to serve a fry up as we had to drive into town for one! ! The staff were friendly, the lodges were brilliant!
We ate at the restaurant and the food was fab!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Kim06078823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Kim,

What a lovely write up. You likes it so much you could live here.

Of course if you buy a Residence lodge you can! Our new activity barn (Rock Climbing, Soft Play, Activities and Cafe') open this summer and will offer breakfasts! so hopefully we will be perfect for you then.

Glad you liked the restaurant as well.

Come back soon!

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016

The week we had for our holiday this year was dampened by the weather all over Europe and even Florida so we decided to stay in the UK and stay in the south west. We had thought about Center Parcs but the price was ridiculous, so put in alternative to Center Parcs in Google and Gwel an mor popped up. We were in Bassett 32 which is a basic Lowena lodge but the lodge was well equipped and really homely and comfortable. we loved the open plan kitchen dining and living room upstairs and it was always warm even with the window open. The wellbeing facilities were great, the small gym was clean and adequate, the pool warm and you can even swim to the sunset on a good day. The jacuzzi had very powerful jets, the steam room was working well but we are sauna people and were very let down by the sauna, 3 times I tried to use it and each time it was at a chilly 50 - 60 C when it should be at least 70 C and we reported it. The coals were so cool that I could just about touch them and water sat on the coals when you threw water rather than created steam - very disappointing. The Terrace restaurant had a nice atmosphere and great views and was well decorated, with an a la carte menu which isn't to everyone's taste (we would have preferred a more wholesome farmhouse type menu) we definitely will try the home delivery more basic menu next time, which there is, we've booked a Tregea VIP with some friends for the Autumn for a return visit. The walks are well worth doing to the local beach through an enchanting forest covered in spring flowers. We had excellent treatments by lovely people in the spa who rubbed away our stresses (hot stone massage and back massage sensational !) . The reception staff were super helpful, bubbly and approachable. Lovely welcome by Grace and the other brunette was always so nice (forgot the names sorry). We had an issue in the lodge Wi Fi which was resolved very quickly. Nearby Ilogan has a brilliant chippy 'Cousin Jacks' and a good sunday service at St Marys. Weather is really is changeable if you are prepared to drive 20 mins or so to the South coast, we had 22 c hot sunshine all day at St Michaels Mount so you can usually chase the sun spots locally. One more moment to mention the first I was swimming after 8 in evening had the pool to myself and watched the sunset it was a memorable moment and I felt like a king of the castle. We look forward to coming again and going to the farm hopefully next time.

Room Tip: This place offers something for everyone, whether you want to bring friends, children, pets or need easier access.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matts_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Matt,

Thank you for your lovely write up, glad you enjoyed Gwel an mor and are coming back and booked already, I agree I think we are much better then Centre Parcs! and you were in one of our smallest lodges, which as you know are lovely and very spacious and I think are excellent value for money.

Our restaurant serves a wide ranging menu, but there are so menu "farmhouse" style eateries around us that we did not feel that was what we should do, our restaurant is Bistro style with a mediterranean edge (our Chef was born in Spain) and the food is excellent.

I will pass on your lovely comments about our staff, they are all awesome at Gwel an Mor and want to help and please our guests all the time, I think its what puts us apart from so many other places, and I am very proud of them.

Sauna, we have checked this all over following your write up and on checking the temperatures we found it is normal at circa 70 degrees centigrade but we have also found occasional times where it is less than this, so we have changed the heater elements, so hopefully when you return it will be what you want!

Look forward to your return and we will try and get that fifth star from you next time!

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews