We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Gwel an Mor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwel an Mor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a VIP lodge with our children for the week. We loved the sea views from our balcony and being able relax in the hot tub when the kids were in bed! Our lodge was immaculate and stocked with every thing you could possibly need. The bottle of wine in the fridge on arrival was a lovely touch. We used the pool and gym during our stay, which were both great. We used the restaurant once, it was lovely but a bit expensive for a second visit. Best bit of our stay was without a doubt the experiences at feadon farm! Kids loved meeting the animals, as did we! Gary who runs the wildlife section is a real asset to the place. We would definitely book to come back again.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Helen,

Glad you "Loved It" and that you managed to escape the kids in the hot tub occasionally, the lodges are immaculate and it seems you used all the facilities we had to offer!

Don't forget we have our activity centre opening this July (soft play, rock climbing and cafe) golf course next Easter and fishing lake later this year, so theres always plenty yo do here.

Hope you book too come back soon.

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a modern lodge on a well kept small(ish)holiday park. It came with lots of mod cons including a hot tub!
Really peaceful with path down through wooded area to the fishing village of Portreath. Helpful staff. Lovely looking swimming pool (indoor), small gym and spa, though we didn't use them. Restaurant was cosy with lovely food (a bit pricey but good).
We stayed Fri-Mon and wished we could've stayed longer. We will definitely be going back.
One word of warning. If your going for a long weekend and hoping to participate in some of the activities on offer you might want to check they are actually on during the weekend.
P.S. Some cast members of the Poldark series stayed here!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Greg,

Pleased to hear you had such a lovely stay with us! and yes Poldark like it here to!

We do have lots to offer our guests but always recommend that you book these as much as possible before you arrive to avoid any disappointment.

Glad your definitely coming back!

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Shocked on arrival as greeted by scaffolding and diggers. Web site does mention the building works but didn't really prepare us for what we were greeted by. Residence villa lovely but you can see and hear on going building ( probably less affected if you stay in older lodges) Restaurant very nice. Hot tub cold until 2nd evening. Nice walk to beach. Wouldn't go again.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank ClaireMC987123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Claire,

Of course I am disappointed to read you review, which I thought was a little unfair, and I would point out and confirm that we do inform our guests that the Residence is an area under development. This is clearly shown on our web site, and on e-mails to guests that book these lodges.

The scaffold you refer to is not on our land but is close to our main entrance as there are some new homes being built there, this is nearly 1km from the Residence lodges, the scaffold should all be down for the Summer we are informed, but this only affects the view a few yards along the entrance road.

We have been building our Residence area for the last 5 years and in that time yours is only the 2nd write up that says it effected their break, we manage the works scrupulously and in general the work is some distance away from the lodges, but I accept if you choose to look behind you, you can sometimes see some of the works but the screening is 6' close board fencing and does screen the area very well.

Also all the work is all at the rear of the site, but all the lodges look out over in an un-interpreted view of the Atlantic and a beautiful valley, you can only see any works from your lodge if you really want to find them.

You will see from many of the other write ups on TA that the works had no effect on their enjoyment, and we are stopping most of the work over the Summer holidays this year.

You will appreciate we are creating something very special at Gwel an Mor, the fishing lake, and golf course are both nearly completed and will be amazing, our new activity Barn opens shortly and all of this work has been completed over the last few months during our quieter season, in that time we have had thousands of guests stay and literally only one or two issues in relation to the work.

Turning to your hot tub, as policy we always change the hot tub water between guests departing and arriving (many of our competitors do not do this), so there is sometimes a delay in the water getting to temperature, but this is rarely more than a few hours, and we do advise this to all our hot tub guests.

Thanks for taking the time to write, and I hope you will come back again and see the lakes and Golf course all completed later this year.

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

We had an enjoyable stay here at Gwel an Mor. A family of five, we stayed for a week in a spacious, luxurious VIP lodge (4) with hot tub, complete with everything a family will need and more. (It also has a statue of an owl above the balcony door, and I think it's the only lodge that has one. It's not really significant, but my children liked the fact that our lodge was unique from the rest!) Although it's located at the back of the resort, it still has an amazing view of the Atlantic Ocean through the balcony. And I loved that view every morning, sat outside on the balcony with a cup of coffee or just standing looking out through the glass doors... Heaven. However, the view at the back is not so great. It's basically a construction site where the golf course will be, but it didn't put me off in the slightest. Imagine how it would look when the golf course is finished! It will be superb!

The resort is just a short stroll away from the beach, and short drive away from other beautiful places, such as St Ives, Carbis Bay, St Michael's Mount, Lands End, The Lost Garden of Heligan, Eden Project etc. These were the places we went to see. And when we were not out and about exploring Cornwall, we made use of the resort's amenities, the pool, sauna and the gym. Note: you can use all these amenities at no extra charge, unlike the other resorts we've stayed in.

We ate at the restaurant on site twice. The food there was great and highly recommended. On the day the weather was really warm, we decided to have a BBQ, and a stand was provided, delivered to our lodge , again, with no additional charge. The resort is also next to a farm, and they have the friendliest and cutest goats on the planet!

It was our first time here and we had a wonderful stay. Thank you. It won't be the last. Definitely.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank LPS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Thank you for such a lovely write up, we are really pleased you had such a great time, the Owl you refer to is there to keep the seagulls at bay!

We are as you know very close to the Sea, and only a short walk to the beach so Seagulls love our guests and the food options they offer! The Owl Statues are to keep them away.

Glad to hear you loved our restaurant as well, the food is really good there, and our farm is a great feature that all our guests should visit, it completes some great environmental and conservation work.

The golf course will be completed later this year but the nearest holes and the fishing lake will be completed in June and will be landscaped and looking good by then.

Glad to hear you will be coming back and then you can see for yourself.

Thanks gain and come back soon.

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed her last year for a wedding and it was amazing! I could easily live here. My only suggestion would be for the restaurant to serve a fry up as we had to drive into town for one! ! The staff were friendly, the lodges were brilliant!
We ate at the restaurant and the food was fab!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Kim06078823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Kim,

What a lovely write up. You likes it so much you could live here.

Of course if you buy a Residence lodge you can! Our new activity barn (Rock Climbing, Soft Play, Activities and Cafe') open this summer and will offer breakfasts! so hopefully we will be perfect for you then.

Glad you liked the restaurant as well.

Come back soon!

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portreath
4.4 km away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,292 reviews
22.7 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
30 km away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
34.6 km away
Retallack Resort and Spa
Retallack Resort and Spa
#1 of 3 in St Columb Major
1,038 reviews
13.6 km away
The Valley
The Valley
#1 of 4 in Carnon Downs
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwel an Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwel an Mor

Address: Gwel an Mor Feadon Lane, Portreath TR16 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Portreath
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwel an Mor 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gwel an Mor is Cornish for "View of the Sea." We are a 5 Star luxury self catering holiday resort which sits high on hills above the Atlantic Ocean in Cornwall.Our grand Scandinavian style holiday lodges blend beautifully into landscaped gardens and the surrounding countryside. Truly inviting with a relaxed but luxury style, the two and three bedroom lodges have everything you may need – down to the hot tub on your private terrace and log burner in the living area. Alongside the traditional wooden lodges, we also offer the contemporary style of the Residence. Launched in 2012, these exclusive eco lodges provide the ultimate in high-end holiday accommodation, complete with underfloor heating, mood lighting, DVD and music players and WiFi. You'll even find a plasma TV in the bathroom. Our Clubhouse boasts a fully equipped gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna while outside there is a children’s play area, tennis courts and a putting and croquet lawn.For more grown-up indulgences, The Wellbeing Spa offers an extensive menu of pampering facial, body and cosmetic treatments designed to relax, revitalise and rejuvenate you using marine inspired products. With a great reputation amongst visitors and locals, the Terrace Restaurant at Gwel an Mor is an informal bistro style venue with a locally sourced, innovative menu. With an emphasis on using the best seasonal ingredients the Southwest has to offer, the Terrace even offers a take away service so you can indulge in the comfort of your lodge. One of the truly unique aspects to a stay with us is the chance to meet some of the local wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Gwel an Mor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwel An Mor 5 Star Holiday Hotel Portreath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing