We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Chrystal...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The owners of Town Tenement Farm, John & Melanie work hard to ensure that all the visitors to their cottages have comfortable and pleasant surroundings in which to relax. The Gatehouse is typical of that attention to detail and the garden appears to be the largest of the complex. It is densely planted which, in the height of summer can make the cottage a little dark inside, but it has a decked area which has sun for most of the day; if you're not out discovering the quiet, scenic walks around the village, or off playing on a nearby beach. One must, is a visit to Exmoor Zoo (just a 5 minute drive away), a charming little zoo, with animals you don't normally see but you will have excellent views of all the animals that are there.What's better after a day at the zoo than a 2 minute walk to the local pub or (if it's a Tuesday) pick up a takeaway meal from the Challacombe shop; we had pork in cider with mash & broccoli in front of the telly

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No mobile phone signal, comfy sofas
Liked least: Pillows
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
5 Oct 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive review, it was lovely to see you on your second visit. We are glad that you enjoyed the food in the local shop and pub - we are lucky to have them both so near. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizziesvi...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent two weeks at the Gatehouse in August, with 2 of our grandsons aged 6 and 4; it was an absolutely perfect holiday.
Booking the cottage was very straightforward and Melanie was very helpful. On arrival we were greeted very warmly by both Melanie and John. They talked us through the cottage and its' appliances and amenities and gave us tips on the surrounding area.
The cottage was delightful, very clean and had everything we needed. Outside was a garden with a bench table and there was also a bird table where we were able to watch all varieties of birds.
Perhaps the only slight downside was that the garden was advertised as 'enclosed', but in fact our Bearded Collie went straight through an opening and into the lane. In fairness, John had said that no other dog had done that, which didn't surprise me, as she's very bouncy and agile.
Each request we made whilst staying at the cottage, was fulfilled at the earliest opportunity and Melanie and John went out of their way to make our stay wonderful.
Within the grounds was a steep hill (Humphrey's hill), which led to a wooded area and a superb play area. The boys spent very many happy hours playing there. It even had a bench table underneath where we had an early morning breakfast and picnic lunches.
Outside, running beside the quiet lane, was the prettiest of streams, with a ford further along. To the boy's delight, there were fish swimming in the stream. We took them paddling on a few occasions, they tried to catch the fish with nets, but only managed a few Water Boatmen.
Across the ford and a little further up the lane, was a superb pub, the 'Black Venus', where the welcome was warm and the food, delicious.
Next to the pub was a village shop and post office which sold just about everything you could want.
The cottage was perfect - cosy, warm, spacious. The welcome, help and advice from Melanie and John, was outstanding. The surrounding area left you wanting nothing.
The thing we liked least - going home!!
The perfect holiday! Thank you both so much.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - the care we received from John and Melanie; the cottage; the surrounding area.
Liked least: Would have liked the garden to have been Maddie-proof, but the worst thing, by far, was going home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for such a comprehensive and lovely review! It was a pleasure to meet you and your family (and of course Maddie the escapee! ;-) )
Town Tenement is very well placed for a family holiday - we are glad that you enjoyed our play area and pic-nic seating. The stream nearby is an endless source of entertainment for many of our guests.

We very much look forward to seeing you all again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen T
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a fantastic week here. The cottage was excellent, beautifully decorated, equipped with everything we needed. Even when we forgot our dog bowls they provided them! The grounds we lovely and the location of the cottage within the village was great. A very short stroll to an excellent pub.
Melanie and John were very friendly and helpful with great knowledge of the local area.
Hope to go back when we can

Date of stay: June 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
1 Jul 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and kind comments.
We are lucky to have such a good pub, just a short walk away and we are glad that you enjoyed our grounds.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumsy2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“super holiday cottage”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Wonderful 3 day break in a fantastic location. Cottage has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Owners were really friendly and helpful. I would recommend to anyone who wants a home from home in beautiful surroundings.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotlessly clean cottage and friendly owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
16 Jun 2014
Thank you for your great review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found Gatehouse comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghopkins1...
Pill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cosy retreat in a hidden valley”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We only had two nights at the Gatehouse, which was a real shame as the tranquil feel of Challacombe had really started to work its magic by the morning we left, and I wanted to stay longer!
The Gatehouse is a cosy little place, well equipped with everything you'd need. The wood burner really made it for us, and I liked the generosity of offering free logs throughout our stay, not just the one little bag you get in most cottages.
The real draw here is Challacombe itself, a peaceful valley, filled with sounds of the river, bird song and even the occasional frog chorus from the pond! It really felt like we had got away from it all, but as the Gatehouse is part of an old farm (now all holiday cottages) it didn't feel too isolated. Melanie and John have really capitalised on the beauty of the surroundings, with a beautiful pond and even a little hillside walk. During our stay, snowdrops covered the hillside, and dozens of wild birds visited the feeders which hung outside our cottage. Idyllic!

Date of stay: February 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 Feb 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - you will have to stay longer next time! We like to encourage the wildlife - it is good to know our guests enjoy it all.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.