We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Kokuya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kokuya
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibukawa
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Three of us stay 2 days at Kokuya , we have a wanderful experience. The variety of type of Osen they have are excellent, we get to go to different types of Osen just within the hotel.the room open air bath are all install with jacuzzi.

All the staffs are friendly and helpful. They are also attentive. Most of the staff are able to speak English and try their best to meet your needs.

The staff even prepared some onigiri and snack for us to eat on the road after knowing we are leaving for Tokyo the 2nd day.

Room Tip: The hotel have a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kxye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2010

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Kokuya is right on the main street in the old part of Yadanaka, a historic onsen town. The Kokuya is a well-established family owned and run Hotel. (400 years from memory!)
Many of the rooms have their own private onsen, indoor or outdoor. Some westerners prefer to enjoy the onsen experience privately. We had an outdoor onsen attached to our room that was fed by hot water from the mountains. Amazing to soak there in the hot spring water and have snow flakes falling on your head!
Dinner and breakfast are included and are served in your own private dining area within the main dining room. The Hotel provides you with yakata and wash bag and many guests walk around the old town, dressed in the traditional way, enjoying each of the 6 or so public onsen on offer. (The Hotel will give you a key - entry is free for Hotel guests) We preferred our own onsen, but enjoyed walking around town. The staff are friendly and helpful and there is usually someone who speaks English to be found. It is expensive, but well worth the money - a rare and unique experience and delicious and plentiful food - a banquet every night! Most people wore yakata to dinner and breakfast. You can nominate the foods you enjoy and dislike and ask for a western breakfast.
If rates are too steep, you can take a room without private onsen and use the public ones at the Hotel or in the town, a much cheaper option. The Hotel had lots of public baths/onsen, indoor and outdoor. (about 7 or 8 from memory) They also offer a private or family bath (2 from memory) which can be reserved for your own private use or with your partner. The Kokuya has a great website in English, with pictures of the onsens and rooms.
Internet access at 100 yen for 10 minutes was handy as well.
It was only a 10 minute trip to the famous Monkey Park as well - the snow monkeys relaxing in the warm spring water are something to behold - gorgeous!
Yadanaka is a scenic 50 minutes on a local train from Nagano - we used our JR Pass to Nagano and then paid about 1250 yen each for the local train. (each way) The scenery in the area is breathtaking and great for hikers, skiers and photographers.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evansbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sakitabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 一番人気は野のしずく
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fufufumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
9  Thank 坂本雄ちゃん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibukawa hotels
Ikaho Onsen
Fukuichi
Fukuichi
#4 of 53 in Shibukawa
89 reviews
Ikaho Onsen
Yorokobinoyado Shinki
Yorokobinoyado Shinki
#28 of 53 in Shibukawa
25 reviews
Ikaho Onsen
Pinon
Pinon
#1 of 53 in Shibukawa
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikaho Onsen
Nagomigokoronoyado Omori
Nagomigokoronoyado Omori
#7 of 53 in Shibukawa
52 reviews
Ikaho Onsen
Yuzan no Sato Todoroki
Yuzan no Sato Todoroki
#34 of 53 in Shibukawa
32 reviews
Ikaho Onsen
Seikanso
Seikanso
#27 of 53 in Shibukawa
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokuya

Address: 52 Ikaho, Ikahomachi, Shibukawa 377-0102, Gunma Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Gunma Prefecture > Shibukawa > Ikaho Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibukawa
Price Range: RM617 - RM1,922 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan) so you can book your Kokuya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing