We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gokasanso
Nearby Hotels
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Yoshinoya(Nanto)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Omaki Spa(Nanto)
US$319
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Kitaharaso(Nanto)(Great Value!)
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Shofuen(Nanto)
Ryokan 
Touzansou(Nanto)
Ryokan 
Ryokan 
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Akaokan(Nanto)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
9
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
13
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2016

The location of this ryakon is fantastic it is in between Ainokura and Shirakawago. I stayed for two nights at this ryakon. I had breakfast and dinner at Gokasanso the food was excellent. I would say that the dinner was substantial it was a lot of food (even too much for me) but it tasted very well! It was a mix of food from the sea and river but also meat and vegetables. I had a large room with TV and free internet. The internet service worked very well. A fridge was available for cold drinks if you have not brought them with you a wending machine had both beer and soft drinks on the first floor. The spa was excellent with indoor pool, outdoor pool and a sauna. Staff were friendly and service minded. If you travel by car to see Ainokura and Shirakawago I do recommend to stay over night here.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jan-OlofO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

When I arrived, it was snowing heavily. I was amazed how the snow stays white. It was wet snow and large in diameter and heavy in weight. The local people run the snow removing small truck, not like a heavy-duty snow truck we see here in U.S. The wee tiny snow truck has a rotating wheel at front and blows snow away from the road. They also use water to melt the snow. If you look carefully, you see the streaks of water springing in the middle of the road, melting away the snow. It is beautiful and neat to see the snow accumulated higher than my height and stays white from top to the bottom.
Wherever we went, we were the only tourists in Gokayama. We felt that they opened up just for us. After visiting Inami, famous for wood carving panel as a part of Japanese architecture, hand-made Japanese paper facility, and of course Unesco World Heritage site, I headed for the hotel, which is located by Sho River. It is large and very welcoming. We were a part of 10 guests total. They accepted my request of no fish dishes and many helping of toasts with smiles and great hospitality. The bath there is beyond my expression. The hotel has natural hot springs and three baths. I particularly enjoyed an outside one. The snow was falling on my head and face while my entire body was relaxed in the warm water and the local people were scraping the snow off the roof. I felt guilty sitting in the water but I must say that’s the ultimate relaxation. My room was a western style. The bed is comfortable and a fairly large room. It is bright and tastefully decorated. The hotel offers free shuttle service from the hotel to Takaoka JR Sta. It is 30 minutes ride. On the way to the station, the driver stopped by the local store and treated us to the local donut with red bean paste in the middle. Although we were not hungry, it tasted good. I think that the donut represents the people here, humble, sweet, and honest.
I had an option to stay at one of the Minshuku (like a Japanese bed and breakfast place). If you want to stay there, you need a heavy gauge socks to keep your feet warm. It was my first time to visit Gokayama. I was glad that I stayed at Gokasanso hotel. Since it also has a ski area near by, it is worth coming again to stay for skiing in winter and fishing in summer with my family for a while.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keiko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews