We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$170
Vio.com
eDreamsUS$170
Etrip
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
100
8
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
100
8
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yoga shala pura vida lovely pool arrange tours beautiful property a great stay felice birds jungle claire creek trees accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Our week in Costa Rica could not have been any better thanks to the wonderful owners of Hotel El Mono Feliz. Patrick and Todd always went the extra mile to see to our comfort and enjoyment of their adopted country. From arrival to departure every detail was attended with care. They even arranged for beautiful weather!
Highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2018
3  Thank lucycokerwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Patrick G, Propietario at Hotel El Mono Feliz, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hi, Lucy! Thank you SO much for such wonderful, kind words!

We so enjoyed having you here for the week. You're a delightful person... and you project light and goodness... and we're so glad to have met you.

Thanks for taking the time to write this review - we so appreciate it!

But MOSTLY - we're just thrilled you enjoyed yourselves here.

Pura Vida... all our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

If you are looking for an hotel in the Ojochal area this has to be about the best. The hosts Patrick & Todd are welcoming and very helpful, the hotel is spotless, very well equipped and everything is to the highest standard and great value. It is within easy reach of the highway & beaches but in a quiet secluded setting. There are great choice of places to eat nearby & a couple of supermarkets to buy essentials. It is lovely watching the birds at breakfast times. All in all a 5 star hotel and 5 star owners, thankyou guys. A place to return to.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfkerr58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Patrick G, Propietario at Hotel El Mono Feliz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hi! Thank you so much! We enjoyed having you here...and we are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves so much!

Thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review... we both hope the rest of your time in Costa Rica is exceptional!!

We hope to see you both again, soon!

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Our group of 4 stayed with Patrick and Todd for the end of our trip to Costa Rica. Best decision of our trip, from check in to check out we got a tailored experience that I would expect from a 5 star resort. Lovely little hotel in lush, tranquil surroundings combined with hosts that go above and beyond to ensure you have a great stay at a really reasonable price. The only downside being that these guys need to open up their own dinner resteraunt because their breakfast is so great and above the standard of anything else we've had in costa Rica/rest of Central America. Thank you very much for the stay.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 64DavidL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Patrick G, Propietario at Hotel El Mono Feliz, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Wow, David! Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are most happy and grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you here! You guys were a treat... each with such fantastic positive energy. We loved seeing you enjoy Corcovado and the pool and gardens... and the TOUCAN in our tree... and the other things in the area... absolutely wonderful.

And we’re glad you enjoyed the breakfast, too! We enjoyed serving you.

We hope to see you guys again, soon!

PURA VIDA!!

Patrick y Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Hotel El Mono Feliz is a beautiful establishment ably run by the owners, Patrick and Todd. They are quick to assist with anything you need and are remarkably knowledgeable about the flora, fauna, local gourmet restaurant options and any adventure you have your heart set on. The rooms are clean and the beds are quite comfortable. The food is mindfully prepared and quite delicious. I loved the walk down the path to the yoga shala and river. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank knisesooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Patrick G, Propietario at Hotel El Mono Feliz, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

We are so appreciative of your enthusiastic and wonderful review! And we're so glad you enjoyed your stay here... we certainly enjoyed having you! Your wonderful utilization of the Yoga Shala / Relaxation Pavilion was great to see.

Thanks so much for the kind comments. We enjoy helping our guests learn what they should know so they can make great decisions on how to spend their time here - at the great adventure destinations, the restaurants, and the natural local beauty.

Thanks again - we hope to see you again, soon!

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

This is a hotel not like any other.... The level of attention to detail and customer service goes above and beyond 5 stars at every level from the inquiry and reservation to the welcome at the gate, through every hour of your visit all the way to the fond farewell at the gate. Owners Patrick and Todd have created a place for both adventure and tranquility. My husband and I spent a the week of my March birthday in a bungalow facing the jungle that was a delightful balance of rustic and comfortable. High end mattresses and linens, a high ceiling and the option to use air conditioning or a ceiling fan (or both), provide rest at the end of a long day. The kitchenette with small fridge were welcome but barely used because (as you will find) Ojochal is the "foodie capital" of Costa Rica.

We were with a group for a combination of yoga practice and adventure. While most of the others were off zip lining, horseback riding, rafting and exploring, I chose to sit by the pool, read and meditate and that was just fine. This is a place for adventure and tranquility in whatever combination you seek them. Patrick and Todd provide breakfast each morning, including hot and cold options prepared to order. They will help with adventure and dinner recommendations, reservations and directions as well as car rental and van transport from the airport. In my case they even helped my stateside daughters send me a special birthday gift and wishes.

I dare not conclude without mentioning the attention of their full-time gardener, Edwin, and intern, Erica. Always available for information and assistance, they are the secret sauce that flavors Hotel El Mono Feliz. Edwin knows every plant on site, having himself planted over 250 of them, we were told. Erica brings years of world travel experience and youthful energy to her job.

After a week in the jungle, returning to the airport in San Jose was jarring. I hadn't realized until that point just how relaxed I had become. I've been to paradise, and now I've been to me.

Room tip: You have more privacy in a bungalow but I would not hesitate to stay in any room available.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank grandMyinJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Patrick G, Propietario at Hotel El Mono Feliz, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Oh my gosh! We are so humbled by your amazing and wonderful and thoughtful review! Wow! So happy!

Most of all, we are glad you enjoyed your time here at the hotel! Our first-ever yoga retreat was a wonderful experience for us, and we are so glad to read that it was wonderful for you, too!

We can definitely relate to the difference you feel when getting back to "the real world" after being here. It's really quite different.

We're thankful you were able to relax and unwind... and enjoy the sights and sounds of nature here at the hotel.

On behalf of Todd, and Edwin, and Erica, and everyone here - thanks so much for being here, and thanks for taking the time to write such an amazing review.

With much appreciation
Namaste
Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews