We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
295
20
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
20
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool costa rica chef pablo the general manager sushi chef living room wonderful staff sushi night view of the ocean local restaurants pura vida rooms are beautiful dinner menu our entire stay little piece of heaven main building enjoy the view
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

We stayed at El Castillo from 2/10-2/17. This was our 2nd visit and it did not disappoint. The hotel is small and beautiful, the view of the ocean is something that pictures and even the most detailed description would never do it justice. Just go there and you will know what I am talking about. Even as amazing as the hotel and view are, the best part of El Castillo is the staff. When you are there, you feel like you are the most important guest that they have ever had. They are there to make you happy, and you can tell that they truly enjoy what they do.
Gerson, Carlos, Gerald, Kaylor, Pablo, Sergio, as well as any others that I missed are the absolute best. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobolicm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and what an excellent choice we made with El Castillo. I know travelers are researching many hotels before making this big decision, but please know, El Castillo will not disappoint and you will be in excellent hands. Upon walking in, you instantly see the incredible view of the ocean, just beyond the infinity pool, which is conveniently your view for breakfast and could be for dinner as well. It never gets old - we took pictures of the sunsets every single night because you just HAD to.
The staff was incredible - so helpful, attentive, FRIENDLY, patient. Scott answered many of my questions for months in advance of our trip, giving me advice and information freely. The attention to detail didn't go unnoticed and after reading reviews of other hotels, this is not the norm.
We felt very fortunate to be in Ojochal, where fantastic restaurants were plentiful, as well as gorgeous rainforests, wildlife and serene beauty.
Lastly, we chose to the do the hotel's excursion to Garza Island, where we spent 4 hours on a private island, on hammocks drinking coconut cocktails, with just one staff member and ourselves. That lunch/meal was so memorable and delicious - authentic Costa Rican food and beauty of the rustic island was indescribable.
El Castillo is in our hearts and we intend to get back to Costa Rica very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmessina2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We loved our stay at El Castillo.
The hotel and furnishings are 1st class and the view was breathtaking.
We booked El Castillo fairly last minute after checking out early from another terrible hotel that had 5 starts! This was the last few days of our 3 week trip to Costa Rica nd we areas glad that we found this gem!
We will certainly return if we ever return to CR....best in a long time.
We cannot praise you guys enough - EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: As far as we could tell, all 7 rooms were sew facing?
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 46john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

After a living hell at another hotel we last minute booked with El Castillo Hotel. I am so happy we were able to end our last few days in Costa Rica here. Beds were so comfortable and suites were extremely clean. The staff is phenomenal, extremely accommodating and all around great.
The kitchen is amazing as well! We had breakfasts every day and did the Chef's surprise for dinner one night! I wish we had done it more but it was a phenomenal last meal before we left Costa Rica. View was great, pool is huge. All around great!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mariah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

A stunning boutique hotel offering breathtaking views of the Pacific from the deck, pool and restaurant. You can relax at the infinity pool with a drink and a good book for literally hours or just stare at the incredible vista of a beautiful Costa Rica coastline. The service and food is outstanding with everyone there eager to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one. Romantic spot for couples. Truly lovely!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Macmillanbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews