We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“'Design'ed relaxation in tropical oasis - you'll...”
other travellers have booked this property
Awarded Certificate of Excellence, we pride ourselves in offering a unique & special experience
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Awarded Certificate of Excellence, we pride ourselves in offering a unique & special experience
Pura Vida Ecolodge - A Retreat, A Lifestyle, An Experience
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Awarded Certificate of Excellence, we pride ourselves in offering a unique & special experience
Pura Vida Ecolodge - A Retreat, A Lifestyle, An Experience
It took a long time for this dream to become a reality, but we're so very glad it did!
Plenty of comfy sun loungers, chairs and cushions to relax on and make yourself at home!
*New outdoor shower area by plunge pool, overlooking jungle canopy & bamboo gardens
The view of the villa as you arrive from the road with Pura Vida Ecolodge Reserve in the background
Front deck and balcony to the jungle villa - offering impressive panoramic and ocean views
The open-plan stylish living space on the first floor with wrap around teak decks.
Open-plan kitchen (with NEW teak benches, pictured in next photo) comfy living area with sea views
Fully equipped open-plan kitchen and dining area with new handmade teak benches for up to 6 people
We've recently added a yoga exercise deck hanging over the reserve at the end of the stepping stones
Spacious deck perfect for sunbathing, yoga or admiring the nature reserve, animals and sea views
Our infinity plunge pool,  plenty big enough for escaping the tropical heat! Sea and jungle views!
Our Location with 2 routes upto lodge from the Costanera (Coronado and Puntalmala, near Ojochal.)
The front of the jungle villa with its impressive bamboo palapa roof.
Wrap-around teak decking offering impressive sea, mountain and jungle canopy views
*NEW outdoor shower by the plunge pool, perfect for cooling off after the beach!
Welcome to Pura Vida Ecolodge - your retreat, your lifestyle, your experience!
The new stepping-stones path from the lodge down to the yoga deck and body-weights gym
NEW yoga exercise deck complete with rustic dining/chill-out area. Offers valley and ocean views
NEW yoga deck hanging over the edge of the plantel offering stunning valley, ocean sunset views
NEW Rustic seating and cocktail area in front of the lodge overlooking the valley  and Pacific ocean
Walking back up to the jungle villa from one of the reserves nature trails
Contemporary  spacious master bedroom offers ocean views, sun-deck delightful en-suite bathroom
Wake up to panormacic ocean/valley views out of the bedroom window in the Ocean view Suite upstairs
En-suite bathroom with walk-in powerful rain shower (solar powered heated water 24/7)
Handcrafted teak and bamboo sliding doors so you can have the villa as open or as closed as you wish
Jungle-view Suite has its own private deck overlooking the jungle canopy with all its nature
Downstairs Jungle Suite, offering guests great jungle views, ensuite bathroom and private deck area
Spacious en-suite bathroom with walk-in rain shower overlooking jungle (with heated water 24/7),
Wake up with the howler monkeys as the villa hangs dramatically over the jungle canopy
As you come up the stairs to the 1st floor you enter wrap-around teak decks with panoramic sea view
The toucans especially love these tress that you can literally reach out and grab from the deck
Fun trek along 1 of the nature trails brings you to freshwater plunge pool and waterfall for swim
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
patrickAt...
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'Design'ed relaxation in tropical oasis - you'll love the sliding doors.”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Exactly as pictured and described. Great place. Super layout, design and construction. I've stayed at dozens of places in Costa Rica and this is one of my favorites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design
Liked least: Bed cushion
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and amazing place!”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My boyfriend, me and a couple of friends stayed at PuraVuda and really loved our stay. We wish that we could have stayed longer, Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The view was outstanding. Very clean place. Would definitely recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was amazing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked very much the contact with nature and being away from the fast paced life of the city! The lodge was wonderful!
Liked least: The road to the lodge was not very comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
shraf
ontario
1 review
“tasteful mountain retreat”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I live in Costa Rica and my parents were coming out to visit for the first time so I wanted to put us up in a nice spot for lots of relaxing away from the crowds but with access to lots of fun stuff. The Pacific South region really is a great spot and we were all very happy with the activities in the area. Diving / snorkelling / turtle spotting at Isla el Cano, night walking near Dominical, visiting local fish farms, and kayaking in the huge mangroves of the region. We also spent a few days just lazing at the house reading, playing cards, etc.

The house itself was perfect for our needs. It is minimalistic in the best way - it has everything you need and nothing you don't. For me the decor and fittings were excellent. The beds were very comfortable. Tucans visited daily and there are all sorts of other critters around to look for. The view to the ocean is great. The pool is a perfect plunge pool for cooling off on those hot afternoons. Overall we were completely happy with the property and the service provided by Joe.

The drive up is a bit of an adventure but completely doable. We didn't need to turn on the 4x4 capability of the truck. It's worth it to get away from the highway full of tourists, especially during the busy easter season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: unique building
Liked least: ?????
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliona S
Kentfield, California
2 reviews
“Artsy retreat”
Reviewed 8 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Pura Vida Ecolodge is an artsy retreat set among the rainforest with breathtaking panoramic views. My husband and I was staying in this hilltop hideaway with our two friends. We appreciated our hosts’ hospitality – excellent communication, welcome fruit basket, easy check-in and check-out. We woke up early in a morning, enjoyed a cup of coffee on a deck with background music of the jungle, practiced yoga, cooked healthy meals every day, plunged in the pool, read books, napped on a very comfortable couch, hiked the hills, and watched sunsets with a glass of wine. The location is perfect – it is right in the heart of the jungle, surrounded by birds, butterflies, howler monkeys with a short drive to beautiful secluded beaches. I highly recommend Pure Vida Ecolodge to anyone who wants to experience serenity, sanctuary, adventures, and appreciate clean sustainable design and eco-luxury.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing