We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cleaning need addressing.”
Fox Den Luxury Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fox Den Luxury Lodge
The Lodges Large 4 person outdoor luxury hot tub, with great views and sunsets
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Fox Den Luxury Lodge
The Lodges
Large 4 person outdoor luxury hot tub, with great views and sunsets
Spacious, airy open plan living, dining & kitchen
Relaxing breakfast with great views
Snuggle up in front of the fire!
King Size, chunky wooden beds, sleep easy!
Fields End Lodges
Tea time
Dinner time!
Large trendy wet room
High spec wet room
The Fields End Lodges
Double or twin in the second bedroom
Large luxury hot tub, sip champagne and watch the sunset
Typical local summer view
Views of the main lake in different seasons
Views of the main lake in different seasons
Views of the main lake in different seasons
Views of the main lake in different seasons
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
March, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NigelandR...
Peterborough UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cleaning need addressing.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Booked Bank holiday Monday until the Friday and our partners joined us most evenings with living locally we had to pay for them to visit with the one dog and was happy to pay although they insisted we pay for the dog for all five days instead of the three evenings when he was visiting for a few hours.

Cleanliness really does need addressing, on reception we was advised not to store any fishing equipment inside the lodge because of the smell etc and was happy to abide by this however the lady said you will see the high standard of the lodge when you enter ?? We'll I'm sorry to say but the fridge freezer doesn't look like it's been cleaned for weeks and is dirty inside and out so much so you could write your name in the dirt.

Bought fishing tickets for the whole week and they insist on checking your tickets everyday if only has much attention was paid to cleaning ??

The windowsills in the bedrooms and bathrooms could also do with a clean.

The lodge is lovely and quiet with great views and fishing and the added sercuirty of barriers in the car park entrance.

We also noticed in the comments book that all visitors before us received complementary Wine and Brownies I guess they forgot to give us the brownies :-)

The Hot tub is great but worth noting your not allowed to use it after ten o clock.

The accommodation is great for peace and quiet and getting away from the day to day of busy life.

Would visit stay again but would hope they address the cleaning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
I am sorry that you found the fridge not clean enough, it is cleaned every changeover, and we will definitely, be more vigilant from now on, our lodges have been open just over a year now and this is our first negative report about the cleanliness, we will double check everything.
Brownies & wine were a bonus treat for guests who came in our first summer season, we now just give a free bottle of wine in the summer season on arrival as a thank you.
We do ask people not to use the hot tub after 10pm, for the reason of noise, and disturbing other guests, who may be settling down, as you have mentioned how peaceful and quiet it is around here.
Apart from that we are pleased you have enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W
Milton keynes
1 review
“Badger Set Lodge - Beautiful and relaxing break”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We just arrived home from a lovely 3 night stay in Badger set lodge. It was very cosy and warm inside, the hot tub was bliss to relax in after a nice dog walk or just to chill out in the evenings. Our dogs loved the nice walks near by, they settled in. We had the log burner on the last night it was very romantic and gave off nice warm heat. The only downside was the Wifi, it doesn't work in the lodges so we had to sit out on the decking area to get signal which wasn't very nice in the cold and wind, but it didn't bother us to much. Would be better if they had a wifi extender in the lodges. We will defo be back in the near future. Was a excellent stay.
Lou, Rob, Bailey and Heidi

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you for your excellent review.
We are sorry about the wi-fi, unfortunately the lodges are very well insulated with a silver lining that does effect the wi-fi reception, we also only have a few meg of broadband, as we are out in the sticks. We are working on improving it, and as far as I can gather so far, it isn't quite as easy as just adding a signal booster.
Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice Lodge”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Booked a weekend away in the countryside to escape the stresses of London.

Very easy to find the location and took under 2 hours from London. Lodge was very nice - modern with hot tub which is a nice addition.

Whilst it is self catering you do literally have to buy all the basics such as cooking oil, butter tea bags etc. Kitchen appliances were all there but might have been nice to have just those basics for the price paid. There is a shop on site though if you get desperate.

Hot tub was obviously very nice especially in the winter but think there was a bit too much chlorine in there as my partner got a rash on her skin (never had problems before). We were told you're not overlooked by the lodges which is true but the owners house is about 100 yards away and a bit imposing.

Peterborough is about a half an hour drive away and has a nice little shopping mall - the cinema though which is just outside of town was a bit suspect though.

As for Doddington which is the closest village don't go to the George Inn Pub, very dark and grotty. The wine tasted like it had been on the shelf for 4 months and was being offered some either stolen/fake merchandise by a local punter whilst trying to watch the football.

All in all though a pleasant stay and would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad you had a great time, sorry about the local in the pub, can't vouch for that.
We do supply a few tea bags, coffee and sugar sachets, salt and pepper, washing up liquid, 2 dishwasher tablets, bin liners, and 2 toilet rolls, but butter and cooking oil, we don't supply sorry.
We do monitor the chemical levels every day, and maintain them as best we can, I am sorry if the rash was caused by the chlorine, but we haven't had that from anyone else.
Thanks for recommending Peterborough, it is another nice city, with lots to offer.
The owners house is 50 meters away, but the blinds are always drawn of the windows that look in the direction of the lodges, for privacy for both parties.
We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanas86
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This place is fabulous! Clean, luxury and 5 star all the way! Stayed here for 4 nights and from the moment we arrived we we're relax! The lodge has everything you need and more! The team are very friendly and welcoming ( even left us a bottle of red wine and homemade chocolate brownies) the hot tube was beautiful and perfect for after a day walking and sight seeing. The location was very peaceful and not to far from the local village! We can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hot tube and peaceful
Liked least: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2013
We can't wait to have you back. Thanks for taking the time to review our lodge. See you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plumrose1...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfect relaxing break”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have just come back from a great 4 night stay in Fox Den. The cabin is warm and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and I slept really well. It is a great area for walks and we didn't use the car once while we were there. They sell milk and bread at reception and Doddington is not very far and has a few shops. We brought food with us and cooked. The kitchen has a good basic level of equipment. The hot tub was lovely and relaxing after the long walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: I have nothing negative to say
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review, it is much appreciated when people take the time to leave reviews, (especially excellent ones). Hopefully see you again soon. Kind regards the Fields End Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$87
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing