We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
26
80
39
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
80
39
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2017

1 night stayed for triple beds, the room is not spacious but quite enough, located at the 10th floor. We arrived in the afternoon and due to limited time to go Zao Onsen, we asked advice fr the receptionist. Only 1 woman can speak and write English quite well, but the others also tried by giving the informative brochures: bus and Zao Onsen map. They were really helpful and found us a taxi to ride to public onsen. Suggest, further prefer to rent a car than ride an expensive tariff local taxi. We booked our hotel room w/o breakfast via Agoda. Right corner from the receptionist, sells kind of cakes, we missed to taste it. In the next morning, walk to Yamagata station and buy ticket trip to Zao Onsen to see Snow Monsters [round trip include bus, ropeway at Y4,000] Overall, this is mid-range hotel with strategic location nearby station as our option.

Room Tip: room on the level 10 and the most right corner from elevator is quieter
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
山形国際ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamagata Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you for staying at YAMAGATA KOKUSAI HOTEL this time.

Zao is a tourist attraction representative of Yamagata, a tourist spot active in accepting foreign customers.

Many foreign visitors are coming to Yamagata City this year, but in terms of accepting foreign customers, there are many immature points ....
We would like to learn a lot from our customers by connecting with many foreign customers, and we would like to improve future service.

There is a more careless point, but wants to have a visitor for a heart of "OMOTENASI".

If you have any an opportunity, come to Yamagata again!
Thank you. !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

The hotel was typical in terms of room size for Japanese standards. I did feel the lobby area was a bit rundown and carpets rather dirty. You can't call yourself 4 star standard if it's not that inviting. I just wrote a review about another hotel in Japan and I was disappointed in the lobby as well but in comparison, I probably should not have written that the lobby was that bad for the hotel in Nagano.

Kokusai wasn't too far from the station, but if you have a lot of luggage it's just far enough for it to be troublesome.

The big plus is that the value of the hotel (price etc) was excellent. The breakfast was also a nice addition and it was plentiful... thus increasing the score for this property.

I wouldn't call this location a 4 star property, but overall it is a simple place to stay for a great price.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bchen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
山形国際ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamagata Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

This time thank you for using Yamagata Kokusai Hotel.

I thank for the precious opinion of a visitor using many hotels. I think that one of the reasons that lowered the evaluation of the visitor has the hurt of the carpet of the lobby by the aged deterioration. Carpet in itself performs periodical maintenance, but improves it because it is the lobby which can be called the face of the hotel to be able to invite a visitor to the beautiful carpet.

About positive factor such as a rate and the breakfast which had you evaluate it from a visitor, a visitor maintains an affordable price, and an overseas visitor is devoted to "relief, niceness" at the hotel which it is easy to use.

Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Travelers: Family of 4 (3 year old and 3 month old)
Room Selected: Room 1032 - Triple Room (3 Twin Beds)

Check-in:
For this trip, we drove our car and parking at the hotel was no problem. The staff at the reception counter processed our information and had us on our way to our room in less than 10 minutes. For those that may be visiting Zao Resort for the "Snow Monsters". It was about a 30 minute drive.

Room:
Our room was very clean and spacious, by Japan hotel standards. As mentioned above, the room contained three, comfortable twin beds for our family. One minor complaint was that the room HVAC is only set to heat, so we were not able to adjust the temperature. After we unpacked, there was still enough room for our portable baby crib.

Location:
The hotel's location is very convenient for access to Yamagata station, the bus terminal, and several restaurants. There are also convenience stores located nearby.

Hotel Food:
We booked our room rate with the included breakfast from the 1F restaurant. The breakfast buffet included fresh juice, yogurt, a fresh fruit bar, breads, cereal, a pre-made omelet or fried egg station, an Asian breakfast bar, and more.

Overall:
The Yamagata Kokusai Hotel was a solid choice for our family and also a good value. I would recommend it to other travelers visiting Yamagata for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Itzsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
山形国際ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamagata Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

This time thank you for having you use Yamagata Kokusai Hotel.

If coniferous Abies mariesii to grow in the subalpine zone is snowy, the "Snow Monsters" of Zao is covered to ice and can do it.

Because it becomes the repetition of the arrival at coat of
ice → snow → sintering
from December before the big Snow Monsters is completed, and February is in the first in full bloom, it is come to Zao the visitor of a large number of foreign countries at this time.

The distance called 30 minutes is attractive one by car from the Yamagata city to Zao.

If a visitor was able to look at the rime on trees safely, I am happy.

Because the use of the foreign visitor suddenly increases, including a meal and facilities, I want to fix the environment that a visitor uses comfortably.

I wait for the next visit of the visitor. Thank you for a contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

About 3 minutes walk from Yamagata station, very near.
It was clean in the room, I loved it.
There are many restaurants and izakaya bars around this hotel.
Though I didn't have breakfast in the hotel, I could buy something at a convenience store around here.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 2sophia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
山形国際ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamagata Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

This time thank you for having you use it.
A visitor uses a hotel comfortably, and we hotel staff is glad, too.

Because it is the point that our hotel lays emphasis on about "the cleanliness" that had you praise it from a visitor, I am glad of what you were able to be pleased with from a visitor. I try the words of the visitor hard from now on to work hard.

Because there are a bar and a convenience store, a drugstore within the range of foot, we do not have to worry to come to have a problem with eating and drinking and slight shopping. It is the location requirements that the foreign visitor is easy to use.

Thank you for this contribution.
I wait for the next use of the visitor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We spent two nights here, using it as a base to go to Yamadera. It's about a 5-10 minute walk from the station. The road from the station has quite a few dining options and a number of convenience stores.
We asked for a member of staff at the front desk for a recommendation for a sake bar. Rather than give us a specific bar he told us the area - when we went there we couldn't tell what was an ordinary bar and which was a girlie bar, so gave the bars there a miss.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IThkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
山形国際ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamagata Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

This time thank you for using our hotel.

Downtown is to the distance of a 5-minute walk from our hotel.
There is the bar which the woman that a visitor is hoped for gives free in the downtown, but it is difficult to judge it from the appearance.

When the staff whom a visitor asked a question was asked about the standard bar, I misunderstood it and seemed to introduce the area where a bar concentrated on.

I am sorry not to be able to meet a question exactly.

I want to study the English conversation in future to meet the question of the visitor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews