We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
25
19
5
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
19
5
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Spent a night in Hakkei with my daughter. It's a very beautiful place with nature. We were welcome by the warm smile of the staff. We also had a splendid dinner and breakfast. The room was neat and cozy.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank cathylhe5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yu S, フロントオフィス 。 ワシーム at Hakkei, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you for your stay at Hakkei. Beautiful and natural environment with greenery all around. Thank for your appreciation. We like to host you again. Best wishes to you and family.
Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Our family of five just spent a wonderful night at Hakkei on 29 Mar 18. We went all the way up from Okayama to Maniwa just because we want to see the cherry blossom of 醍醐樱 and we are glad that we picked Hakkei to stay. The onsen is great and the food is also delicately prepared. We are also deeply impressed by the hospitality by the owner herself and all the staff working there. The owner and also some of her staff speak very good English (Waseem for sure) which is not common at all in such a rural area in Japan. We will surely recommend this place to our friends~

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Secret Garden F... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usagi1963, Foreign Office - Waseem at Hakkei, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for the kind words for Hakkei. This time Cherry Blossom just began in Okayama, also from 1st April we started Daigo Sakura Bus. Onsen in a relaxing natural hot spring with Hakkei best food makes your family happy. Hakkei`s all staff is very happy with owner (Okami san) for your appreciation and good words for Hakkei. From all Hakkei staff, best wishes to you and to all family.
We feel honor to host you again and your friends too.
Yes feel free to ask any information in English too, as English speaking staff is also available to give you service in English.
Everyone welcome to make their holidays memorable at Hakkei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

It was a family holiday and my wife found Hakkei through Mr.Chua Lam’s book. As what was mentioned in the book, the quality of the stay, the dinner, the breakfast and the onsen were exceptional. It was very healing and I don’t think you will get tired with Chef Masahara food even if you stay here for a week. He can even prepare vegan full course meal if you request when you book the room. You can sense the passion of the owner Uwashio san. Very well run ryokan which certainly deserves five stars.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank taisengyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usagi1963, Foreign Office - Waseem at Hakkei, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Taisengyee san,
Thank you for staying at Hakkei. Hakkei`s specialty is good food and relaxing hot spring. Providing good quality food and hospitality, with friendly environment is very important. Many guests search for better place to relax, with that you will have good food is plus. In a year i found guests staying consecutive nights at Hakkei. Chef Masahara can prepare different variety of food as per season, so you will taste different variety every next day. And dedication of the landlady (Okami san) to serve best.
Kindly come again, it was nice talking and learning about good food in Japan, prepared at Hakkei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Super friendly, polite and helpful staff. Amazing indoor, outdoor and rooftop onsens. Room is big and the river view is stunning. The hotel offers a pick-up at the Yubara-onsen bus stop. Food is delicious. There is a karaoke room with affordable price.

Room Tip: choose the ones with river view, its stunning; there are some rooms with bed too :)
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Za M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usagi1963, Foreign Office / Front Business at Hakkei, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Za M san thank you for the appreciation. As Hakkei food and onsen is popular. So mostly our guests love to eat good food and relax in onsen. We we offer pick & drop. Everyone welcome to spend vacations at Hakkei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Four of us are staying at Hakkei for one night of our year end trip in Tottori and Okayama. We are impressed by Uwashio san’s sincerity and passion to the guests. She brought us seeing the snowy mountain and having yummy ice-cream and strawberries from local. Highly recommend this lovely hotel if you visit Maniwa.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank WongMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usagi1963, フロントオフィス 。外国人担当 at Hakkei, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear WongMac san,

Thank you for your kindness and staying at Hakkei. Okayama is full with natural beauty. Yes all are welcome to visit Maniwa and stay with us.

Hakkei - Waseem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews