We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful check in and extra charges, plus no safe beach access ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AJ Resort Island Ikeijima
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels / Ryokan in Uruma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

I booked on Hotels.com for 2 nights and put 2 adults and 2 kids (age 6 and 8). They said AT check in that I had to pay an additional fee of ¥15000 yen for my kids and when we questioned it, stated we would then like a refund, they said no. Basically it was pay the extra money or be out the $306 we paid on hotels.com. I showed them the booking confirmation where I had entered two adults and two kids. They said it was a mistake. They called some number (presumably hotels.com) and we sat and sat. No resolution. And it was rude. I never lied about my kids ages. Said we only needed two beds, etc. Nothing. So basically we checked out after one night. The resort wasn't nice enough for us to pay $456 for two nights. Besides the awful check in service, I don't have much more to rate well. And will leave it at that. I did not eat the buffet breakfast nor dinner. Don't go! We have stayed at other Okinawan resorts like ANA Intercontinental Manza, Moon Ocean, Okuma Resort and all were MUCH nicer. Was this hotels.com error, I don't know. But, I will not recommend any of my friends to stay here.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank DonnaHMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

AJ Resort is more of an expensive motel with a great view and cheap tricks to entertain very young children. One of he vest things about it is its location. It is so far from city life that it actually proved a sense tranquility. Upon arrival to the facility we were greeted with the smell of farm animals and the sounds of waves crashing, not to shabby. On the inside we where greater with great staff and a family of pups, that just have grab the attention of our 2 year old. The elevator is pretty small and all the levels are a bit humid. Our room was nice. We had 3 twin beds, a dining set with overly sized chairs inside and outside on the balcony that overlooked the cottages, vegetation and the ocean. The tub in which they refer to as the soak tub is just an average american tub, the bathroom has a sleek mirror that is really really big and built into the wall. The game room was all but coloring books and ping-pong, the children play area was big. Back outside they have a pool with small slides, patio and picnic tables. As a family we wanted to try the jacuzzi tubs, but the staff told us we would be separated by gender, not so fun there. They have a small petting zoo of a sort. The goats and dogs all have leashes and are attached to poles in which you can freely walk them at your will. They also have bumper cars which cost 1$-100¥ per lap. They offer basketball and tennis as well. The dinner and breakfast buffet was presented well, the only issue I could not get over was the improper use of the Bunsen burners. The size of the holding dishes were too big for a single burner to keep the food warm. The food was great apart from the dessert being almost everything mango.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

My wife and I decided to stay here for 2 nights for our honeymoon and for the access and convenience of going surfing. Upon checking in we were informed that as guest of the hotel we could not go surfing out in front of the hotel. As we inquired more about this, the manager was called. She told us even if we drove down to the area where all the surfers park away from the hotel property we could not surf as guest of the hotel. My wife and I are professional surfers that live in Hawaii. We have traveled around the world surfing and competing in competitions so this didn't make sense to me. We had reserved the suite room but decided to stay only one night instead of two. The receptionists were apologetic at both check in and check out about this incident, but the manager gave no apology and didn't seem to care. All the other staff were friendly especially in the restaurant. It is a great place to relax if you want to be away from everything, but there is no where to eat but the restaurant and it is only a buffet for breakfast and dinner. I will not plan on staying here again and have informed my surfing friends in Okinawa and Hawaii of this incident. Maybe if they changed this policy I will reconsider.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 808surfbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights and it was great. They have a lot of activities for kids and families. The private beach was pretty nice. It's not Boracay but we had it pretty much to ourselves the whole time. My son loved the petting zoo, pool, and sports. The staff were really lenient about a lot of the rules which is totally different from the rest of Japan. The food at the restaurant was really good and the bath house was pretty nice.
One thing that's very inconvenient if you are a foreign traveler is that they do not have wifi. That's unacceptable in this day and age. Also it's pretty far from Naha so you really need a rental car to get there and to get around after arriving.

Stayed: May 2015
1  Thank Osakachero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank eriko s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uruma
9.3 km away
Hotel Hamahigashima Resort
26.3 km away
Vessel hotel campana Okinawa
21.1 km away
Okinawa Grand Mer Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.6 km away
Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa
18.3 km away
Coco Garden Resort Okinawa
19.8 km away
Rizzan Sea-Park Hotel Tancha-Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AJ Resort Island Ikeijima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AJ Resort Island Ikeijima

Address: 1286 Yonahsiro Ikei, Uruma 904‐2421, Okinawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Uruma
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels / Ryokan in Uruma
Price Range: RM440 - RM1,170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — AJ Resort Island Ikeijima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your AJ Resort Island Ikeijima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing