We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful village - but remote

We stayed at the JP Hoppers hostel in Yunomine for one night. Be warned: this village is very small... read more

Reviewed 23 April 2018
_chinadweller
,
Beijing, China
Very nice ....

So this is a long hike whether by road or walking but well worth it... a natural hot spring world... read more

Reviewed 13 April 2018
DAVID V
,
Bangkok, Thailand
Read all 162 reviews
  
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
94
57
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
57
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eggs onsen town public bath cold water sweet potato beer vending machine unesco world heritage kumano kodo bring your own the river across the street spring village hut stream vegetables hostel
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We stayed at the JP Hoppers hostel in Yunomine for one night. Be warned: this village is very small and incredibly remote. There are limited buses per day to Hongu, and only one taxi driver for the entire area. It is possible to walk to Hongu, although this involves a sweaty hour-and-a-half-walk over a big hill. If you are doing the Kumano Kodo hike, I would recommend staying in Hongu instead. Although less scenic, it is easier to continue walking from Hongu.

That said, the village is beautiful, surrounded in forest, and features a hot spring running through the middle - certainly an attractive place to stop!

In terms of restaurant, there is only one in Yunomine. It's next to the temple in the middle of the village. Closed Mondays and Thursdays. Food is relatively cheap and tasty. There were no food shops, and if you're staying in accommodation without a set meal - for example, our hostel - it's recommended that you buy fresh vegetables and meat in Hongu.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank _chinadweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

So this is a long hike whether by road or walking but well worth it... a natural hot spring world heritage site.. there is not much there to be honest, some lodging houses, shrines and simple temples and that's it, but its a very spiritual and important place. We were lucky in that there was a 'christening' (and I know that's the wrong word) taking place with 8 very young children and their parents being blessed, it was magnificent.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank DAVID V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We stayed at Yunomine Onsen for 3 days and would have loved to stay longer! It's paradise. Beautiful rooms, excellent service, magnificent meals, and wonderful onsens. Each day we made use of the private onsen. The staff was very helpful in helping us to sort out day trips with public transport. We visited all the major shrines and temples and waterfalls and even walked the many steps of the Kumano Kodo. The meals were exquisite, tasteful and plentiful. This is a place where time stands still and dreams come true. A beautiful experience, a highlight of our Japan trip.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank LaLouise13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

As a treat to myself and spouse while walking the Kumano Kodo, we spent 30 minutes in Tsuboyu Onsen in Yunomine. We were lucky at 3:30pm on a weekday afternoon there was no line so we bought our tickets (770 yen/adult) and went to soak away the chill and soreness from our knees.

Tsuboyu is very small (2 average sized American adults fit ok) and to experience the only UNESCO World Heritage Hot Spring in its location along the river was unforgettable! Water is very hot. You can add cold water and mix it. Remove all jewelry before using to prevent it from becoming discolored.

Bring your own towel! Please observe the 30 minute time limit as a courtesy to those who are waiting to come in after you.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

It is great to be by the river soaking in natural thermal water and in your own hut. It is worth it to pay for it. Don't forget to bring your own towel

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Sergio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews