We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Enjoyable ghost walk

We visited in the day and then returned for the ghost walk in the evening. It is a lovely setting... read more

Reviewed 1 November 2020
tarnharrison
via mobile
Devilishly Goid

Visited Bolsover Castle for the first time last night to attend the ghost walk and was not... read more

Reviewed 30 October 2020
jameshD3870EY
Read all 1,465 reviews
  
Reviews (1,465)
Filter reviews
1,465 results
Traveller rating
806
477
122
33
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
806
477
122
33
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english heritage audio guide riding school gift shop overflow car park well worth a visit wall walk couple of hours entry fee play area sunny day horse show riding house sandwiches national trust dressage horses
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,465 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

We visited in the day and then returned for the ghost walk in the evening. It is a lovely setting and atmospheric in the dark. We spent about an hour on each occasion, which was just about right. The ghost walk was fun- something different for us. The staff and volunteers were extremely friendly and helpful, making it an enjoyable visit overall.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank tarnharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2020

Visited Bolsover Castle for the first time last night to attend the ghost walk and was not disappointed, from the minute the very authentic lady approached our group I brought in to the whole evening.
Never breaking character and incredibly knowledgeable and informative I was hooked from the very start, a brilliant, spooky, educational and down right fun time was had by all!

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank jameshD3870EY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2020 via mobile

We visited for the ghost walk and have never visited the castle before.

We were greeted by friendly employees, who showed us where to go. We went outside to wait for the tour to begin. There was a large number of people in a small patio terrace without masks.

We were unable to hear the guide at some points as she was quite quiet and we were in open grounds. There were 6 stops in total.We enjoyed hearing about the ghost sightings and a bit of history.
At some points it felt like we were on a conveyor belt, a little rushed.

Information was great, experience was ok.

We paid £15 for a 40 minute ghost walk. I would not pay that price for this experience again. I would like to know how much Bolsover charged in previous years for ghost walks?

Covid regulations
- no test and trace in any form asked on arrival- I only scanned on the app as I came across a QR code in the gift shop after the tour. I guess they have details from prebooking tickets, however I think it would be beneficial to be offered on arrival.
-social distancing not adhered to, especially when people are trying to hear the guide talk. We felt uncomfortable so we wore masks for the whole tour.
- signage clearly states that only 6 allowed in gift shop...everyone from the tour was herded in at the same time.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank Jackie583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2020 via mobile

Very disappointed with how much money we paid for what we thought was a Halloween fulfilled event.
There was nothing to do other than a wordsearch and listen to some man talk about victorian death, which the children didn't quite understand. So much more could of been done to make it a success!
To top things off the weather was dreadful.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank sutbagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2020

We booked on one of the guided Ghost Tours - as you do. The guy who took the Tour seemed to want to amuse us rather than scare. His joking did get a few laughs at the beginning but towards the end fell rather flat.

I'm sure that there must be many ghostly happenings and strange tales to tell from the history of a castle this age. What we needed was a few more details of supposed happenings rather than an over-enthusiastic banter aimed to make us amused - a quote attributed to Queen Victoria: we were not amused ..... neither were we scared!

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank Charles_and_Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews