We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as good as we expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We spent three weeks on a road trip of Northern and Central Italy and the three nights that we spent as this hotel were seen as being the totally relaxing and luxurious part of the trip. Sadly, this didn't prove to be the case and our hopes and high expectations weren't fully met.

The location of the hotel is high above the sleepy town of Castel di Lama. The steepness of the journey up to the hotel (especially in very high temperatures) mean that a vehicle is required. We were met by the extremely friendly and cheerful Andreas on reception and he quickly showed us to our two bedroomed apartment. As soon as we entered, we were slightly disappointed by the decor and feel of the apartment. It contained great facilities e.g. washing machines, dishwasher, oven, fridge e,t.c. but the rooms were dark and the furniture wasn't too comfortable. The apartment just didn't feel grand (we subsequently discovered that the really luxurious apartments were based in the main house and that these were being used for wedding guests), The other issue was the excessive heat within the rooms. The air conditioning was an old system and basically just couldn't cope and ended up blowing out warm air.

The grounds were extensive and generally well-kept. The pool area was impressive but smaller then expected with only room for approximately ten people. The pool itself was also too shallow for adults but ideal for children.

Breakfast was served in the conservatory area of the restaurant and there was plenty of choice for a "continental style" breakfast.

Our main concern with the property was that a huge wedding was taking place at the hotel on the Saturday evening and all day on the Sunday. This totally dominated proceedings and led to the closure of the "bar/coffee shop", the blocking off of the more extensive and beautiful section of garden and also led to excessive noise with our apartment backing on to the marquee staging the wedding. None of this was mentioned to use when we booked.

Room Tip: Try to book specific rooms within the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richiemint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgostorico, Proprietario at Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear Richiemin,

Thank you very much for your detailed review on the Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi. To reply at my best to your comments I have to specify that we are not really a hotel but a family home - "Dimora Storica" - opened to the public. People who book should know that we have no numbers on the rooms but names, that there are only 12 of them available and that the atmosphere is very relaxed, as though one was a guest n fact in somebody's home. We are situated on top of a hill overlooking the town of Castel di Lama which offers many facilities like shops, restaurants, supermarkets, cinemas and three churches!
I am very sorry to know that your stay was not up to standards. The Casa D'Artista where you were staying, is an apartment that we redecorated recently with all new restored family furniture. Perhaps the style was not of your taste. I do confirm that it is grand in size but not in decor. It has been created to cater for families who do not want to worry about antique furniture close to their children's hands and feet! It is a very thought after choice that we made on the basis of requests from guests in the past years. The air conditioning system is actually also very new - just a couple of years - hence I think that some buttons must have been mis managed for it to bring in hot air. I have in fact the confirmation from our house keeper that it has been working well since the beginning of the season.
The pool has been done to a regular size so not to disrupt the historic garden. It has been a modern intervention that needed the approval of the Cultural Heritage Department of Italy. The size takes into account that not all guests staying at the Borgo will use the pool at the same time. Personally, I have been to many chambre d'haute / Dimore Storiche / Residenze d'Epoca swimming pools so big and deserted that they seemed a big waste of space and missed "green" opportunities. The depth of the pool is given by national law. It cannot be deeper than 1.05metres! In 2013 we had to make huge maintenance works to the pool: make it more shallow, add non slippery floors, new shower, change the old pumps and filters and erect an iron fence, all to make it children and people friendly and comply to Eu and Regional laws.
Entertainment music in Italy can go on till 1.30am at which point we make sure to switch it off. Weddings and parties take place usually on weekends. I am very sorry if you had not been told at the time of your booking but we usually to tell our guests. These parties were infact booked much closer to the date of your arrival.

Kind Regards,

Stefania Pignatelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2015

We spent 6 nights at this amazing property and we couldn't fault the accommodation or service. The grounds are stunning and the location for exploring the Marche region is perfect. We ate at the restaurant twice during our stay and the food was great. What set this accommodation apart though, was the warmth and friendliness of the staff and their willingness to go that little bit further to ensure our needs were met.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SunshineJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We stayed in the Oriental Suite of the Palace on the Piano Nobile, with wonderful views over the gardens for 6 nights. The two room suite was one of the largest we have stayed in, with high ceilings, beautiful antiques and huge shuttered windows, a pure indulgence of space. The Princess has opened up the Palace and gardens, so guests can stay and experience what it’s like to live in a treasure house. All the formal reception rooms are open to guests, with interesting books everywhere, and fascinating historical family pictures scattered around. Nothing was a problem and Andrea and Maria-Rita, at the front of house, enthused about the area and sent us to some wonderful restaurants and sites, leaving us with burgeoning stomachs and wonderful memories. Breakfasts were great under the vines as were lunches overlooking the pool. (I have rated the restaurant separately) Overall we had a fab stay, and will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: Stay in the Palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

After a disappointing start upon our arrival when there was no record of our booking, everything improved dramatically. Andrea in reception moved into overdrive to ensure that we were happy. There are two types of accommodation, those in the converted buildings in the grounds and several suites within the palazzo itself. The former are ideal for those travelling with children or multiple occupancy. However, for the additional cost I would recommend the palazzo.

The room was soon available and the Oriental Suite is truly magnificent. It is tastefully and lavishly furnished. Access to the palazzo is restricted to those staying within the building thereby giving a greater exclusivity. The "state rooms" on the ground floor are also superb. The palazzo could not be faulted. It is peaceful, light and cool. Although it was extremely hot during our stay (40 degrees) the air conditioning was perfectly adequate. There is a restaurant but it is also possible to eat alfresco. Dinner on our last evening on the terrace was very good. The service throughout the hotel is efficient and friendly. It is rather like one big happy family and it is clear that they all adore the two princesses (mother and daughter) who are very much in evidence.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We spent two nights here and had a full and well appointed apartment to ourselves. Was very comfortable and clean. We felt right at home. Would return again and spend more time enjoying the pool and beautiful grounds. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi

Address: Via San Pancrazio 1, 63082 Castel di Lama, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Ascoli Piceno > Castel di Lama
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castel di Lama
Price Range: RM574 - RM1,181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi Hotel Castel Di Lama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing