We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An ideal escape”

Review of Manyika house

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Thika, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura K
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“An ideal escape”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Manyika House is an ideal escape from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. The grounds are lovely – gorgeous vegetation, a child-friendly play area and fun,farm animals meandering about. The accommodation is charming, spacious, and filled with wonderful lounge areas to cozy up into. The staff is attentive and responsive, and Chef Joel should not be missed, especially his Swahili style curry. We highly recommend staying here and already look forward to our next visit! Thank you Eva and team.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
You are very welcome Laura! And thank YOU for your review ;-). It will be great to have you back as our guests in February or March.
Warm regards,
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice...
Kiserian
2 reviews
“Serenity”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The experience was wonderful, we enjoyed the environment, the service, the food, the hospitality and the freedom. I cannot even sum it up in one email but it was the best experience I had in 2015.

The staff is helpful with everything, the rooms are divine. You might need to have the master bed in the big room checked as it makes a creaking noise, other than that I cannot complain about anything.

I am glad I got to experience Manyika.

Looking forward to another visit this new year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thanks so much for your review Beatrice! We definitely hope to see you back soon!
Warm regards,
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erastus20...
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Great place to stay, serene environment, great service”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I stayed at Manyika with my extended family over christmas. If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, for a serene environment for reflection...this is an excellent place to stay. Well maintained grounds, good rooms, and excellent service by friendly staff. Great food...my family enjoyed the variety of the food.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Thanks for your positive response Erastus! Glad you and your family enjoyed your stay during Christmas and we hope to see you back at Manyika house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souvik_Ke...
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The quietest resort so close to Nairobi!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We went to Manyika Resort in a group of fourteen, which is the maximum the resort can comfortably accommodate. Not knowing much about the facilities available, we chose to take a cook with us, but as it turned out, the caretaker Joel was extremely capable of dishing out great food! We never knew Mount Kenya could be seen from a place so close to Nairobi, and that was a real treat!

The resort itself is beautifully maintained, with a resident complement of docile dogs and lambs and turtles. The trampoline provided some great times for some of the seniors and juniors alike, and I must say that you can easily turn back the years and become a child again in Manyika! And all this just an hour's drive away from Nairobi!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness, the view of Mount Kenya, the ambience, everything!
Liked least: The sleeping arrangements could be improved
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Dear Souvik, Thank you so much for your nice review! Happy you got to see Mt Kenya when you stayed with us as it only shows itself on clear days. Hope to have you back as our guests soon!
Warm regards,
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEBASISH...
1 review
“Beautiful place, very close to Nairobi”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Manyika House in Thika is a beautiful colonial house with its own lovely gardens. The house is well decorated and the bed rooms and living areas are fantastic. We were about 16 people and had a very good time. The cook is excellent and very helpful. Its a great week end get away cloase to Nairobi.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Dear Debasish,
Thank you very much for your positive review! Great to hear you liked both our beautiful garden as well as the interior. I'll pass your compliments to Joel ;-). Hope to have you back at Manyika soon!
Warm regards,
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$293
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing