We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
190
154
58
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
154
58
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free beach towels stars bar old town tequila bar mini bar was well stocked hot buffets mins walk away folklore show animation team are great relaxing weekend sister hotel pool bar shower cubicle plenty of choice a great variety of food steam room recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

I have recently returned from a 7 night stay, and shall start with the good points:
o Most of the staff are friendly and helpful, check in was very good with excellent reception staff.
o The animation team are great, organising activities throughout the day, but with no pressure to join in
o Hotel is very clean, rooms are nice and well maintained, my only minor issue was the shower cubicle was small making it difficult to use
o Room air conditioning is very good and the easiest I have ever used, in room safe was free (paying for a safe always irritates me!)
o The pool area is very nice, sunbeds are free including on the beach and good sized towels are provided. We were able to take our all inclusive drinks onto the beach (in plastic glasses for safety)
o The all inclusive drinks are generally good, although what is available at the pool bar should be made more clear. I think you could have hot drinks, soft drinks and beer only, with all other drinks available at the Star Bar.
o Evening entertainment was good for a small hotel
o Hotel location is excellent for access to Becici and Budva via a tunnel next to the adjacent Iberostar hotel or a local bus on the nearby main road. There is also a large supermarket off this road. However, I did find the area over developed particularly Budva where sundeds are literally crammed onto the beach with more buildings going up. This was a real surprise as I did expect a less commercialised resort. I would highly recommend a trip to Kotor, it is stunning. Get the bus from Budva bus station 3,50 euros each way.
However, the biggest let down was the so called ‘hot food’ in the hotel, which was basically cold or lukewarm at best. I couldn’t eat it and had to eat salad and occasionally soup (which was very hot) for the entire week. I complained to the Jet2 Holidays representative, and suggested a microwave be made available for guests, he said I should ask for the food to be heated up. I did this but the staff said it was already at maximum temperature! It was not just the fact I don’t like cold food, my concern was food safety as hot buffets according to guidelines should be kept at a temperature of 63C or more to avoid the risk of any contamination
I also felt that Jet2 Holidays could have done more, however their presence was very limited and they did not appear interested in my complaint
It was a shame as I did enjoy the holiday, but would not return unless the hot food issue was addressed

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlosUK1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Montenegro Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear carlosUK1966,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share a review about your recent stay with us and for highlighting all the different aspects of your experience during the stay.
We are very grateful for all the feedback provided by our guests, as this is the best way we can identify the vector for improvements. We value your kind words about the hotel’s cleanliness, pools, entertainment and especially our friendly animation staff. Please be assured that I have noted your remarks about food in our restaurant and will forward them to our restaurant personnel to improve the situation. I would like to add that we work under strict HACCAP standards for food safety and that the temperature of food on the buffet is regularly checked and maintained on 63°C, but based on your feedback, we will make an additional check as the wellbeing and safety of our guest is our main priority. As you mentioned that you ask the restaurant personnel to worm up your meal, this is something that they should do, no question asked, and I apologize for this omission from our staff. I am sorry that the representative of the agency did not contacted the reception or F&B manager directly. Our team is committed to providing an exceptional stay for our guests and we will do our best to improve our service.
If your travels bring you back to our country we would be honored if you would give us another chance to prove our true hospitality.

Best regards,
Danijela Djurović
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We got a room 321 which facing the hotel parking , the room smelled from heavy cigarets smokers, leaving the windows open for hour didn’t help, there wasn’t any other room so we bare it .
Nice pool and private beach , clean and very nice

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gady H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Montenegro Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Gady H,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
We were happy to read that you liked hotel’s private beach and pool.
We really are so sorry that you were somewhat let down by the situation in the room, and we are sorry that we were not able to do more about this. Please be assured that we have taken good note of your review. I hope that if you decide to visit us again, we will be able to provide far better experience.

With best regards,
Danijela Djurović,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Great location right on the beach nestled between two other hotels. Quick and friendly check-in, he even advised us to call into the restaurant before going to the room because they stopped lunch at 2pm. Room was clean and had all the facilities you would expect. There were a few problems with the room which just appeared to be the way it was. No all the lightbulbs worked, the toilet continually dripped and you couldn’t hear the TV. The Hotel in general worked along similar lines, All Inclusive is only at some bars and restaurants and limited, not what we would have expected. It takes a couple of days to work out what you can get where and what is not included.

For us: It was the staff that made up for the gaps in hotel policy. They were always helpful and went above and beyond to help when required.

It’s a good walk if you want to get to Budva Old Town but there is a path and tunnel which was a popular pastime with visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Montenegro Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear David S,

Thank you for staying in Hotel Montenegro and taking your time to write such a nice and friendly review.
It is our pleasure to read that you liked the hotel location and cleanliness.
Thank you for mentioning our staff, we were glad to read that you have found them friendly and helpful, it is true that they are our hotel’s greatest asset.
Your comments about the room will not pass unnoticed, as this is not a common thing to happen. We keep our rooms in good condition and we will do our best to exclude any exceptions in future. Our hope is that we will always be your choice for your future visits!

With kind regards,
Danijela Djurović,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

the hotel was very clean and good value for money, the food there was very good ate few times lunch and dinner and breakfast was great!!!!

the people in the hotel are very nice and helpful, they guided us how to save money in the city and where is safe to go.

the beach is great and swimming pool was great too.

a bit disappointed they had no tennis courts but next hotel had 3 courts and i managed to play there every day almost.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel is a good THREE star but definitely not a four star. We moved rooms after one night to have a mountain view as the first view was of the car park. None of the rooms face directly onto the beach which is odd. Room was very clean and the cleaners were constantly cleaning. From the beach the hotel looks old and uninviting but the inside is more appealing. The outdoor pool was really cold and towels on sun loungers prohibited us from sitting around the pool on many occasions, even though they were unoccupied! The inside pool was a great temperature and the facilities in this area were good. The system to get towels for the pool seems very extreme, you get a card that you have to present to a member of staff at a desk, they ask for your room number and check you’re the correct person on their computer screen (they have a scanned photo of your passport!). You can then have a towel, if you lose it then you are charged 40 euros! Bizarre as the towels were faded and hard and you’d hardly lose one intentionally. Staff appear generally unhappy/bored/unapproachable and only the animation staff integrated with us. They did their best for daytime and evening entertainment and it was sometimes enjoyable. Beach is shingle/small pebbles and we bought proper sea shoes so we could get in. Quite a lot of litter in the sea which is disappointing but lots of beach activities on offer which were great value for money. Food was the same everyday (maybe with one different dish added daily) it was mostly lukewarm and by the middle of the week we weren’t looking forward to eating. Restaurants along the beach were nice and Milka restaurant which is part of the hotel (apparently) was lovely. All inclusive I assumed would allow us to eat something at any point of the day but this isn’t the case here. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at certain times (all buffet) and salami with cheese rolls, fresh fruit and croissants for snack between 4 and 6, then biscuits at 10pm! Alcohol was free but only in certain places as were soft drinks. Ice cream you had to buy! The day before our departure I asked a member of the reception if they could tell me what time our coach would be collecting us the next day, she replied that we should check the ‘book’ as she didn’t know either. We then found a folder with lots of valuable information about the area and excursions etc. It would have been great if this had been pointed out on our arrival! Overall I wouldn’t return or recommend this hotel. It needs to be properly all inclusive and at least have staff that make you feel welcomed and valued.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Montenegro Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Kerry B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share review about your recent stay with us and for highlighting all the different aspects of your experience following your stay.
We are very grateful for all the feedback provided by our guests, as this is the only way we can improve our service. We value your kind words about hotel cleanliness, inside pool, entertainment and especially our friendly animation staff.
We have gone carefully through the comments about details which you could have been happier with. We do not allow reservation of sun loungers and we will do our best to address this issue in a more efficient manner. As for your comments about All-inclusive offer and the buffet we will definitely consider all your remarks and do our best to improve selection and offer.
If your travels bring you back to our country we would be honored if you would give us another chance to prove our true hospitality.

Best regards,
Danijela Djurović
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews