We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$54
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paragayo Resort(Panglao Island)(Great Value!)
US$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Bohol Coco Farm(Panglao Island)(Great Value!)
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amarela Resort(Panglao Island)
US$283
US$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Native Resort(Panglao Island)
US$108
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bohol Beach Club(Panglao Island)
US$306
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Apartelle(Panglao Island)
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Palms Resort(Panglao Island)
US$754
US$700
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bohol Bee Farm(Dauis)(Great Value!)
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
9
18
14
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
18
14
8
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2017

This place is definately for bohemian people! A nice , huge garden with a big pool, nice services and average rooms. A lot of expats use to book here, artists, bohemian doctors, old divers that come here starting 1993... Everything is very friendly , Alona beach is very close ( 50 m) . This place is really good for an old , good classic movie about happiness and easy rider people! Long live! :)

Room Tip: just ask about a room with frigo..it is enough! :)
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferenc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

I can't understand how they can charge so much for a room, but have sea salt water in the bathroom - both the sink and shower. It's very unpleasant when brushing your teeth and having a shower after being in the sea...felt unclean for days. Very quiet and can see why, it's right at the far end of Alona beach, to get to the main part of the beach, you have to either walk the long way round the main road or through some cliffs on the beach, the whole area is unlit at night, which is not ideal. Wouldn't recommend to stay here. Felt the price does not reflect the standard, compared to other places we stayed on Alona Beach.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Anon00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We spent 3 nights in Kalipayan. My new iPhone was stolen on the first night.. The security guard was shooting shotgun (real bullets) to scarry me because I told the police that he could be the suspect... Owner behaved like he cared just to get rid of us. when we left under escort of 5 policemen because we requested so he stopped answering phone. Mr. Biebelmann, owner now picked up the phone to say "Don't call me ever again". After I came back to Poland I got facebook messages from random people saying that I if I go to Philipines again I will not make it alive... If you want to ruin your holidays - it's a great way to do it.
Hotel is below average, staff is not trustable and owner treats them like slaves. Screams, shouts, scares etc.
My holidays in paradise turned into nightmare. We were escorted by police from the island during the night. Mr. Biebelmann lied to us multiple times just to get rid of us.

Even if this would not happen, we would rate it 1 star. Salty water, very dirty. Shady people around. A little bit like slums. If you like this kind of stuff -it is place for you :) holidais ruined perfectly :( I am in process of raising two lawsiuts against the company and the owner.

Stayed: January 2016
6  Thank xxx x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Kalipayan is about a 5 minute walk along the beach from the main busy area of Alona Beach.
It does actually have access straight onto the beach from the resort.

the room was very spacious and had a small aircon unit and a ceiling fan.

The power did go off twice and the water was not on once. So make sure you have a torch and some big bottles of water.

There is a Dive Center there which I only visited to inquire about night dives but none available.

It has a nice swimming pool next to the bar/restaurant area.
I did not eat here so I cannot rate the food.

Watch out for big toads in the grass, they add to the adventure at night.

A pleasant stay. recommended for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradolfPitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

We had a nice 13 nights stay at Kalipayan. Quite and peaceful garden setting. Thanks Kurt, that you had 2 rooms for us on short notice.

Staff is very friendly and attentive.

Rooms were ok, with daily cleaning. Good quality towels provided. Soap provided. No complimentary water though.
Beds are ok, one was too soft, the other was good. Bed sheets ok, no further thicker blanket. Pillows weren't that nice, but ok for us.

AC was working good, with a fan also on ceiling. Once AC wasn't working, but technician attended to it shortly.

Salty water in bathroom and pool, as they have a well. We got used to it. I used bottled water for tooth brushing.

Menu in Restaurant is just ok. Could have more choice for breakfast. In general food is good, but don't expect too much. Kids loved Currywurst, fries and noodle soup. Mango-Shake is sooo good. Special thanks to the restaurant staff.

We went out most evenings to Alona Beach for dinner (lots of choices), just a nice 10 minutes stroll along the beach. You can either walk down the stairs at the hotel or during high tide, leave hotel at back entrance, go left in direction of beach and go down a rock stairs.

After 5 minutes you will reach the first other resorts and after 10 minutes you are in the middle of buzzing Alona Beach.

Big sized pool for Phillipines standards. They clean pool and garden every day.

Beach is nice as well. During spring tide some sea grass might be covering spots of the sand. Two beach tree huts, but they need some restoration.

You can pay with Credit Card (with a small additional fee).

Security on grounds during the night!

You can also order massage to the room, they will call someone.

Trikes and port transfer can be arranged as well (extra cost).

We loved the dogs, chickens and cats as well. The roosters are not annoying (referring to other reviews), I appreciated the nature. If you hear a "tu-ko" sound, thats a Philippine lizard.

What else to say, if you don't expect too much and would like to pay a reasonable amount, this is a good choice.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank DXBresi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews