We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter eggscellence”

The Crab & Lobster Inn
Ranked #15 of 24 Restaurants in Bembridge
Price range: US$7 - US$79
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Where do we start? We came to Bembridge for a one night stay over the Easter weekend - 8 of us looking for a table on Sunday evening. So many places bizarrely closed - which led to us coming here and boy, aren’t we pleased we did!
Wonderful food, including fantastic local lobster and crab as well as pie, fish stew, burgers- all home made and absolutely brilliant. The desserts were all home made too which made them worth every single calorie. Key lime pie to die for!!
But but but, forget the food for a second. The staff are what makes the evening special here. All the staff are so welcoming and attentive, in particular we were looked after by Megan and Scott, who were super throughout our evening and made our experience extra enjoyable. Would totally recommend the Crab & Lobster, just what we were looking for.

Thank 503828Foodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam W, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Wow what a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your visit! I'll be sure to pass the message on to Scott and Megan! And we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018

This place is trying to be lots of things, which overall brings it down. A locals pub, a family friendly eatery, and a restaurant. The food is pub grub, with a bit of added fish. I had the mixed seafood platter which was just about passable, the fish was ok, but the prawns and mussels had been in the deep freeze too long. The crab starter, showed little presence of the main ingredient - crab! And the fish stew was far too heavy on the tomato sauce. Lots of crusty bread though! For what is pub grub it is over priced.

Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam W, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

I must say I am very disappointed to see a review like this, after so many excellent ones, I can only apologise that your experience wasn't up to scratch. We have recently launched a new menu and have separated the pub into to dining areas (a relaxed restaurant with table service) and a general tradition pub area, so customers can decide in their dining experience, hopefully this will get rid of the impression that we are trying to be to many different thing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We stayed overnight on a late booking, had dinner, breakfast and, the following day, lunch with friends. It was all perfectly satisfactory, but off being excellent. I shared a shower with whoever was in the next door room as the walls were thin! But we were shown better rooms, especially one called The Nab. Breakfast was a bit perfunctory - cona coffee, cereal in packets etc. Dinner and lunch were good, but the fish portions were a bit on the mean side - more prawns than cod. The atmosphere was fine and the staff helpful, especially tying dinner reservation to ferry arrival. Very dog friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peterpaddockhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam W, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for your review, you'll be happy to her we have recently launched our new menu and revamped our portions sizes so that customers get a better experience! We hope you'll give us another try next time your down

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday evening with 2 children. We had booked a table but were running late due to missing our ferry!!! We phoned and changed our booking to a little later without issue.
The menu is fab, lots of fish dishes but don't be deterred if you prefer meat as plenty of choices for you too.
All of our food was lovely, very well presented and tasted good too. The children's portions are decent; too much for our 6&8 year old if honest.
Staff were really attentive and always at hand.
My only criticism is that I had to ask for an extra bowl for my fish stew, this should be standard as should be a finger bowl as although this dish is delicious it is obviously messy.
I'm sure we will visit again during our holiday.

Thank Gingercat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam W, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for your review. You are correct about the side bowl and finger bowl for the fish stew, we have recently had a team meeting and reinstalled this fact into the staff so this shouldn't happen again. Glad you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Found this place on trip advisor as looking for dog friendly fish restaurant, it’s more than just a restaurant. The front of house are warm welcoming, the food is amazing behond words, the chef is knowledgeable friendly and passionate about his food. We returned the next day to see the same friendly faces welcoming all 3 of us ( the corgi ) too. And was pleased to see the same faces eating again like us. Highly recommend this place will be back again and again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam W, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for the review, I remember you and your beautiful corgi! So glad you enjoyed your visit from us! We hope to see you again the next time you're down!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crab & Lobster Inn also viewed

 
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 
Bembridge, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Crab & Lobster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing