We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fun watersports

Our family enjoyed the giant paddle board, the stand up paddle boards and the water trampoline. The... read more

Reviewed 11 August 2021
MrsG12345
,
Scotland, United Kingdom
via mobile
Motor boat hire - clearer booking information required

We hired a small motor boat for 3 hours with a plan to travel to the South of Loch Tay and back... read more

Reviewed 2 August 2021
Duncan1872
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 59 reviews
โ€‚โ€‚
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
36
8
3
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
36
8
3
4
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

What an incredible experience at Taymouth marina.
Nick was our first point of contact at the โ€œHot Boxโ€ he was an absolute star and looked after us from start to finish.
James and Abigail at the bar area are first class and conversing with all the guests/visitors and looking after their needs.

Booked a boat trip on a day boat and was looked after by Duncan and Richy (first day on the job) 2 lovely lads who are a credit to the marina.

Canโ€™t wait to bring extended family and friends back.

The campbell family (8 lawers view)

Thank you

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank PaisleyCampbellclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2021

We arrived for a pre-booked family paddle boarding session. The place was crowded and chaotic and manned by 3 stressed-looking teenagers (albeit they were very polite). We stood around for 10 mins before anyone acknowledged us. We were told to leave our bags at the side and they would only look after car keys. We expected a locker at least. Our car keys were left on a window ledge and could easily have been taken by someone else. We were eventually given paddle-boards and wet suits and let our on to the water. We weren't asked if we had been paddle boarding before (we hadn't) or needed any basic instruction. After an hours enjoyable paddle boarding we had to get changed in a very dirty toilet (the one changing room was in use) an there were no showers. Tried to get a meal in the restaurant next door at 3pm (it closes at 3.30pm) and were told they had closed early as they 'needed to prepare' for the next day. Really disappointed considering how lovely the place looks from outside.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank nikki27102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

Our family enjoyed the giant paddle board, the stand up paddle boards and the water trampoline. The activities were all great fun in a beautiful setting. A great set of things to keep us amused on our holiday!
A few suggestions for improvement: The booking system woukd benefit greatly from allowing you to book for more than one person at a time. It's also advisable to check you have a confirmation email once you have paid - we paid for one of our activities and turned up on the day to find our booking hadn't registered on the system so the slot was double booked. The lady at the office helpfully booked us into a different slot but it is worth making sure you get a confirmation email to avoid any confusion.
Another wee suggestion - a warm shower and better changing rooms would be an asset.
But suggestions aside, it's a fun and beautiful place to have a go at some water sports. And they make very nice hot chocolate at the bar!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank MrsG12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

We SO wanted to leave a good review that we tried twice! The menu looked fantastic, previous reviews were amazing, the setting is just lovely and the opening hours in the website were clear and backed up by the signage outside.

We dragged our children on a 30km bike ride from Killin with the promise of a late lunch at The Ferrymanโ€™s Inn. We had looked at it online, checked the opening hours and it said opening hours were 10am to 10pm and that the kitchen was closed between 3.30 and 5pm. We arrived at 2pm to be told they had decided to close the kitchen early as they had had a busy weekend. We were hugely disappointed but had a lovely lunch at The Courtyard just a couple of miles away instead.

Not to be put off that easily, we arrived again the following evening just before 6pm to be told yet again that the kitchen was closed. Nothing on the signage had been updated and no reason was given. This is in August, in the peak of the holiday season. We werenโ€™t the only people who had arrived to be let down.

Such a shame as it really did look so nice.

Our recommendation - donโ€™t turn up on the off chance that you will actually be able to get food...even if the website and signs say it will be open.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank HelenHoward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

We hired a small motor boat for 3 hours with a plan to travel to the South of Loch Tay and back. The centre was busy and staff were nice although a little abrupt, possibly due to the number of people and activities they were each dealing with.

Once we were at our boat we were told we were not allowed to travel past the fish farm, which was only 15 minutes away. This was disappointing as it scuppered our plans to travel to the South of the Loch. It would have been helpful to know the limitations of travel when booking and if we had we would have only booked 1 hour instead of 3.

We had a great time on the water but did bring the boat back early as we had explored the area we were allowed in extensively.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Duncan1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews