We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exactly as advertised,magical”
other travellers have booked this property
Your Daily View!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your Daily View!
Your hammock awaits!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Your Daily View!
Your hammock awaits!
Master bedroom with ensuite
Bedroom #2 with king size bed
Queen bed with lake view
Our Nacatamal room with 3 single beds
Lakeside
Kayaks for rent
En Rancho ... great to hang out by the lake
A visitor you may see!
Nicaragua's national bird ... Guardabarranco .. or MotMot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya, Masaya Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
dastahls
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
“Exactly as advertised,magical”
Reviewed 23 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

With our schedule we only got to stay at Alchemy on the lake for three days,it is as advertised,the lake is magical,standing on the balcony overlooking the lake it is probably the most beautiful lake I have ever seen and swimming in the lake is great,the crystal clear water is a perfect temperature,the house and grounds are spectacular,location is great,lots to see and do,we will be returning and staying longer,had a great time thank you Esther and Andy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A very quiet and relaxing location
Liked least: We liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking. Relaxing. Dreamy.”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a whole month. What an amazing place to spend Christmas and New Years with our 2 small kids and pile of extended family. Even though we were traveling as a large group (at least 8 most of the time), there were many places to hide out and relax in a quiet hammock, terrific swimming and a beautiful and spacious house to entertain, cook/bbq and be truly on holidays!

Esther and her team all took such wonderful care of us throughout our stay and we daydream of returning. Hopefully sometime soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views, swimming every day, hammocks everywhere!
Liked least: low pressure in the showers... but you are up a mountain from the water.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary P
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is fantastic. The house, the property, the lake, the community, all truly fantastic. As are the owners and the caretakers. The house is a wonderful open concept design with an inescapable and gorgeous view of the lake/lagoon. And the property is also right on the lake. I swim at least twice daily - once as a wonderful wake up in the morning, and once for "floating happy hour" in the early evening. Sipping on a cold Toña while chilling out in one of the floating chairs, looking up at the forested crater walls all round and the fantastic skies, listening to the monkeys howl – it is truly magical. The water should be cold because the lake is so deep, but it is not because it is fed from hot springs that are just a 10 minute walk up the beach. Someone told me there would be no breeze here because of the crater walls but that is not at all true, it is wonderfully breezy most of the time, and because of the open design, it blows through the whole house. Oh and great wifi here as well. This is a quiet and peaceful property, but there are several bars/restaurants within walking distance, as well as a “pulperia” – a little local convenience store that has lots of basics (fruit, veggies, eggs, beer!). And it is easy to get to and from Granada, Masaya, Managua, Ometepe, San Juan del Sur, etc. I am almost finished spending a month here and the only way I can stand to leave is to put down my deposit to secure my return visit, which I have done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: I love the openness of the house, and the constant breeze. Even inside the house you feel like you are outside.
Liked least: I really can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smithhend...
Friendsville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would love to return !”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was a perfect spot to escape winter in Northeastern U.S.. The house is lake front with a stack of water toys and a beautiful Cabana to relax out of the sun . There were several restaurants within walking distance but the kitchen is fully equipped and we usually just ate in. We enjoyed having WiFi and even though there was no cell service we were able to stay in touch via emails and Skype calls.There is no AC, but all the rooms had fans . The house is a comfortable open air design which is one of the things that I enjoy most about tropical living. Every morning we woke to the birds and had our coffee on the deck while we waited for the monkeys to make their trek down the hill to the trees near the lake. The furnishings were comfortable and indestructible, which was greatly appreciated since we frequently stayed in our wet bathing suits until past sunset. The location is a good spot to set off from for other adventures also. I do recommend having a rental car if you are staying anywhere on the lake. There are chicken buses and you can call for shuttles ( the owner Esther was great about having everyone's favorite driver, Andy, pick us up and deliver us when we did need a ride) but there are so many things to do nearby and endless day trips that we loved having the car. The beds were numerous and comfortable. This would be a perfect spot for a family Christmas destination. Thank you Alchemy on the Lake, Esther and Andy for a great stay !

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skyeannej...
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful Spacious Haven”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

An absolutely beautiful property, it had everything we ( 3 couples ) wanted. Besides an aesthetically pleasing structure, the house is well equipped. for larger groups. The kitchen had everything we needed to make food preparation convenient and enjoyable. We liked that the Alchemy was spacious and had ample room / privacy for everyone. Even having 3 hammocks was a plus as everyone could enjoy them.
The lake is beautiful and we swam in it daily --crystal clear, warm water. The kayaks and water boards were a plus; enjoyed by all.
The location makes it easy to go on day trips to the surrounding area / towns and to return to the Alchemy ( specifically the ranchero ) to relax and enjoy the water.
Esther was easy to contact and always answered any questions we had......she was a wealth of information. The caretakers were always assessable and helpful.
We spent a week at Alchemy on the Lake and loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing