We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the dull exterior.”
Review of Step House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Step House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We travelled 135 miles to stay just one night in The Step House Hotel. We were never in Borris before and probably will never be again, although this hotel could tempt us back!
The Hotel is right on the one street of Borris and has a dull grey exterior. However, reception is bright and friendly.
The lobby has a welcome open fireplace and the fire is up and warm early in the morning. Who doesn't like to sit before a good log fire and read the morning newspapers provided by the hotel? To the left of this fireplace you will find a splendid bar where you can have delicious food and a drink in comfort.
We were availing of a CITYDEAL offer and had the use of the Penthouse Suite. Boy, is it impressive! It's very private, cut off by its own door and staircase. Entry is by electronic key. The lounge area is massive, considering that the suite accommodates only two people. It is comprised of desk area, dining area with large table and six chairs, sitting area with loungers and easy chairs and a large tv. The lounge opens onto a large balcony with a view of miles of beautiful countryside, distant mountains and lazy clouds. Lovely to wake up to! The lighting set into the ceiling is on dimmers, so you can set your own mood.
The bedroom has a very comfortable six foot bed and lots of room. Off the bedroom is a very generous bathroom with double washbasins, bath, shower and toilet. (We were disappointed to find a constant unpleasant smell coming from the toilet area, but we brought this to the attention of reception so hopefully this has been remedied.)
We were surprised to find a separate dressing room complete with sauna and built-in radio.
The suite is very well planned, but the carpet is showing signs of overuse.
The suite was extra warm, so winter should be no problem.
In the morning we had a very tasty breakfast in the cellar room. This looks out onto a very well cared-for garden. The supply of juices, fruits, jams etc was plentiful. The cooked breakfast was excellent - after the gorgeous porridge with honey and cream.
Before you leave, take a stroll around the grounds of the hotel and enjoy as many as three beautiful gardens.
We loved this hotel and we imagine that it would be a fantastic venue for a small family wedding or other occasion.
Finally, the staff were fabulous and extremely friendly. Go visit www.stephousehotel.ie

Room Tip: Ask about a deal on the Penthouse Suite. Check the rackrate on the website and try to get a couple o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 377 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed here making use of a City Deal voucher. Hotel fronts onto the street but has a small car park and a nice garden at the back. This hotel is very popular for weddings. We were particularly pleased with breakfast: good selection of fresh fruit and the porridge is delicious. Unfortunately during our stay there was no television reception.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank michaelolough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Hi we had a lovely meal last night in the stephouse, the main course and dessert were fantastic, my only slight complaint was that there could have been perhaps more veg to accompany the meal as my husband came home a little hungry. There was also a leak with a small amount of water splashing me. The waiters inital reaction was to reply that you have to expect leaks in a house of more than 200 years old . We just moved the table with the help of the waiter. I would definatly go back.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ciarad524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We got married here and we would highly recommend it. The rooms are fantastic. The gardens on to mount Leinster give a lovely sense of isolation. The restaurant and wedding food food is fantastic. The bar food menu is also excellent and we prefer the atmosphere there, where there is the most fabulous
tiny garden. We have only 2 pieces of advise, Hot water for showers ran out after 10.30 or 11 and secondly avoid dealing with Angela if possible as we very disappointed with her performance. The rest of the staff were top class.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatsbyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connectedthinking, Manager at Step House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear gatsbyscott,

Many thanks for your overwhelmingly positive review. It is always extremely gratifying for myself, the family and all the staff to see such a positive review and gives us all a little morale boost. All of us are delighted you enjoyed your wedding and that we met your expectations for such an important day for you.
I note what you say about issues you had and I will look into them. I am a little perplexed about the issue you had with Angela as we think she is a stellar operator and a lovely person to boot. Perhaps you might call me directly in this regard.

All best wishes.
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

we stayed here, without our family, for an overnight break away.we bought voucher from city deal.We had never heard of the hotel, its location, or anyone else who visited there.I agree with the last comment i read about this place, it truely is a hidden gem.From the moment you enter Borris you get a true feeling of a very united community that strive to make this small remote village,a great place to visit.The hotel situated on the main street into the village,is a small boutique hotel,enhanced by a very well kept exterior.As you enter the reception area, you sense that your stay here is going to be special.From the inviting and friendly staff who work here and the very elegant interior throughout.The rooms are extremely spacious, with attention to every last detail in interior evident.There really has been no expense spared.All areas throughout hotel are very well kept and clean.We ate in the restaurant, and were lucky enough to get a table at 9pm on a tues eve!so be warned,book in advance.After having one of the nicest meals i've ever had, i can understand why this place books up quickly.The menu may seem pricey, however the standards are extremely high, and that is reflected in the prices.The waiting staff and service was very good, considering it was a very busy evening.The bar is a lovely place for a nice drink with a very good atmosphere, and mix of people.A trip down the street to nearby o'sheas pub is a must, as recommended by the hotel.A traditional pub to say the least! a warm welcome to Borris will await you from a little old dear, Mr.Jim Strong!A true character who is a regular in here for his tipple, i believe!After a great nights sleep in an oversized bed, a great breakfast awaits you i the beautiful breakfast room.Overall i rate this hotel very highly,and well worth a visit.Either as a base for travelling the south east, as it borders, Co.Carlow/Killkenny/Wexford, or as a break away for night as we were.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louth_magsN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepHouseHotel, Manager at Step House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Hello Louth_MagsN

Thank you for the very positive review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future as it was a pleasure to look after you and your husband. I hope you didn't miss your children too much, something you mentioned as we conversed in the lobby.

The very best of luck to you both.

Warmest regards

James Jr.
Step House Hotel

P.S.

I would like to congratulate Jim Strong for burrowing his way onto TripAdvisor. For those who have not had the opportunity to meet his acquaintance, let it be known that it is memorable! In Borris, a village full character and characters, this 90 year old's shines the brightest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borris
19.4 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
25.0 km away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
23.7 km away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
324 reviews
23.9 km away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
696 reviews
26.7 km away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step House Hotel

Address: Step House Hotel Main Street, Borris, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Borris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Price Range: RM403 - RM752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Step House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Step House Hotel Carlow is a beautiful Georgian town house brimming with character, that has been lovingly transformed into a warm boutique Carlow hotel.Escape to the country in style and enjoy the relaxed elegance of Ireland's most luxurious 4 star boutique hotel situated in County Carlow. The Step House Hotel Carlow offers Luxurious surroundings with warm, charming hospitality. Balanced with great service, we offer some of the south east's finest food creations.The Step House Hotel Carlow is located in the pretty heritage village of Borris, which borders counties Kilkenny and Wexford. This unique location benefits from the magnificient backdrop of the heather-clad Blackstairs mountains and beautiful banks of the river Barrow.Conveniently located just 115km from Dublin, 128 km from Dublin Airport, 26 km from Kilkenny City, 29 km from Carlow Town, 86 km from Waterford Airport and 79 km from Rosslare Harbour . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Step House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing