We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special”
Review of Step House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Step House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The Step house is a real gem! It is a small, exquisitely furnished (think roccoco but not overwhelmingly so), stylish but very comfortable family run Hotel in the picturesque town of Borris. There are lovely river walks and mountain scenery all about and there are many amenities within ten minutes to half an hour car journeys. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the food is remarkably good. Even were one not to stay there the daily lunch menu is gourmet fare at pauper's prices! Graiguenamanagh, Inistiogue, Thomastown are all easily reached and Kilkenny and Carlow are about half an hour away. Its a real 'get away from it all' place where you will enjoy the benefits of unobtrusive cossetting!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toberdaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 370 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in Step House last friday night and then Kilkenny on saturday night. Really wished we had done it the other way around, as kilkenny hotel was the usual hen night mess and Borris was such a lovely relaxing time. We had been to the step house hotel for a meal last feb and promised we would be back to stay. It took a while, but we finally made it and it certainly didn't disappoint. We ate in the bar this time, as we got down late enough and didn't really fancy a formal dinner. The food in the bar is fabulous as well and really nice atmosphere.
Beautiful hotel, lovely room, great staff, wonderful location, tasty breakfast. We couldn't ask for more and certainly couldn't fault it.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: Book well in advance. Lots of weddings and hard enough to get rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stew_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Second visit to Step House Hotel, this time for a birthday party. Our hosts James & Cait Cody and their family always make everyone feel welcome. A bright fire in the lobby sets the tone and the genuineness of Aisling and her fellow receptionists augers well for ones stay. Rooms are beautifully appointed, though the TV channels are limited! Food is really excellent - well done main Chef Alan, a family member. Another plus are the great scenic walks around Borris. This family run boutique hotel is well worth a visit - a popular spot for weddings with lovely private gardens off the function room .
Another visit a must for us. Thank you all the Cody/Foley family. F&F

Room Tip: Plan you break by deciding where you would like to see before arriving in this small Co Carlow town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RetireeOldcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I've been here four times now and it's 60 miles away from my house in Dublin. Keep coming back. Unbelievable food (award winning) and a great wine list. Not cheap, but the best things in life rarely. Great value for money. Can't recommend this enough. I haven't stayed but the restaurant is Michelin quality

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Con_Keppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My wife and I received a gift of a night in Step House, it was a rainy November afternoon and we arrived into the most welcoming atmosphere, with open fires and smiling staff, the room was large, warm, comfortable, with interiors to die for, we met the owner and her daughter, they were so friendly and accommodating, they really looked after us and our little guest Louis, Borris is a beautiful town with Step House being the Jewel in the crown, we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borris
19.4 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
25.0 km away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
23.7 km away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
324 reviews
23.9 km away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
696 reviews
26.7 km away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step House Hotel

Address: Step House Hotel Main Street, Borris, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Borris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Price Range: RM403 - RM752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Step House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Step House Hotel Carlow is a beautiful Georgian town house brimming with character, that has been lovingly transformed into a warm boutique Carlow hotel.Escape to the country in style and enjoy the relaxed elegance of Ireland's most luxurious 4 star boutique hotel situated in County Carlow. The Step House Hotel Carlow offers Luxurious surroundings with warm, charming hospitality. Balanced with great service, we offer some of the south east's finest food creations.The Step House Hotel Carlow is located in the pretty heritage village of Borris, which borders counties Kilkenny and Wexford. This unique location benefits from the magnificient backdrop of the heather-clad Blackstairs mountains and beautiful banks of the river Barrow.Conveniently located just 115km from Dublin, 128 km from Dublin Airport, 26 km from Kilkenny City, 29 km from Carlow Town, 86 km from Waterford Airport and 79 km from Rosslare Harbour . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Step House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing