We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Lord Bagenal Inn(Leighlinbridge)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$265
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$155
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilford Arms Hotel(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$144
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pembroke Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$215
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
347
78
22
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
78
22
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount leinsterwedding venuetop classbeautiful hotelthe penthousevenisonsunday lunchnext morningcellar restaurantamazing weddingwedding receptionfunction roomcooked to perfectionlast weekendreturn visitlovely stafffood was fantastic
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Went with group of girl friends. Had great night. Lovely selection on menu. Great area for groups in bar. Bar staff a little slow to serve drinks can be left waiting at bar for some time. Lobby is lovely and toilets are lovely.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank marydb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We were invited by our hosts Cait & James Coady to spend a weekend with them in Borris. We arrived early on the Friday evening to be warmly welcomed as usual by staff and our hosts. The gardens are in great shape and worthy of spending time there. The food as always was delicious. Two of the waiting staff need special mention - Michael & Rebecca. Housekeeping was great. Views from all rooms are great The walks around Borris have great views of Mount Leinster. But the warmth of the welcome and the "hands on" of our hosts is what makes the Stephouse Hotel a special place. Would recommend this hotel to everyone we know!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RetireeOldcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

The food is top class. As good as any top class restraunt in a big city. Service etc first class. The portions look a little small but the flavour more than makes up so full marks to all. The surrounds with gardens are really nice. Will definitely be back again .

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We had been to wedding here a few years back and when we saw a promotion on Pigsback we decided we would give it a try, we weren't disappointed. Smooth easy check in and we were advised to book dinner, which we did. There was a buzz around the place with a lot of people eating lunch while we were checking in,always a good sign
Bright clean room with a small balcony overlooking beautiful gardens. Big bathroom with separate bath and shower.
Dinner was in the bar and it was full at 8pm on a Wednesday night, pleasant friendly staff, great service and the food was good. I had the Chicken and my husband had the fish and chips, Crete brûlée for dessert and an excellent French coffee.
Breakfast the following morning was downstairs, lovely fresh fruit salad (that contained fresh fruit not tinned), pastries and cereal, lovely hot breakfast.
The deal we booked on Pigsback was €99 B&B and a bottle of wine in the room, we really enjoyed our stay and we will be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Terrianne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Breakfast review:

Superbly presented; buffet laid out with amazing assortment of choices: fresh fruit salad, bowls of yogurt, fresh strawberries, homemade marmalade and jam. I'm ashamed to say that I consumed a greedy amount of the most delicious strawberries I've eaten this season!

Even although it would subsequently be a hot summer's day, a coal fire was set and lit at about half past seven in the morning to make the entrance hall cosy.

An irresistible hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John987053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews