We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming restful quality oasis in Step House Hotel”
Review of Step House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Step House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We highly recommend The Step House Hotel. 90 minutes from Bray, this fabulous hotel was a pleasure to visit. Each area of hotel is exquisitely furnished to compliment the architecture and every window embraces the outdoor courtyards and manicured gardens, This family run hotel exudes warmth and we were made to feel at home immediately. The reception's open fire was lit in the afternoon and again next morning which makes for a lovely atmosphere. The Cellar restraunt is elegant and bright and served one of the best breakfasts in years! We inquired abut the Penthouse suite and the waitress offered to give us a mini tour, how cool. I can't wait to go back and spend even longer in this hotel and to see the friendly faces again.Definitely great value for money too.

Room Tip: Rooms elegantly furnished, very comfortable beds, views of courtyards, flower gardens, a range of ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Went with group of girl friends. Had great night. Lovely selection on menu. Great area for groups in bar. Bar staff a little slow to serve drinks can be left waiting at bar for some time. Lobby is lovely and toilets are lovely.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank marydb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We were invited by our hosts Cait & James Coady to spend a weekend with them in Borris. We arrived early on the Friday evening to be warmly welcomed as usual by staff and our hosts. The gardens are in great shape and worthy of spending time there. The food as always was delicious. Two of the waiting staff need special mention - Michael & Rebecca. Housekeeping was great. Views from all rooms are great The walks around Borris have great views of Mount Leinster. But the warmth of the welcome and the "hands on" of our hosts is what makes the Stephouse Hotel a special place. Would recommend this hotel to everyone we know!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RetireeOldcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

The food is top class. As good as any top class restraunt in a big city. Service etc first class. The portions look a little small but the flavour more than makes up so full marks to all. The surrounds with gardens are really nice. Will definitely be back again .

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We had been to wedding here a few years back and when we saw a promotion on Pigsback we decided we would give it a try, we weren't disappointed. Smooth easy check in and we were advised to book dinner, which we did. There was a buzz around the place with a lot of people eating lunch while we were checking in,always a good sign
Bright clean room with a small balcony overlooking beautiful gardens. Big bathroom with separate bath and shower.
Dinner was in the bar and it was full at 8pm on a Wednesday night, pleasant friendly staff, great service and the food was good. I had the Chicken and my husband had the fish and chips, Crete brûlée for dessert and an excellent French coffee.
Breakfast the following morning was downstairs, lovely fresh fruit salad (that contained fresh fruit not tinned), pastries and cereal, lovely hot breakfast.
The deal we booked on Pigsback was €99 B&B and a bottle of wine in the room, we really enjoyed our stay and we will be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Terrianne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borris
19.4 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
25.0 km away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
23.7 km away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
324 reviews
23.9 km away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
697 reviews
26.7 km away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step House Hotel

Address: Step House Hotel Main Street, Borris, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Borris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Price Range: RM397 - RM721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Step House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Step House Hotel Carlow is a beautiful Georgian town house brimming with character, that has been lovingly transformed into a warm boutique Carlow hotel.Escape to the country in style and enjoy the relaxed elegance of Ireland's most luxurious 4 star boutique hotel situated in County Carlow. The Step House Hotel Carlow offers Luxurious surroundings with warm, charming hospitality. Balanced with great service, we offer some of the south east's finest food creations.The Step House Hotel Carlow is located in the pretty heritage village of Borris, which borders counties Kilkenny and Wexford. This unique location benefits from the magnificient backdrop of the heather-clad Blackstairs mountains and beautiful banks of the river Barrow.Conveniently located just 115km from Dublin, 128 km from Dublin Airport, 26 km from Kilkenny City, 29 km from Carlow Town, 86 km from Waterford Airport and 79 km from Rosslare Harbour . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Step House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing