We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
148
33
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
33
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkeggs benedictbiscuitslovely decorbreakfast was deliciouschoice of fresh fruitb and beach morningsmall talkfree parking passbreakfast hamperice blockskettle with tea coffeethe main high streetleft alonefull englishyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at Durham House many times over the years and it's always been excellent. This time we had been notified by the friendly owners Richard and Sophie, that changes had been made to the breakfast arrangements. We arrived to find the whole place had been refurbished and was bright and cheerful but it was the breakfast set up that was the real innovation. Our room (5) had a fridge containing milk with a table (laid with bowls, plates etc for two) and chairs set out in the bay window overlooking the pretty street. We had a choice of the continental breakfast left outside our room at 8am or to bring our own breakfast ie room only. The latter suited us on this occasion and how lovely to eat our fruit, yoghurt and cereal in our pyjamas! Watching the world go by. One of the drawbacks of b and b can be having to get up, showered and dressed quite early and down to breakfast to make small talk with strangers, which is not always what you want to do if not a morning person! To eat in a peaceful much more leisurely way was wonderful. Shower and dress after breakfast and generally have a more relaxed start to the day, after all it is a holiday. As the weather warms up, on our next visit, we plan to order the breakfast basket and take it to the beach as apparently it is very portable. We can highly recommend the new set up and wish Richard and Sophie every success as they continue to offer a modern take on b and b to their usual high standard.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We travelled in the recent 'red warning' snow storms but had no issue getting there. Other guests had cancelled though so we were the only one's staying for the three nights we were there.

It is a lovely period building and has been freshly decorated and carpeted for the new season.

We had a room at the front overlooking Fore Street (the main street down to the sea) but it wasn't noisy (it was 'out of season though). All facilities as required were there for us (including a fridge - thoughtful addition)

They serve a continental breakfast which is dropped in a basket outside your bedroom door at 8.00am. It was plentiful and good quality. Our room had a table in the window bay so was nice to sit there and watch the world go by for breakfast.

Shower pressure was a little low but that can be an issue in older buildings, and was adequate.

The parking permit doesn't apply at this time of year but the car-park is only £2/day out of season and the ticket transfers to other East Devon car-parks during your days out which is handy. Note - the 'day' starts at 8.00am so I popped down to get a new ticket before we had breakfast but I don't think there will be wardens waiting to pounce as the clock strikes 8.00am.... (its about 2-3 minute walk to car-park from Durham House)

It is a great location being about 400m walk straight down to the cove/beach and is opposite a corner store shop. Three pubs on road down to the cove (best is Anchor Inn, right at entrance to beach) and other shops, cafes, eateries, etc. (many were closed due to season time and the bad snow weather in the area).

We were there to use Beer as a base to go off during the day to explore other parts of the coast but headed back in evenings to eat and drink in Beer village.

Recommended place to stay and Durham House is a good place to stop

Room Tip: We found front room (No6) OK for noise but may be noisier in summer season?
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We decided on a spur of the moment weekend break to Beer. Booked Durham House, so pleased this is a fantastic b&b in the beautiful village of Beer. We arrived before check in and they kindly let us leave our bags and supplied us with a free parking pass for our stay. We returned later after a stroll round village to a beautiful ensuite room. Lovely decor, warm, comfy and spacious room. Breakfast was excellent too. Fresh fruit, cereals and full English or as I had Eggs benedict with there homemade hollandiase sauce, delicious. Will definitely return and recommend.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Lovely B + B Came down to Beer for a Wedding Great room at the back of the house overlooking the garden Tastefully decorated and lovely furnishings Bathroom excellent breakfast very good But the let down was the view from the patio windows An old bathtub, rubbish bags and a pile of dogs mess Not the best thing to look out on first thing in the morning and could have done with some heating as the room felt cold and damp.

Room Tip: Room 10 is great
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilclarkson52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhjackson, Owner at Durham House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thankyou for you review, The windows from your room look out onto our private vegetable garden which is currently under renovation (hence the large plastic planter you mistaken for an old bath and bags of Beer stone being used to repair the old stone wall). No rubbish is visible from the room unless you entered our private garden & patio area. We will increase the size of the private signs for future guests so as to avoid confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We booked a Kingsize room which was at the rear of the property and of a good size and prettily decorated in a country cottage manner. It had dual aspect windows and overlooked the sloping garden, along with an en-suite bathroom with a large, powerful shower. The bed was big and very comfortable, huge fluffy white bath towels are provided and there are tea/coffee making facilities and the jar of toffees was a nice touch along with biscuits too. The breakfasts are excellent with a good choice of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, toast, eggs Benedict, fried breakfast or crepes with maple syrup which were delicious. You certainly won't go hungry! Everyone was very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. It's very handy that a parking pass is included in the price. We've stayed here 3 times now and would definitely recommend it as a great place to stay in Beer.

Room Tip: The King Size room is nice & quiet
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orangekat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews