We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/09/21
Priceline
US$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$66
View deal
eDreamsUS$78
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
80
31
8
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
31
8
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2021

Great location in the beautiful setting of Beer - perfect for glamping with friends. 10 minute walk from the beach with good facilities for cooking BBQs, toilets and showers. Very friendly staff who answered all our questions.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank eaglejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil Maddock, General Manager at YHA Beer, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Thank you for your lovely comments Eaglejazz its lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will come and stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2021

Beautiful spot and hostel but service was officious and unwelcoming. We thought youth hostels were supposed to be for young people developing their independence in a safe protected way. Not the case for our mature respectful girls at this hostel. Completely different experience to other hostels around the country which we have always found to be very friendly and welcoming to families. What a shame.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank anonymousK7158TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil Maddock, General Manager at YHA Beer, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback following your recent stay at our hostel, believe it or not we get as much benefit from reading about the experiences that did not go to plan as we do the ones that were great so really appreciate you taking the time to comment. It is unfortunate that you have chosen to leave your review anonymous as I woud be nice to have the opportunity to investigate thoroughly the events during your stay.

As your comments are so out of character for this hostel i am now looking into the events of your stay myself and i assure you that any findings will be acted upon to ensure that others do not receive the same experience.

Should you require any further response from myself can i please ask you to visit our website and follow the complaints procedure listed there in order that I can then respond to you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2021

An absolutely appalling stay at this yha. Firstly she is an unwelcoming, attitudinal, grinch who made it her mission to ensure that we didn’t enjoy our stay. Firstly she didn’t make enough beds for the number of people that had booked. Secondly she became very hostile at having to prepare the correct number of rooms that had paid to stay there IN ADVANCED. She didn’t show us around the building nor did she show us where things were or how she wanted the building to be left.
Throughout the stay as people were checking in she vacate very hostile towards paying guests who drove onto the grounds to park in the allocated car park.
As if she wasn’t horrible enough coincidently the hot water turned off during our evening bbq and ALL THE WATER turned off on the morning of checkout. She did not allow us to leave our belongings in the building on the day of check out even though no one else was staying that day.

I would highly discourage anyone from booking this YHA as it does not align with the traditional friendly atmosphere that hostels are known for. She clearly cannot cope with large groups and doesn’t appreciate people trying to boost the British economy after a year in lockdown.

The stressed caused by the management on site really did ruin a lovely weekend. YHA should really rethink the managers they have representing their brand.

In addition to all of this the hostel is difficult and expensive to get to by public transport/taxi.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kellykimberlysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil Maddock, General Manager at YHA Beer, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Hi Kelly and thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback following your recent stay at our hostel, believe it or not we get as much benefit from reading about the experiences that did not go to plan as we do the ones that were great so really appreciate you taking the time to comment.

As your comments are so out of character for this hostel i am now looking into the events of your stay myself and i assure you that any findings will be acted upon to ensure that others do not receive the same experience.

Should you require any further response from myself can i please ask you to visit our website and follow the complaints procedure listed there in order that I can then respond to you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2020

We just returned from a great 2 night stay at YHA Beer, having exclusively hired the hostel for our group of 22 people including 10 kids aged 2-12 across 6 families. It’s really spacious, didn’t feel at all cramped for that many people. Good sized rooms for different families, each family were able to have their own space. Easy to organise with the YHA, lots of info and helpful to deal with. Would definitely recommend and will hopefully return

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank HughesyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil Maddock, General Manager at YHA Beer, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Thank you for the kind words and hopefully we will get to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2019

I stayed here for a few nights over the Xmas period whilst visiting family in the area. As I had a friend with me and was on a tight budget I chose this hostel. I love staying in hostels and the town of Beer, so this location was perfect. I’m happy to say it was a very positive experience. Fabulous, efficient staff, and nice to meet like minded guests too! Had we not been eating with relatives we would have tried to breakfast as a vegan option would advertised. The hostel was so quiet and really idyllic with a pretty view. I am sure I will be back in the summer and can take advantage of the scenic walks. Thank you to all the staff.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank LozOutLoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews