We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful with a beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful with a beautiful view”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The view from the rooms is fantastic, you really couldn't be any closer to a beautiful beach. The hotel is in a quiet part of the island which is great for relaxing. It is close (10 min drive) to the popular and busy Muri beach. They had a wedding booked during our visit which meant we couldn't really use the beach in the afternoon. The restaurant attached has very good food but not open for lunch.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtleway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    81
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
39
136
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at Moana Sands for 10 days in which we got married. We chose Moana Sands because of the location and the beautiful and remote beach. You cant fault the room service and service of the front desk. You have to remember it is a hotel not resort!

Would highly recommend for Wedding parties as well as couples.

Also my daughter who is 2 loved running around the beach from our room and into the water. It is really safe, as it is more of a lagoon without swell

Room Tip: If you want to keep to your self more, ask for levels 2 or 3 in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aussie_si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We (2 couples) stayed here for 4 nights. We had 2 connecting rooms on the ground floor - which meant we'd open our sliding door and walk 6 steps to the beach. The beach has super soft sand and the turquoise waters just sparkle. We spent many hours snorkelling here - gear complimentary from the hotel. There were sufficient deckchairs. The grounds were well manicured on a daily basis.

The rooms were lovely although the beds are a lil soft. The pillows were comfy. There was plenty of space to move around.

The restaurant is one of the best on the island. Definitely make sure you have a dinner here. The complimentary breakfast was basic but you can always order of the a la carte menu - $8 for eggs on toast.

We would stay here again :)

Room Tip: Loved being on the ground floor as its just steps to soft sand
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My husband and I just returned from our 8th stay at this hotel. It is on THE best part of Rarotonga's lagoon--excellent for snorkeling and kayaking. The staff is very personable and helpful. We like the ground floor units because we can walk from our room to the ocean in 40 steps! The third floor rooms are more luxurious. All rooms have great ocean views.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We got married in Rarotonga and the Moana Sands was a fantastic base for us.

We had the most amazing time and the staff at Moana Sands we so friedly and would do anything to help you. We stayed in the hotel and had one of the lager rooms on the 3rd floor. It was spotless, cleaned every day except Sunday. The cleaners were lovely too!

I think it was better here than one of the bigger "resort" hotels as you weren't treated as a number, they got to know your name. The beach was very clean too and right on your door step! There is a bus stop right outside which is really handy.

I can't wait to go back, it was heaven!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saraht83_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
2.6 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.4 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
527 reviews
6.5 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
6.4 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
6.7 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas

Property: Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
Address: Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Price range (per night): RM848 - RM1,203
Hotel Class:3 star — Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel is located at Titikaveka on the southern coast of the island. There are six ground floor beachfront studios, six first floor beachfront studios & five top floor deluxe beachfront studios. We have four sets of interconnecting rooms (two on ground floor & two on first floor). All rooms are ABSULOTE beachfront, each with its own private balcony. Snorkelling equipment, Kayaks & beach towels are complimentary to guests. All rooms have a small kitchenette, LCD TV’s with SKY, air-conditioning & are all non-smoking. We have a hotel BBQ on the beach that is available for guests to use otherwise The Pawpaw Patch Restaurant is open daily for Breakfast & Dinner, seven days a week.Moana Sands Beachfront Villas are located at Vaimaanga, a five mins drive away from Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel. There are six villas; three on the ground floor & three upstairs. Each villa has two bedrooms and two bathrooms. All villas are ABSOLUTE beachfront, each with its own patio or balcony, Modern kitchen, Spacious open-plan lounge/dining, TV/DVD/Music System/ipod dock/Sky TV/Wifi internet. Guests have access to complimentary snorkelling gear, kayaks & beach towels. Units are fully serviced six days per week & guests are provided with a Complimentary breakfast starter pack on arrival. A BBQ on the beach is available for guests to use. All villas are air-conditioned and non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel And Villas
Moana Sands Beachfront Titikaveka
Hotel Moana Sands Beachfront
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas Titikaveka, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing