We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royale Takitumu(Titikaveka)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea Change Villas(Titikaveka)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sands Villas(Titikaveka)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Heliconia Hideaway(Titikaveka)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
380
24
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
24
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn and rachelhome bakingfresh fruitbedroom villaherb gardenbeach towelsfishreef shoesstocked pantrycook islandsacross the roadpersonal touchamazing hostsbest beach on the islandboard gamesbeautiful beachthought of everything
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017

The location is beautiful, especially for snorkeling. I was lucky to have quite a few ripe passion fruits on the vine near the villa where I was staying. There were also some ripe bananas in the garden, and it's also very nice to have some fresh aromatic herbs from the garden.

Fred and Grace provide a warm welcome and are very helpful.

The villa Tia where I stayed, needs some renovation.
The mattresses are worn out and uncomfortable, a set of drawers had a very bad moldy smell when you open them, you're not allowed to change the combination of the safe, which is set to something very simple (probably because the lock is broken, so if a guest forgot the code or let the safe close when leaving, the management won't be able to open the safe) and one of the 2 burners on the stove is not working.

Still, a very nice stay overall.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your review which I was extremely disappointed to read as we pride ourselves on keeping all our villas in top condition and guests are always commenting on how beautiful and well looked after they are.
Please note the following in reply to your comments....
The mattress in your villa is relatively new and definitely not "worn out" We have only ever had positive comments from those who have slept in that bed.
The set of drawers are always aired out between guests and I checked them my self not so long ago and they do NOT have a mouldy smell.
No guests have ever complained about being given the combination for the safe.
The other thing we pride ourselves on is getting things rectified if something goes wrong.If one of the burners on the hob was not working we don't know unless you tell us and then we can fix it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed as a family at Makayla Palms from the 28th Jan to 5th Feb. We had a great time and the service provided was so nice.
We got endeared to the place mainly because of the simplicity and openness and efficiency of the hosts. Making particular mentions of Grace and Loving and their families.
We were provided with a large bowl of fruits on arrival and everything was so wonderful that we would definitely want to stay there again on our next visit.

We did have one AC not working but it was promptly replaced by an alternate. We used the family car for the whole of our visit, which we found very useful too.
Picked up at the Airport and being garlanded by lovely Grace, took us by surprise.
The garden --fruit trees and flowers very immaculately nurtured.

All in all we were very happy and would recommend the place to travellers wanting a home away from home and close to the beach and and and---

Thank You Grace..

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dsouza_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Delighted to read your review and that you will definitely stay with us again on your next visit. Thank you!
We have wonderful staff looking after Makayla Palms for us and repeatedly we hear about the excellent service that they provide. Makayla Palms is all about those who visit and having them go home with happy memories and a desire to return. Your review shows just that!
We look forward to seeing you again in paradise
John, Rachel and the Makayla team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at Makayla Palms! Lovely villas equiped with everything, stunning waterfront but most of all the MP team were incredible, extremely helpful and kind! Thank you Grace and Alfred!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Delighted to read your review and that you loved your stay at Makayla Palms. Your kind of comment truly makes all the hard work worth while
Thank you so much for your high praise of our staff. We are immensely proud of them.
We hope that you will return again soon to enjoy our little corner of paradise.
thanks again
John, Rachel and the Makayla team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Makayla Palms for a week and absolutely loved it.

Rachel greeted us at the airport in a very friendly manner and showed us around the villa.
We were so impressed with the facilities available and the home baking.
Everything was so clean and suited our needs.
The cooking facilities were great for our meals and cocktails.
Having the beach at our doorstep (a short 1min stroll) was an absolute delight, we really enjoyed the snorkeling and kayaking, so much so that my partner proposed to me out snorkeling!

Grace, Loving and Fred were so kind to us throughout stay, always a pleasure to have them ask how we are yet let us have privacy too.

I would highly recommend Makayla Palms to anyone visiting Rarotonga and hope to return for our wedding

Thank you so much for everything.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Lucie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Stunning news! Congratulations on your engagement following a trip to the beach to snorkel.
Loved that you so enjoyed your stay...the villas, the wonderful beach and Grace, Fred and Loving ..our staff who so enjoy the contact they have with our guests
Fingers crossed that you are able to return to paradise for your wedding
John,Rachel, Grace, Fred and Loving

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Set on the most spectacular section of the lagoon on Rarotonga, Makayla Palms is with out a doubt a truly magical place. Grace, Loving and Fred were our main contacts and went over and above to make it a memorable stay for us. We were new to the Island and these wonderful people guided us through any queries we had whilst we were guests. The accommodation itself is 10/10 perfect, both the grounds and the villas are kept at a VERY high standard. All guests were able to pick fruit from the thriving passion fruit vines, lime trees, Paw Paw trees and incredible herb garden.
Everything we needed, beach towels, snorkelling equipment, BBQ and all facilities were there for us to use - which we absolutely did!
I know that without a doubt we will be back and I would recommend Makayla Palms to anyone!

Room Tip: Tia Villa is closest to the water.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay as a new visitor to the island and you are happy to recommend us to anyone!
We do have high standards in the villas for our guests and we love them to visit our herb gardens when they are cooking and to pick any ripe fruit from the gardens. We take as much pride with the gardens as our villas and know that guests appreciate both.
It was easy to tell from your review that you had a very enjoyable and happy stay......come back and see us soon!
John, Rachel and the Makayla team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews