We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional location. A paradise to behold. No surprises.”
Review of Makayla Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makayla Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Th beach is the best on the island...gorgeous, sandy, easy to swim and snorkel. We had the opportunity to see all beaches and this beach was the best. Very private and the sunsets are to die for..so beautiful.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect..but choose depending on number of people. All rooms are a.short distance fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thanks for your review and letting readers know just how wonderful the beach is.
Certainly an excellent and safe place to swim, kayak and snorkel and so pleased that you enjoyed it
The Makayla Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2017

The location is beautiful, especially for snorkeling. I was lucky to have quite a few ripe passion fruits on the vine near the villa where I was staying. There were also some ripe bananas in the garden, and it's also very nice to have some fresh aromatic herbs from the garden.

Fred and Grace provide a warm welcome and are very helpful.

The villa Tia where I stayed, needs some renovation.
The mattresses are worn out and uncomfortable, a set of drawers had a very bad moldy smell when you open them, you're not allowed to change the combination of the safe, which is set to something very simple (probably because the lock is broken, so if a guest forgot the code or let the safe close when leaving, the management won't be able to open the safe) and one of the 2 burners on the stove is not working.

Still, a very nice stay overall.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your review which I was extremely disappointed to read as we pride ourselves on keeping all our villas in top condition and guests are always commenting on how beautiful and well looked after they are.
Please note the following in reply to your comments....
The mattress in your villa is relatively new and definitely not "worn out" We have only ever had positive comments from those who have slept in that bed.
The set of drawers are always aired out between guests and I checked them my self not so long ago and they do NOT have a mouldy smell.
No guests have ever complained about being given the combination for the safe.
The other thing we pride ourselves on is getting things rectified if something goes wrong.If one of the burners on the hob was not working we don't know unless you tell us and then we can fix it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed as a family at Makayla Palms from the 28th Jan to 5th Feb. We had a great time and the service provided was so nice.
We got endeared to the place mainly because of the simplicity and openness and efficiency of the hosts. Making particular mentions of Grace and Loving and their families.
We were provided with a large bowl of fruits on arrival and everything was so wonderful that we would definitely want to stay there again on our next visit.

We did have one AC not working but it was promptly replaced by an alternate. We used the family car for the whole of our visit, which we found very useful too.
Picked up at the Airport and being garlanded by lovely Grace, took us by surprise.
The garden --fruit trees and flowers very immaculately nurtured.

All in all we were very happy and would recommend the place to travellers wanting a home away from home and close to the beach and and and---

Thank You Grace..

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dsouza_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Delighted to read your review and that you will definitely stay with us again on your next visit. Thank you!
We have wonderful staff looking after Makayla Palms for us and repeatedly we hear about the excellent service that they provide. Makayla Palms is all about those who visit and having them go home with happy memories and a desire to return. Your review shows just that!
We look forward to seeing you again in paradise
John, Rachel and the Makayla team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at Makayla Palms! Lovely villas equiped with everything, stunning waterfront but most of all the MP team were incredible, extremely helpful and kind! Thank you Grace and Alfred!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Delighted to read your review and that you loved your stay at Makayla Palms. Your kind of comment truly makes all the hard work worth while
Thank you so much for your high praise of our staff. We are immensely proud of them.
We hope that you will return again soon to enjoy our little corner of paradise.
thanks again
John, Rachel and the Makayla team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Makayla Palms for a week and absolutely loved it.

Rachel greeted us at the airport in a very friendly manner and showed us around the villa.
We were so impressed with the facilities available and the home baking.
Everything was so clean and suited our needs.
The cooking facilities were great for our meals and cocktails.
Having the beach at our doorstep (a short 1min stroll) was an absolute delight, we really enjoyed the snorkeling and kayaking, so much so that my partner proposed to me out snorkeling!

Grace, Loving and Fred were so kind to us throughout stay, always a pleasure to have them ask how we are yet let us have privacy too.

I would highly recommend Makayla Palms to anyone visiting Rarotonga and hope to return for our wedding

Thank you so much for everything.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Lucie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Stunning news! Congratulations on your engagement following a trip to the beach to snorkel.
Loved that you so enjoyed your stay...the villas, the wonderful beach and Grace, Fred and Loving ..our staff who so enjoy the contact they have with our guests
Fingers crossed that you are able to return to paradise for your wedding
John,Rachel, Grace, Fred and Loving

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
3.1 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
3.5 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.4 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
753 reviews
3.4 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.5 km away
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
#4 of 12 in Titikaveka
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makayla Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makayla Palms

Address: Kauare, Titikaveka 0000, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range: RM765 - RM1,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makayla Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air NZ Cook Island Tourism Award Winner 2016/2017 Self Catering Villas Award winning Rarotongan accommodation at its best! Excellence on trip Advisor. Beautiful self catering villas with private beach access to stunning Titikaveka lagoon and beach. A perfect tropical holiday destination. Relax on the uncrowded beach with complimentary kayaks and snorkeling equipment or explore the many and varied activities on the island. Makayla Palms has a two bedroom villa and two couples villas (studios) and they have everything you need for your tropical holiday. These fully screened villas feature full kitchens, spacious lounges with flat screen TV, iPod dock, DVD player and Wifi modem. A cupboard contains all linen changes and beach towels, books games and DVDs. Guests enjoy the BBQ on their deck and the open air shower. AIR CON available with a surcharge. Within walking distance is a village shop, a fruit stall, a church, Tuk tuk tours, cafes and restaurants. Three kms away in Muri are many more cafes and restaurants. There is a car and scooters that can be pre booked and parking is available on the property. Buses run regularly and may be hailed at the gate. Exclusive airport transfers are available for booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Makayla Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makayla Palms Hotel Titikaveka
Makayla Palms Titikaveka, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing