We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
384
24
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
24
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews john and rachel home baking fresh fruit bedroom villa beach towels herb garden reef shoes cook islands fish across the road board games best beach on the island self contained the beach is great short stroll without being intrusive little touches
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We have just recently returned from our third trip to Makayla Palms. The experience yet again was outstanding. John and Rachael, Lovie and Fred go out of their way to meet all of your needs. The attention to detail from your arrival, the home baking, fresh fruit, wine and beer and a well stocked pantry! There are so many things to do if you don't move from Makayla, the beautiful beach has to be the best Rarotonga offers. We enjoyed exploring with the Kayaks, relaxing in the beach chairs and walking along the beach. The accomodation is outstanding so clean and styley!! The team at Makayla also shared their local knowledge with us ensuring that we got to enjoy other activities on the island. It truly was a relaxing and memorable holiday - Thanks team Makayla.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrafrakes2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

We always love to see return guests! Thank you for your kind review and we appreciate that you had a memorable and relaxing holiday.
Our attention to detail for our guests is something we are proud of and the whole team work very hard to keep up our high standards.
We look forward to your 4th visit to paradise!
Rachel and John (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from having spent 8 nights in Villa Tia at Makayla Palms. It is a great place to stay for couples who prefer the self catering option. The villa was well equipped, and we enjoyed using the BBQ on the front patio, and relaxing. The beach is a short stroll down a pathway, lounges, snorkel equipment and beach towels are all supplied for each of the 3 villas. Grace the Manager was very helpful, and gave us many useful recommendations. The team at Makayla are all lovely people, nothing was too much trouble. We'll be back for sure!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kiwis-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the self catering option that we provide. It is great in that it gives you the choice of eating either in or out at your leisure.
Grace our manager is a gem as are all our team
Lovely to read that you will be back to see us....thanks again
Rachel and John (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

These apartments are a wonderful little find. Equipped with everything you need for a relaxing stay - very clean and spacious with a lovely verandah and fully screened. A few paces to a beautiful and peaceful bit of beach with excellent snorkelling, sheltered from the east winds. Grace booked us on the Koka Lagoon cruise and sorted out a scooter and massage for us, all the staff (Fred and Loving and the owners John and Rachel) were so accommodating and friendly. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalietrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you so much for your review and absolutely enjoyed having you stay with us! We would certainly love to see you back soon!
John, Rachel and the Makayla team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We were a family of 4 that came from Canada to celebrate a wedding anniversary and a big birthday. Grace who is the manager picked us up at 6 am - we received a warm greetings which included lovely floral leis. Grace stopped at a grocery store so we could pick up a few things and arranged for an early check in.

The accommodations are perfect, clean and very close to a private beach. There is a house between the cottages and the beach which is actually not a bad thing as it provides shelter from the afternoon winds. There are kayaks and snorkeling equipment that are complimentary. The water and beach is simply wonderful.
Yes, there is TV but the one station is not great but they offer DVD's and lots of books.

Sunday I went to church for the first time in years (the church is located almost across the street) and enjoyed a melodious choir. This is worthwhile even if you are not a church attendee.

Grace, the manager goes above and beyond what is necessary to attend to guests needs. She made a big birthday truly special.

Always remember that you are on a remote island so food that is not local is expensive and wifi can be hit and miss. There are always lots of free range chickens running around all over the island and the local fish is reasonable.

Go with an open mind and enjoy the slow, relaxing pace of life on the Cook Islands.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Betty Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

We were very happy to read your review and loved your comment..."go with an open mind and enjoy the slow, relaxing pace of life on the Cook Islands" Never a truer word spoken! Thrilled to hear that Grace made the big birthday really special for you....she is our "gem" as you have found out.
Would love you to visit us again
Rachel,John and the Makayla team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

I stayed for 12 nights in Villa Tia at Makayla Palms in July. Without a doubt, it was the best holiday I have ever had. The Villas are perfectly situated 10 second walk to Titikaveka Beach-the most unspoilt, private bit of beach on Rarotonga IMO. Most days we had the beach to ourselves with wonderful snorkelling, clear warm water-so many fish! The Villa itself is modern and spacious with everything you could possibly need. Lovely does a superb job of keeping them clean and the gardens are a real credit to Fred giving you privacy from the other Villas as well as being colourful and beautiful to look at. Grace the manager, is super friendly and approachable-going above and beyond to make sure our holiday was stressfree and offering lifts into town and advice on where to eat/shop.
Will definitely be back to Makayla Palms. Can't imagine staying anywhere else now! Thanks team!

Room Tip: Villa Tia is the closet to the beach but every Villa is well appointed.
Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank 74Kiwibird74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

What a wonderful review summing up the staff and the villas...thank you so much! and delighted to hear that it was the best holiday you have ever had. The team work really hard to go as you say, above and beyond for the guests and it is always appreciated.
The unspoilt and private beach is amazing.
We look forward to seeing you again
The Makayla team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews