We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”
Review of Makayla Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makayla Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This was our first time to Makayla Palms and we will definitely be going back. John
and Rachael are amazing hosts. We had everything we needed at our fingertips.
Our villa was beautifully decorated, very clean and well stocked. We didn't have to go far to enjoy the beach a minutes walk from our villa. We had the pleasure of using the kayaks and a vehicle when needed. The staff where all very friendly and very helpful, always smiling. We where shown so many amazing sights and where truly in awe of the amazing sights/food and lovely people. John and Rachael 'you guys rock' thank you so much for making this an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: Both rooms where beautiful and well positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfholleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Always good to read a review from first time guests and that you were obviously very happy with your villa, the staff, our beach and the sights and people of Rarotonga.
We look forward to your return
Rachel and John (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

We have just recently returned from our third trip to Makayla Palms. The experience yet again was outstanding. John and Rachael, Lovie and Fred go out of their way to meet all of your needs. The attention to detail from your arrival, the home baking, fresh fruit, wine and beer and a well stocked pantry! There are so many things to do if you don't move from Makayla, the beautiful beach has to be the best Rarotonga offers. We enjoyed exploring with the Kayaks, relaxing in the beach chairs and walking along the beach. The accomodation is outstanding so clean and styley!! The team at Makayla also shared their local knowledge with us ensuring that we got to enjoy other activities on the island. It truly was a relaxing and memorable holiday - Thanks team Makayla.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrafrakes2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

We always love to see return guests! Thank you for your kind review and we appreciate that you had a memorable and relaxing holiday.
Our attention to detail for our guests is something we are proud of and the whole team work very hard to keep up our high standards.
We look forward to your 4th visit to paradise!
Rachel and John (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from having spent 8 nights in Villa Tia at Makayla Palms. It is a great place to stay for couples who prefer the self catering option. The villa was well equipped, and we enjoyed using the BBQ on the front patio, and relaxing. The beach is a short stroll down a pathway, lounges, snorkel equipment and beach towels are all supplied for each of the 3 villas. Grace the Manager was very helpful, and gave us many useful recommendations. The team at Makayla are all lovely people, nothing was too much trouble. We'll be back for sure!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kiwis-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the self catering option that we provide. It is great in that it gives you the choice of eating either in or out at your leisure.
Grace our manager is a gem as are all our team
Lovely to read that you will be back to see us....thanks again
Rachel and John (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

These apartments are a wonderful little find. Equipped with everything you need for a relaxing stay - very clean and spacious with a lovely verandah and fully screened. A few paces to a beautiful and peaceful bit of beach with excellent snorkelling, sheltered from the east winds. Grace booked us on the Koka Lagoon cruise and sorted out a scooter and massage for us, all the staff (Fred and Loving and the owners John and Rachel) were so accommodating and friendly. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalietrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you so much for your review and absolutely enjoyed having you stay with us! We would certainly love to see you back soon!
John, Rachel and the Makayla team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We were a family of 4 that came from Canada to celebrate a wedding anniversary and a big birthday. Grace who is the manager picked us up at 6 am - we received a warm greetings which included lovely floral leis. Grace stopped at a grocery store so we could pick up a few things and arranged for an early check in.

The accommodations are perfect, clean and very close to a private beach. There is a house between the cottages and the beach which is actually not a bad thing as it provides shelter from the afternoon winds. There are kayaks and snorkeling equipment that are complimentary. The water and beach is simply wonderful.
Yes, there is TV but the one station is not great but they offer DVD's and lots of books.

Sunday I went to church for the first time in years (the church is located almost across the street) and enjoyed a melodious choir. This is worthwhile even if you are not a church attendee.

Grace, the manager goes above and beyond what is necessary to attend to guests needs. She made a big birthday truly special.

Always remember that you are on a remote island so food that is not local is expensive and wifi can be hit and miss. There are always lots of free range chickens running around all over the island and the local fish is reasonable.

Go with an open mind and enjoy the slow, relaxing pace of life on the Cook Islands.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Betty Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

We were very happy to read your review and loved your comment..."go with an open mind and enjoy the slow, relaxing pace of life on the Cook Islands" Never a truer word spoken! Thrilled to hear that Grace made the big birthday really special for you....she is our "gem" as you have found out.
Would love you to visit us again
Rachel,John and the Makayla team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
3.1 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
3.5 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.4 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
753 reviews
3.4 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.5 km away
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
#4 of 12 in Titikaveka
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makayla Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makayla Palms

Address: Kauare, Titikaveka 0000, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range: RM765 - RM1,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makayla Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air NZ Cook Island Tourism Award Winner 2016/2017 Self Catering Villas Award winning Rarotongan accommodation at its best! Excellence on trip Advisor. Beautiful self catering villas with private beach access to stunning Titikaveka lagoon and beach. A perfect tropical holiday destination. Relax on the uncrowded beach with complimentary kayaks and snorkeling equipment or explore the many and varied activities on the island. Makayla Palms has a two bedroom villa and two couples villas (studios) and they have everything you need for your tropical holiday. These fully screened villas feature full kitchens, spacious lounges with flat screen TV, iPod dock, DVD player and Wifi modem. A cupboard contains all linen changes and beach towels, books games and DVDs. Guests enjoy the BBQ on their deck and the open air shower. AIR CON available with a surcharge. Within walking distance is a village shop, a fruit stall, a church, Tuk tuk tours, cafes and restaurants. Three kms away in Muri are many more cafes and restaurants. There is a car and scooters that can be pre booked and parking is available on the property. Buses run regularly and may be hailed at the gate. Exclusive airport transfers are available for booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Makayla Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makayla Palms Hotel Titikaveka
Makayla Palms Titikaveka, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing