We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel overall but...............”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed over the weekend of 23rd - 26th September 2011 for a 21st birthday celebration. There was a group of us ranging in ages from 14 - 77. On arrival this place certainly has the WOW factor. The concierge could not have been more helpful and check in was a breeze. Up to the rooms which are just great and dropped off the bags. Down to the Great Scotsman Bar which is delightful but here was the first problem - it took us 20 minutes to get served! It did not seem overly busy at the time.
Anyway, on to the Boathouse for a pre arranged meal booked for 7.30. The food was superb but it took us over 3 hours to eat a 3 course meal! The food was excellent but sorry to say the service let it down badly.
The same story at breakfast the next morning a buffet style breakfast after a lengthy wait food great but the service..........Later that day we went on a lovely boat trip around Loch Lomond. We had booked an evening meal that night in the grill, you guessed it another 3 hour marathon with lots of mistakes on drink orders etc. Sorry to say my overall impression was that the service just lets the place down. 5 star hotel, 5 star prices, 5 star location, 5 star food 3 star service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulinleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,313 - 5,317 of 6,054 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

I stayed at Cameron house in September 2011 and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. It was truly magical and I know I will certainly return one day. They welcomed us so warmly and all the staff just couldn't help enough. They kindly shared their tales with us and related to us immediately, with fantastic service. The house is a mix of old and traditional Scottish elements (Tartan, leather) but still modern and up to date. Its certainly travelled through the ages in style!
We felt at home as soon as we step through those doors. The food and wine were absolutely delicious in both the Cameron Grill and the Boat House. The breakfast has all the typical plus all the traditional Scottish elements like Haggis and Kippers etc. Also the bar is FULL of different aged Whiskeys for all those connoisseurs!
The Spa was fantastic! Beautifully laid out with all the facilities to hand. Again all the staff and therapist were an absolute pleasure to talk to. The treatment I had was an experience I certainly wont forget, and how original it was! With the 'Rain massage' I felt like I was being massaged under a waterfall! The therapist was so well experienced and well trained I felt completely at ease in her hands. The Loch cruise was also 5*!!! The guides were extremely informative and the lovely glass of champagne certainly helped! My time there is unforgettable and I have memories to treasure forever, I would 100% recommend CH to everyone. Thank you all at Cameron House! I'll be back one day!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiancaT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Thank you indeed for contributing such a positive recommendation! We are really pleased that you believe Cameron House successfully pays tribute to its baronial past, while still offering contemporary comforts and finishing’s. Thank you also for your praise of our restaurants, and food and beverage selection. It is also terrific to learn that you found the Rainshower massage to be such a unique, and enjoyable experience, and we do hope your Loch cruise left you with a fantastic and lasting memory of Cameron and the surrounding isles…
Thank you again for your review, and we do look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind Regards,
Shona Brierton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Location stunning. Service great. Concierge very helpful. Plenty of things to do. Restaurants are very nice and atmospheric. Most people will love this hotel.

Was little disappointing to discover no mobile reception in our room (got 1 bar occasionally if the phone was placed in window) although I could get good reception outside. Same problem with wifi. Little unusual for such a prestigious hotel didn’t have mobile/wifi repeaters to give good coverage. Note: there was cat5 (cabled) internet in the room. Did not spoil anything.

Breakfast was sparse. No tea pot one day (did without) and a “basket of pastries” is actually one very cold small croissant and a tiny cold pain au chocolat.

So would suggest an improved breakfast and getting mobile/wifi access for us geeks.
Other than that wonderful weekend.

PS. We loved the Segway safari ! brilliant.

Room Tip: Lock view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Many thanks you for your review! Especially for your praise of our Concierge team, and the atmosphere within our resort. Thank you also for recommending the segway safari to other travellers, this is certainly an enormously enjoyable (and unique) way to absorb the Loch side surroundings.
I must, however apologise that you were not able to sample the plentiful, and varied breakfast that most of our guest do, and please be advised that we have recently upgraded the strength of our WIFI connectivity levels,

Kind Regards,
Shona Brierton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We have been very fortunate in that we have been able to travel to the highest standards and have stayed in suites all over the world.
On this note we can say that the beautiful setting and luxurious décor make the Cameron House a striking hotel, but it is the service we experienced that sets it apart as a destination.

From the moment we arrived, the hotel Butler, George Telford, transformed our stay into an experience, ensuring that we were comfortably settled in, fed, watered and dinner reservations arranged so that there was nothing for us to do other than relax and enjoy the hotel and surroundings. Throughout our stay he greeted us at our chosen restaurant of the evening and ensured that everything was to our liking. On checkout our bill was ready and the car was brought to door before we had even made the phone call for luggage to be collected.

The food and service at the restaurant was excellent with friendly, professional staff who made delicious recommendations and never left our glasses dry.

We left wishing that we had planned to stay just a little bit longer.

In conclusion, our experience at the Cameron House has made every other suite that we have stayed in seem like nothing more than a larger room. Well done to the staff, we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tash&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Many thanks indeed for your kind review! We are delighted that George was able to help organise all aspects of your stay so seamlessly, and that you felt the service from our Team makes Cameron such a tremendous resort. Your high praise of our suites is also very much appreciated, thank you again for sharing this with other travellers,
We greatly look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind Regards,
Shona Brierton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Everything is right about this hotel. The building, the location, the staff, the food, the attention to detail, excellent. If you can be a bit flexible on dates you may get a discounted price which makes it even better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stroller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

A huge thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed such an all round great stay with us, and your praise is very much appreciated!
We do have some great promotions available on our website, so please review these when you are thinking of returning,

Kind Regards,
Shona Brierton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
10.4 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
21.1 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
10.0 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
6 reviews
15.9 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
11.0 km away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: RM846 - RM1,966 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing