We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night away at lovely Loch Lomond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Overall we had a really enjoyable, luxurious stay at Cameron House. Hotel is in a gorgeous setting and the hotel definitely has the WOW factor. Prices in the bars/ restaurants are not cheap but these prices are to be expected in a 5* hotel. The Leisure Club was great, especially for families. However there were a few down points that I feel could have been avoided. We arrived at 2pm knowing that check-in was not until 3pm so were duly advised they would give us a call when our room was ready, So off to the relaxing Great Scots Bar we went, by 330pm we had still not had a call so decided to go to reception to see how much longer it would be? To our surprise, everyone that was checking in then and there got their room straight away so we asked if our room was ready to be told no not yet. Felt this was quite poor. When we arrived at our room we found a previous guests breakfast tray sitting right outside our front door - time was now 5pm! Why was this not removed by housekeeping? We had a lovely meal at the Cameron Grill despite our table having not actually been reserved when I called up 2 weeks prior. Service was excellent in the Grill and it was so nice to be served by local staff. But all in all a great night away and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiggerPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,638 - 5,642 of 6,046 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2010

We stayed in a Loch view family room last weekend for my birthday and WOW what a Hotel is all I can say. The rooms are stunning and spotless, plenty of choice with 4 restaurants, a swimming pool with jacuzzi and steam room etc that was well maintained and fantastic staff who could not do enough for you.
We were in the Cameron Grill the first evening - if you are vegetarian there is not a lot to choose from and the portions were not huge but the quality was good. I didnt like one thing - that was that you can see into the meat fridge whilst eating dinner and for me this was completely unnecessary - especially for people who are vegetarian.
The second night we went over to the Claret jug and we had a fabulous dinner here. Staff were fantastic and it had a more initimate feel to it. Really would recommend this restaurant.
We also went to the Spa at Carrick - we both thought it was overpriced for the facilities there £35 per person. The roof top spa was nice to visit although you are promised views of the loch and you couldnt see the loch as the trees are too tall ! It is a nice relaxing place to visit though and is time out for adults.
I would recommend you take your own wine as the bar prices are rather steep - a glass of wine £10.35 and a bottle of magners £6 !
we are hoping to return to Cameron House - it really was a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrswoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We visited Cameron House for my 30th birthday, and on arrival were upgraded to a suite in the old house. This was absolutely amazing, and we had a superb view of the Loch. We ate at The Boathouse the first night, as it was half term there were a few families there, but the noise wasn't too bad. We both had "posh" burgers and chips, which were really nice. They weren't cheap but you expect to pay a bit more in a hotel like this. We had breakfast in our room the first morning which was really nice, and in the Cameron Grill on the second day. Both were great, with a good choice of continental and hot breakfast options. We visited the Spa at The Carrick, which was really nice but didn't have as many steam rooms, saunas etc as I would have liked, but what they did have was good. The Hydrotherapy Pool was excellent, although make sure you look up before you press each "start" button on the edge of the pool as I was very nearly caught out by a powerful overhead jet of water....!! The Carrick is a few miles away from the hotel so concierge have a shuttle service. We were waiting for an hour at the Carrick for them to come and collect us, despite the reception staff calling concierge several times to let them know people were waiting. There seemed to be some breakdown in communication between the hotel reception and concierge to tell them people were waiting to be collected. There is a nice pool and jacuzzi at Cameron House itself, so if you're just wanting a swim I'd suggest just staying there. We had afternoon tea at the hotel as well, which was lovely, I have an allergy to fish and the staff made us cheese & pickle sandwiches to replace any of the salmon ones. The service was fine in reception, I really don't see what people are complaining about. Yes it gets busy at check in time, but they had 3 people on the desk to try and get everyone checked in as quickly as possible, we were waiting about 10 minutes which was fine. The room service and bar staff were excellent, couldn't be faulted at all. Make sure you get a drink in The Whisky Bar as it's got such a great atmosphere, nicer than The Great Scots Bar we thought and they have an absolutely enormous selection of whiskies to try.
We'd defintely visit Cameron House again, and will certainly recommend it to any friends looking for a short break in the UK.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonHDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

I stayed here with my girlfriend in late 2009, we had an amazing stay with only a few small issues.

The check-in was swift, and very pleasant, the porters and receptionists were extremely pleasant and helpful. We were offered an upgrade to a loch-view room for a small charge but declined. On reaching the room we had been given a loch view anyway, result! The room was small but luxurious, Egyptian cotton sheets, fine toiletries, tall ceilings and comfy seats everywhere!

We ate at the Cameron Grill both nights of our stay, very good food, rich game and full flavours, just what you expect from a country house! The breakfast was also in the grill, a good selection of meats, cereals and of course the full Scottish breakfast! I had one both mornings and was please until it came to the scrambled eggs... I always judge a place on it's eggs at breakfast but these were just appalling, if they weren't from powdered egg i would be amazed, i don't know how you could get real eggs to be that rubbery and tasteless... The rest of the fry up was perfect.

The grounds are amazing to have a stroll around, even in the pouring rain. I recommend the high tea, it is enough for lunch if you have a breakfast and dinner too.The bars are great places to sit and relax, fantastic selection of drinks and snacks, and wi-fi. The swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi are great, perfect for spending the afternoon relaxing.

All in all a great stay and we will definitely return...

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

We loved our stay here from the very atmospheric candle lit reception to the excellant staff overall .
Lovely cosy rooms and first class food in the Boathouse.
We shall defineatly return !

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riversdale04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
21.1 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
10.4 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.0 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
6 reviews
15.9 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
11.0 km away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: RM846 - RM1,961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Alexandria, Scotland, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing