We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
97
64
18
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
97
64
18
20
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2009

My husband and I decided to take a weekend trip up the Rhein and wanted to stay in a Castle. Castle Liebenstein was the prefect choice. I checked the reviews online and found them very informative. Because this was a last minute trip we called and asked if they had a room. They said yes and to e-mail them to confirm the reservation. No credit card information required. The night before we called and verified the room was ready at a cost of 120 Euro for a double room (After a VAT form it was only 97 euro). We got their late, due to traffic, and they were wonderfully accomodating. It was wonderful to wander the halls and stairwells and see suits or armor, paintings and any other relics throughout the castle. Our room was very confortable and the view of the Rhein was amazing. There was no TV, which is fine, because face it... you don't come to a castle to watch TV. We were in a tower room and did have some slight issues with the water. The hotel is HIGH on a hillside and I am sure it takes quite a bit to pump the water all the way up the hill, then up to our tower room. The water pressure was not good and if anyone else in the hotel was using the shower or sink the temperature and pressure was irratic. Otherwise it was a wonderful stay, complete with a German breakfast. I would definately recommend this to any one who wants to feel like royality for a day.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taznjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 November 2008

The staff was first rate. Despite being behind scheduale and arriving late the staff welcomed us with open arms and even opened up the kitchen and cooked us diner. The view from the castle was amazing and the beds were very comfortable. Even the quirky spiral staircase seemed to add to the charm despite its small size.

Date of stay: November 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LPD-explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 November 2008

When researching our trip, I knew we had to stay in a castle at least once. I quickly learned that you could easily pay $250 to $500 per night in some of them! Castle Liebenstein offers an authentic castle experience for a fraction of the price. The history of the castle & the love story is both romantic & tragic.

We had two rooms on the top floor of the newer section. The rooms had amazing views of the Rhein, were very large with comfortable large beds and large bathrooms with all modern necessities. The decor of the rooms and common areas are filled with antiques, a full sized suit of armor and definitely enhance the castle experience.

They have an outdoor eating area with a great view where you can order light fare and ice cream. How relaxing to sit there and enjoy the view and know that for hundreds of years this castle has stood the test of time. The owners and staff are helpful and most speak English. Our favorite waitress didn't speak English, but somehow knew exactly what we wanted and she was just a delight.

We ate dinner in their restaurant and it was excellent. If you are at all thinking of staying of staying at Castle Liebenstein, make your reservation now. You'll love it.

Date of stay: October 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Coastlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Echo the other positive reviews. Burg Liebenstein was charming, clean, friendly, easy to find, and a great value for a castle on the Rhein. Some of the staff spoke English, and all were patient with my German. Group of 3 friends spent 2 nights in Sept-- the first night we had two rooms with a "yard" view, the 2nd night both rooms had river views. Yes, the staircase to some of the rooms is small, crooked and cramped, but that is part of the charm. Breakfast was ok, only bread, meats and cheeses (no fruit, cereals or yogurt). Dinner in the restaurant was very good, typical German fare. Resident goats settled in on the hill around dinnertime each night (staff fed them bread leftovers from breakfast). Quiet, peaceful location with fantastic views, hiking trails, and another castle to explore next door. Free parking, easy to find by car, steep uphill by foot. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Water pressure and hot water in shower were hit-or-miss. Payment was in cash only. Overall a great stay. Would recommend.

Date of stay: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merrywidow12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 September 2008

For our first Castle-Hotel experience...we couldn't have gotten any luckier! What a fabulous overnight stay we had...we enjoyed walking and climbing around the castle grounds, the views made for some gorgeous memorable photos, even though we couldn't really communicate with the lady runnin' the show there, she was warm and friendly and we had a blast just attempting to communicate with one another!

Now our room... wow. It was like stepping back into time. Beautiful canopy bed, interesting, beautiful pieces of furniture and wall hangings. Oh the view! Seriously...there are no words to quite describe the view.

The food was great...the whole atmosphere was quiet and peaceful and I can't tell you how refreshing it is to be in a hotel with no TV, no telephone, no wireless internet acess... I hope to go back again one day... in the meantime, I'll just keep insisting everyone drop what they're doing and explore the Rhine River area and stay at Castle Liebenstein!

Date of stay: September 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiffeecanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews