We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
97
66
18
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
97
66
18
20
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2006

Burg Liebenstein was a wonderful experience. Apart from the beautiful scernery the castle is up and away from tourist areas. The town in which Burg Liebenstein is located a short distance from is not a tourist trap and you can find all the essentials like groceries/bank.

We found the food to be excellent quality both breakfast and evening dinner. Klaus and Anita and their staff put a lot of pride in what they offer their guests. They are very pleasant hosts and we enjoyed the days that we spent there.

I highly recommend Burg Liebenstein as a place to visit especially for a family get away.

Date of stay: July 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank onward
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 May 2006

Researching other castles on the Rhine, you'll find that Castle Liebenstein is probably the best deal. You driving up this steep, gravel road to get to the castle. Once there, you have an incredible view of the Rhine River and also another neigbouring castle. My 2 friends and I stayed in a room with a view (which was only 10 euros more). The beds were comfortable, even the cot and each had a nice duvet. However, the bathroom was outdated. The shower water temperature was inconsistent and the showerhead was weak. The restaurant there is quite good. We had dinner there and also breakfast (which is included with the accomodation). Be warned that the stairs going up to the rooms are very, very narrow and winding. We decided to leave our luggage in the car and only bring in what we needed.

Date of stay: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank the_lowdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 May 2006

This is pleasant caslte hotel with great views over the Rhine. There is also a great view of the neighboring caslte, a good story in and of itself, but I will leave that to google. We were in a great room to begin wtih and proceeded to go on a Rhine river boat tour. Upon our return, we were informed of a "mistake" and all of our belongings were moved to a different, read not as good, room. We were not asked and were not compensated financially. Enough of that personal gripe.

The people were very nice that run the hotel. You can eat inside with the suits of Armor in the eating area, or outside with a view of the Rhine. I would recomend this hotel for a one night stay only just because there are soooo many other catle hotels on the Rhine between Koblenz & Mainz.

Enjoy...

Date of stay: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tlansdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 January 2006

We stayed in the castle for one night in December. It was a fun experience and my young daughter loved it. The staff at the castle hotel were very friendly and helpful but spoke very little English, while we spoke minimal German. Trying to communicate was half the fun! The lady on the desk was very kind, packing us a lunch to take the next day because we were leaving before breakfast. We had dinner at the castle and were moved to a window table when it became free so that we could look over the town below. The food was lovely. The castle itself is one tower building and the stairs to our room were behind a door that from looking at it, you would expect to be a cupboard! The little winding staircase and the low ceilings and uneven floors made it feel very much the old castle that it is. We didn't see the resident ghost however. The bed was large and the bathrom was quite modern. No TV but it would have seemed out of place anyway. This was a unique experience and we wish we could have stayed longer.

Date of stay: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank CuriousKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 May 2005

What an experience! I've always wanted to stay in a castle, and this was just perfect. We stayed in the "chimney room" which was in the tower of this castle. The view of the Rhien, and another castle, from our room was breathtaking! The room was very large, by European standards, and most comfortable. The dinner was romantic and the food was quite good. We had beef, which had good flavor but was not tender. But, keep in mind, it's hard to get a good piece of beef almost anywhere in Europe! The breakfast was more than ample and the rolls were excellent!

The only problem was that work was being done on the road to the castle, so we had to park about 1/2 mile away. The castle hosts, however, were more than willing to haul us and our luggage. The work was nearly completed, so I'm sure any future traveler will not have any problem accessing the hotel.

8  Thank sguner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews